We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The extra mile...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Save
You added CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The extra mile...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If there was a way to rate CityCenter B&B any higher than 5 stars, we would do it. 5 stars can be a bit overused - but Camillo (and Joost, whom we sadly didn't get to meet) earned every one.

First, a bit about the house itself: the location is perfect for anyone visiting Amsterdam that is looking for easy access to all the main areas (it's pretty much 10 minutes or less from anything you'd want to do). It was our first time to Amsterdam, and we only had two nights, so the location helped us make the most of it. It's a short walk from the train station (5 minutes), making it easy to get to with luggage. The tram lines that stop just outside can get you to the museums and Blue Boat docks in minutes directly, or just about anywhere else you want to go. It's a short walk from the Jordaan and Anne Frank House (took us about 10 minutes). It's also a short walk to the touristy areas and the red light district (about 5-10 minutes) or down to the flower market (10 minutes).

The room was cute and comfortable. We had a nice queen size bed, a breakfast nook, closet, Wi-fi, DVDs, and a TV, though we were out and about mostly and weren't there much. The shared bathroom was no problem. With only one other room, we never even saw the other couple staying there. Breakfast was outstanding - a tower of goodies and delights to start our day, arranged with care.

But really, all of this is just incidental to the welcome from Camillo. He makes the place feel like your home, and goes the extra mile to make your stay special (even little things, like including a discount club card for the local grocery store on your key chain and cluing you into where you can get the best deals). We stayed there for our first wedding anniversary, and he surprised us with treats and bottle of champagne in our room. Even more, I had been planning to play a song for my wife, and Camillo searched until he found a guitar (I don't know how or where) for me to use. We conspired so that he had it in our room on our anniversary, much to my wife's surprise. He is the ultimate host.

We would highly recommend CityCenter B&B to anyone, and will definitely stay there there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trailgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCenterAmsterdam, Owner at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for sharing your stay at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast and for posting a beautiful review. As I'm romantic man too it was a pleasure for me to help you to organize as better i can your anniversary. I hope to host you again and I wish you all the best.

Camillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    43
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
239
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Amsterdam can be quite a hostile city and so, coming to this B&B was just perfect. The location is perfect, walking distance to the central station and to some of the major trams, as well as the main shopping street and some tourist attractions. On the day we arrived, Camillo took our bags and sat us down on his sofa and explained everything there is to know about Amsterdam, we got a map from him where he pointed out all the things you shouldn't miss out. And then, up the stairs to the most gorgeous room I've ever seen! A huge bed, fresh roses, bathrobes, chocolates, tea, coffe, all in all, the room is really cozy. The sleep quality was top, even though being in the heart of Amsterdam, the street is quiet. But the best came in every morning in the form of the most amazing breakfast there is. Camillo is an amazing host, really pampering his guests, keeping everything clean and lovely and providing the best service you could ever ask for.
This really felt like home away from home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Amber11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCenterAmsterdam, Owner at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm very happy to be a part of your beautiful experience in Amsterdam I'm glad to read how many details you wrote for describe your experience at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast. I hope to host you again in the future and i wish you all the best!

Camillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here with another couple for three nights while in Amsterdam. What a treat! The rooms were well appointed and very clean. Fresh roses in the room was a very elegant touch. Loved the terry cloth robes in each room. Fresh colorful towels and a candy treat on the bed each day. The bathroom worked out well especially since the couple in the other room were friends, but I think would still work well with unknown guests. It had double sinks, and a great shower. Camillo was the perfect host. His recommendations were spot on and added to our experience by giving us a local perspective, since not many tourists frequented the establishments. The breakfast was a beautiful presentation of everything we could have wanted. And the finishing touch was a wonderful breakfast to go since we had a flight way before breakfast was served. Can't say enough good about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCenterAmsterdam, Owner at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guests thanks a lot for sharing your beautiful experience in Amsterdam and at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast. I'm glad to be part of of it. I try all the time to give the best for my guest. I wish you all the best and I hope to host you again next time. Regards. Camillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Claire, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Camillo is an awesome host! The breakfast was served direct to our breakfast nook in our room, and was absolutely wonderful. The room was great. It's perfect if you're two couples who are comfortable sharing one really big bathroom, and rent out both rooms at once. Fresh towels every day, and great recommendations. My husband and I loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMaragoudakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed there for 3 nights and it was absolutely great!

the room is big and comfortable, the bed is really big! and the bathroom is clean and nice.
in the morning you get a beautiful and tasty breakfast!!!

Camillo is really helpful and nice :)

if you're looking for a place in amsterdam center, near cool places and neighborhood this is the place!! by foot you can go to dam square, and by bike you can get anywhere! it's in a best location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCenterAmsterdam, Owner at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I'm very glad to read that you had a great holiday here in Amsterdam and at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast. Thanks. Camillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Four of us (2 couples) stayed 3 nights in this lovely B&B right in the heart of downtown. Right from the start Camillo was welcoming and helpful. The long, winding, narrow stairs typical of Amsterdam were a challenge for us seniors but Camillo came to the rescue and hauled all of our suitcases up the steep stairwell. Our two identical rooms were connected by a single bathroom which we shared with our friends, establishing the knock and lock policy right at the beginning! Camillo provided lots of great recommendations for places to eat, sites to see and pubs to grab a beer or two or three! He gladly made us reservations when we asked for assistance. We had fresh clean towels daily along with fresh roses in the rooms. He provided a delicious breakfast delivered to our rooms each morning at our requested time. We had breads and cheeses and assorted meats and granola and juice and coffee and fresh fruit. We set out each day quite full and happy! Without even asking, Camillo even packed us up a breakfast to take on the morning we left at 6:30am for the airport. We checked in for our flights and then sat and consumed the wonderful sandwiches and juice, fruit and yogurt and he packed for each of us. This was truly a great find in our search for a place to stay in Amsterdam. Centrally located it was an easy walk from the train station. Camillo was very hospitable, gracious, helpful and made our stay very memorable. We highly recommend this lovely B&B tucked away in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Since you will share a single bathroom it works best if you are traveling with family or close frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kareninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCenterAmsterdam, Owner at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guests, thanks a lot for your beautiful and detailed review. Narrow and steep stairs is typical of Amsterdam. This came from because Netherlands people in the past have to pay a lot of tax if the built large houses. For this all houses in Amsterdam are very narrow. I say all the time to my guest that my stairs are more large and comfortable than the really typically stairs and also carry languages up and down is my work. I'm happy that you enjoyed my packet breakfast. I hope to host you again in the next future. I wish all the best. Greetings from Amsterdam. Camillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam is conveniently located right downtown! Easy to get around Amsterdam from this B&B! Nice big bed, comfortable and clean accommodations and breakfast was absolutely delicious! Camillo & Joost were great hosts! Would definitely recommend this b&b and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCenterAmsterdam, Owner at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your beautiful review. I'm very happy that you stay at CityCenter Bed and Breakfast was good. I hope to host you again in the future. I wish you all the best. Camillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: CityCenter Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Sint Jacobsstraat 21, 1012 NC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast CityCenter is just a minute walking from Central Station and Dam square. The romantic and quiet b&b Amsterdam CityCenter is located in the historical center of Amsterdam. Here Camillo likes to make you feel at home. This is your place for a more personal accommodation then a regular hotel. When you wake up, you will expect a rich and delicious breakfast served in room. With free internet Wi-Fi and all tourist information available in our b&b you have all ingredients to discover the best that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citycenter b&b Amsterdam
Citycenter Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing