We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing & Affordale hotel especially for the budget traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #35 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing & Affordale hotel especially for the budget traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

My wife and I found out about citizenM when it was voted as one of the trendiest hotels of 2010. We stayed here in August 2010 for our honeymoon. We were on a budget after the wedding ceremony and didn't want to spend too much for a room. This was the perfect choice and I wouldn't have changed it even if I had the extra money to spend. We walked into the hotel and I knew that this was my kind of hotel. Self check in was awesome and very user friendly. The staff were also very nice and informative. Once we step foot into our room, we knew that there was something unique about this hotel. The toilet and shower were in the middle of the room, and the bed was at the far end. The remote control brought a big smile to my face since it controlled pretty much everything!! Awesome hotel and would be my only choice if I were to come back to Amsterdam. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,255
    1,424
    290
    81
    49
See reviews for
210
2,074
334
855
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Incredibly interesting hotel .. Romantic and very hip. Rooms are small but extremely well thought out! Lots of technical gadgets and benefits. Great great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogadoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Great beds, very comfortable. Location ok- but very close to tram/metro so easy to get around. EURO 35 in taxi back to airport.
Pretty close to Olympic stadium which we needed for marathon.
Breakfast at EURO 9.95 not great- don't book it upon check-in just buy what you want from canteen in morning. Great coffee though.
Staff helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank member1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This hotel was fresh and interesting, with lots of great design elements in the room and the lobby area (an area that actually had people using it, it was so nice). The first day, when there was water, I loved the rain shower. The rooms were very quiet with an extremely comfortable bed. Although it was 20-25 mins from the city by tram, the trams were easy to use and ran late. The neighbourhood was nice, with some good cafes and shops a tram stop or two away (and it's always nice to see non-tourist areas of a city). I like the idea of food being available 24/7 to purchase (especially when there are no shops within short walking distance).

However, it fell down on value for money. At 114 euro a night I wouldn't call it a budget hotel, especially when it is so far out of the city. In other cities this usually indicates cheaper prices. A non-cooked breakfast of 9.99 euro is extremely high. Other things were more reminiscent of a budget hotel rather than the price, such as the water (handbasin as well as shower!) not working on a Sunday morning for at least half an hour as everyone was apparently showering - not acceptable in a hotel of that price in my opinion, and the staff member I spoke to didn't sound suprised about it - they really should book less people in or buy a larger water tank.

If I could get a cheaper price I'd stay again as overall the experience was good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and thought this hotel was great - it is very trendy and modern. The bed is probably the most comfortable we have ever stayed in! The rooms are quite small but have been designed perfectly to get the most out of the space available. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The location was good - the tram stop is just outside and the number 5 tram will get you into central Amsterdam in about 15 minutes and the airport is only 1 stop on the train which took about 5 minutes. Overall we had a great time in Amsterdam and would definately stay here again if we go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahL_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed for one night in this hotel and as mentioned in other posts, that's the perfect amount of nights for this hotel.

Loved: free wifi plus 4 iMacs available to use. Movies on demand. Mood lighting. Rain showers

Didn't like: lack of storage space and proximity of toilet.

Would definitely recommend for a weekend break as it's modern, contemporary an close to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiansteve1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benn77
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at the Citizen M for a weekend break to Amsterdam. The location is good for an airport stop over as it is a 10 minute train ride from Schipol. However it is a bit out of the centre for a weekend break (20 minute tram ride into town).

The rooms are funky, modern etc with all the electrics and lighting operated off a single device. However if there are two of you staying they can feel a little cramped and there is no hanging space for clothes, so pack light! On the plus side the sound proofing is really good so despite the rooms being crammed in your sure of a good nights sleep.

Overall a good value, quirky hotel, but one I'd say is best suited for solo travellers staying for one night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, citizenM Operations Holding BV, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing