We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK food, OK service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Waaghals

De Waaghals
Ranked #920 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK food, OK service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Frist, let me say that it wasn't that the staff were unwilling, quite the contrary, they were very helpful, efficient and attentive but the place was very busy when we were there and so they were a bit stretched. The restaurant itself is a bit tired and run down. The menu is limited but the food is good, trying to be inovative but hampered by poor presentation and perhaps too big portions? What we ate was OK but I would not go there again, and it should not be touted as one of the 6 best restaurants in Amsterdam.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The Allennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    73
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easy to take, fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found the restuarant to be very clean, the food very tasty, and the service very friendly. What more can one ask for with dinner and beverages for 2 for under 50 Euro and end up with a big amount of salad for take-away in Amsterdam?
Mind the cat though, he's lovely but a tad grumpy about strangers continually trying to pet him (LOL)
I would certianly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious Vegetarian Mel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went impromptuly, later in the evening and had a delicious vegetarian meal at this vegetarian restaurant. Quite a limited choice in the menu, but it all looked tasty, but we felt it was slightly on the expensive side, at least by New Zealand standards. However what we received was delicious. We stuck to only one course. The food was fresh and beautifully cooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripMember051220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good food, original vegetarian dishes. Special. Atmosphere is good. Mediocre service, waiter seems lazy and uninterested. Maybe its part of the vibe of the place

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maayke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, lovely outdoor space, very considerate service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Even my nonvegetarian companion agreed this was the best place we ate in Amsterdam. There's nothing crunchy, granoly about this. Meals are beautifully conceived and cooked, ingrediants are fresh, wine, beer and coffee all available and good. I had the monthly special (a mix of Egypian-spiced dishes) and my partner the summer special -- both were interesting and delicious.

Small but comfortable restaurant with a few tables on a tree-lined street. Area is primarily residential, but a few other restaurants and shops give it a welcoming feel. Had a lovey chat with the maitre d/waiter about the place and area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dallenboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Waaghals also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Waaghals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing