We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #33 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have booked this hotel quite far in advance to get a better price and was a bit scared to see later the reviews describing some roadworks around the hotel and people complaining it's hard to find etc. I'm glad I didn't cancel my booking as I have absolutely loved this hotel.
Amsterdam is not that big and public transport system is well developed, the hotel was easy to reach from Schipol airport - 1 train stop and about 10min walk. The central area of the city is within 15min by tram and the tram stop is about 5min from the hotel, we've never waited for the tram more than a couple of minutes.

The truth is the road works are there, but it doesn't look messy and we were not disturbed by the noise as it's all going on in some distance from the hotel. I think it might be difficult for parents with prams as it's up and down the bridge to get to the tram stop but otherwise it's fine. But Amsterdam is for tourists who can walk miles anyway :)

The hotel staff was nice and friendly, speaking English (and probably some other languages), during our stay we have asked a few questions and they've been helpful. On arrival we've received welcome info pack, also some magazines were in the room.

We had a double room, the room size was good (so much bigger than Paris hotels))), there was a proper sized double bed (hate it when they just move together 2 beds, but that was not the case). There was enough storage space, the room was clean, some international TV channels, everything was working fine. Free WiFi in the room.

The bathroom was separated from the room with a glass door, which we liked. There was a sink, bath and a shower in the other corner, toiletries provided and renewed during our stay. Toilet was located away from the sleeping area and has a proper (not glass) door :)

Have to mention though there's no fridge in the room. The vending minibar has water/juice/alcohol/chocolate bar selection; also there's a kettle with a free tea/coffee but with the breakfast price so high I'd rather had something in the room.
We haven't found much places to eat around the hotel itself and we were not keen to pay 40 euros for a breakfast for 2 in the hotel, so we just had tea&croisant in the morning and were off to the city where we could get whatever we wanted in 15min.

We didn't use spa or the swimming pool so can't say anything, the same for the restaurant. The bar on the 10th floor is nice, not too expensive, good selection of cocktails and snacks.

Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel with its unusual design, good service, cleanness and comfort that we've got there, very good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connected2space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear connected2space,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for posting your feedback at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to the WestCord Fashion Hotel, we are looking forward welcome you again in the future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,064
    1,336
    199
    50
    26
See reviews for
343
1,948
125
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiavari, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

The room is excellent - roomy, well appointed, with a nice bathroom. The food dispenser refrigerator has to go - it is for a 3 star airport hotel, not for a 4 star "fashion" hotel. Also, the special 35 Euro service "Spoil me", or whatever it is called, is a little bit week in this sense - the free water should be for all of the days of the stay, the food delivered should be coverable, if it is not replenished everyday - forget the bathroom products kit, provide fresh spring water and fruit everyday, along with the bathrobe and slippers, and you have a winner. Sauna and Steambath should be free of charge in a 4 star hotel. Staff in general should be a little bit friendlier....you need to create a better team spirit amongst all of them and some pride in the hotel they help to run.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear APC68,

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect.
Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to the WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam.

Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Yes this hotel is off the beaten track, but for the price its Amazing.
Stylish comfortable great for a romantic break. We found the tram journey to be quick and efficient about 10mins from Dam Square. Swimming pool was small & perfectly formed. Also found to bar menu and room service was very good standard.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear Raycle,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us! It's great to learn that you had a great stay. Your comments about the quality of our roomsevice are most appreciated and shared with our team. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to the WestCord Fashion Hotel.

Kindest regards,
WstCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem,Israel
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

very clean and friendly
excellent buffet breakfast for eur 17
not suitable for disabled persons,as there are a lot of steps and besides they're working in the neiborhood. Nearest trams are 5-8 minutes walk,but they bring you to the center within 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear theos10,

It is a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy with your feedback about our breakfastbuffet, cleanliness of our hotel and our friendly staff. We will share it with our entire team!
We thank you for staying with us and hope that we get the chance to welcome you again as our guest!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We got this on a really good deal and we were impressed. It took about 5 minutes to walk to the tram station from the hotel (number 17) and they were doing road works so it was a little dangerous crossing the road! It took about 20 minutes to reach Dam Square, so we ended up just staying out all day. It would have been nicer to be closer so we could pop back and change etc. Also there is nothing around the hotel like shops or bars. The room was a standard double but it was lovely. The bathroom has a glass door (separate toilet though) which was quite fun really.
Lovely place to stay, just a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear CHARBobo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your compliments about our rooms. With regards to the road works we can inform you that these are almost finished.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you to WestCord Fashion Hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel


Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in February.
I'd read on here beforehand that it's hard to find. That was a worry, but in the end it was ok.

We took the train from the airport to Amsterdam Leylaan (or Leyln), and followed directions from the hotel website (it's definitely not worth the hassle of taking the tram that one stop, when you can walk it in ten minutes). To be totally reassured i recommend just checking it out on google maps beforehand.

As for the building works, they must be pretty much there because currently there's just a few piles of sand on a nearby pavement, and some landscaping in the garden. It's no distraction or detraction from the overall stay.

Lastly, to actually get into Amsterdam centre, definitely take the tram. The front desk at the hotel will help you - they gave us a map, and could sell us the tickets. We bought the 72 hour pass, for about 15euros. That works out as a good deal when you take the tram into town and back everyday, and again around the city during the day.

Other than that, the rooms were clean, they all seem quite new.
Best bit: nice big bath.
Worst bit: there was a scratched bit of paint on the desk(?)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crisacropolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear crisacro,

Thank you for staying and thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor! It is very good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! Your feedback will be shared with our entire team!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope we can welcome you again to the WestCord Fashion Hotel in the near future!

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel

Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at this hotel. I would happily recommend this hotel. We arrived early in the morning and were able to check in straight away which was brilliant. The room was really nice, well decorated and very comfortable. We ate in the hotel and the food was very good - in the bar it was 14 euros for pasta - was good food though. Access to the internet for free in the foyer was really helpful to be able to get directions and opening times etc. The cocktail bar was nice - although not cheap (8-10 euros a drink). The location is a few mins walk to the tram stop. To get into the centre of Amsterdam from there is about 10 mins -a quick ten mins. It was really easy to get to Anne Franks, Dam square, Van Gough from the hotel and it was well worth buying the 48 hour travel card from reception. We didn't end up using the pool - was a shame you had to pay for towels- I would expect that as a free sevice if the hotel has a pool. Staff were very helpful and well informed to help answer any questions. There wasn't much immediately around the hotel but not sure why you would come to Amsterdam to not go into the centre and see the sights! I would happily return to this hotel and was very happy with the service we received.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tara37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Dear tara37,

Thank you for staying and thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!
It is a pleasure to read your review,. we will share your feedback with our entire team!
We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guests in the WestCord Fashion Hotel.

Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel


Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.7 mi away
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,492 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing