We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - wish there were more like this”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #36 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing - wish there were more like this”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Nicely located near the airport (about a 10 min train ride, tho they also have one IN the airport), and also fairly near the center of town (about 20 mins into town on the #5 tram which goes from right outside to centraal station), for me this is a great hotel.

The hotel itself is very modern, from check in, to the rooms, the staff etc. And for once, they dont try to rip you off for smaller things - eg wifi is free, as are on-demand movies. In most hotels, I feel nickel-and-dime'd - but not this time. The staff were great and very friendly and helpful (and can make a good espresso too).

I'm struggling to find a bad thing to say about them to be honest. Could they be more central? sure. Did it matter? no, not for us. If you are looking for european classic opulent luxury, go somewhere else. If you are looking for a funky crash pad with all the modern trappings, for a decent price, citizenM is fantastic. Oh, and that bed.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,646
    1,648
    326
    91
    60
See reviews for
254
2,409
381
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We had a great stay at Citizen M.
We had originally hoped to stay at a B&B in Amsterdam, but were unfortunately unable to find one that we liked that still had some availability. Tip #1: BOOK EARLY! However, via TripAdvisor we came across Citizen M and decided to give it a go.
We were very glad that we did. For the price, it is a great option in Amsterdam and we would definitely recommend it to others. It is a little out of the central city (12-15 mins via tram), but - like many have said before - the trams run very regularly and stop right outside the hotel. We bought 'I AMsterdam' cards which gave us unlimited travel around the city.
We arrived a little earlier than the stated check-in time, but thankfully were able to access our room. There was a young lady assisting guests at the check-in/out stations who was friendly and helpful.
The rooms were exactly as we expected - which was great! As we were only there for a weekend and therefore only had 2 backpacks between us, we had ample luggage storage space. Yes, the rooms are small, but not uncomfortably so. In this city, you won't want to spend too much time hanging around at your hotel anyway!
The shower and toilet cubicles offer neither visual nor auditory privacy, but you just deal with that. We enjoyed the am/pm shower gels!
The bed is supremely comfortable and we both enjoyed 2 wonderful nights of restful sleep. We also really enjoyed being able to access free wifi and the opportunity to relax with unlimited free movies in our room in the evenings. Bonus!
We did not experience any issues with excessive noise during our stay.
We didn't order the breakfast, but instead just grabbed single croissants / coffee on the run. Both were reasonably priced (by Amsterdam standards) and tasty! The staff in the cafe were always attentive and very friendly.
As we had a late evening flight, we were able to store our luggage at the hotel while we explored the sights during the day. It was wonderful to be able to relax in the uber cool lounge and watch the football for an hour upon our return before heading to the airport at the end of a busy day. I especially enjoyed the great range of 'coffee table' books available.
It is very easy to get to /from the hotel from the airport - just get off at Amsterdam Zuid (1st stop) and it is right around the corner. Keep in mind that some of the ticket machines at the stations don't accept coins (and most don't accept notes), so you may need to pay with your credit card, which costs an extra euro.
Overall, we found the hotel to be comfortable, very trendy, friendly, convenient, fun and great value for money. As you can see from earlier reviews, many agree! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

You walk into this room and laugh a little. There are two Star Trek-like columns, round areas with glass doors that slide open and closed. One is the toilet, the other the shower. That takes up the first half of the room. The second half is too small side tables and a big bed with drawers. As is often the case in these spiffy hotels:

* There is no place to rest your luggage
* There is little space to place your toiletries (though there is a narrow rack next to the sink)
* There is no closet
* There are few hangers

There _is_ a large drawer under the bed, but you still have no convenient place to leave your suitcase, and you still feel too tightly enclosed when you sit on the toilet. At least those doors are frosted; you'll be giving a show if you share the room and shower, though since the bed is a huge mattress at the back, you'll be sharing it with an intimate in any event.

The croissant with breakfast was terrible and the yogurt was commercial, not the delicious yogurt with granola and fruit I had at another Dutch hotel earlier, so I would certainly not eat here.

I really found I liked the neighborhood just a little closer to downtown from this place, so I didn't find the tram ride a disadvantage, in fact I was glad to have the chance to see the nicely designed apartment buildings and pleasant residential district to counteract the sense of cramped craziness that Amsterdam has that often feels excessive. You see parts of the city that are not only interesting, but possible to consider contemporary and livable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This hotel is totally different from other hotels at least I've experienced. The first thing to remember is it is a BUDGET HOTEL, and the second it is "trendy". That means while it has many things that other hotels don't like super cheap calls to other countries (using VOIP system), theme lighting, free movies, free wifi, computer check-in/out, beautiful lounge, reasonably priced cafe, etc., it doesn't have things that other hotels offer such as lotions, wash clothes, cottons, pens and papers, etc. The rooms are super super small and that made it uncomfortable to walk around but it was uniquely designed. Ah, there is no privacy if you happen to be in this room with your friend because they can see you when you go to bathroom or take shower. There is a curtain, but I just don't suggest going to this hotel with someone you are not so comfortable with! Otherwise, worth to try it, it is cheap and completely different.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Initially the place looked small but when I started to Move around in the room, it looked OK.

Neat and Clean Place with very comfortable Bed and Mood Pad.

Nice and helpful staff, great connectivity.....Absolute Value for Money.

Must Stay... I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed for two nights this month whist we were in Amsterdam on a mini-break and visiting friends.
The hotel was rather good. We arrived in a bit of a rush as we were running late to get a to a bicycle tour that we booked, making matters more complicated was the fact that we had forgotten the map to the meeting point! The reception helped out by printing one off for us and also giving us one of their free maps (very very basic – they have ones for sale there but you are better off stopping at the tourist information centre in the airport and buying one there along with combined train and tram tickets!), along with storing our luggage – did make me wondering when they said that you can’t check in yet as it is too early, however for 19.95 they can . . . and I work in hotels!!
The room was as it is on the website, maybe slightly smaller and you definitely have to know and like the person you are sharing the room with . . . .
The lounge areas where great and you felt really comfortable sitting there for drinks or a bite to eat, the books were entertaining, and the free wifi was a bonus.
Mood pad was fun for about 5 minutes then its battery would die and you had to recharge.
My only niggle would be is that we pre-paid for breakfast and this was fine (yoghurt and muesli with a piece of fruit, croissant and a juice), however I do expect a hot beverage to be part of my breakfast, so was rather surprised to have to pay for this, especially considering the way it was explained to us, and the fact that I now checked, and this is meant to be included . . . . oh well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelexpertAmsterdam, social media citizen at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Hi “Mshells”,

Glad you had a good stay and thanks for sharing it here on TripAdvisor.

Replying on some of your concerns:
Check-in time is 2PM however, upon availability, is our policy to apply 19.95 EUR for an early check-in. Extra HK personnel is needed to clean rooms to be available at an earlier time. But we are not strict, arriving a little while before, let’s say 1 or 2 hours, you may check-in free of charge. We think it’s fair to apply the charge for citizens who need to check-in early. Wishing to wait for a check-in, we store your luggage safely and there is plenty of space in the lobby to wait and relax, there is free wi-fi and free computers, canteenM with quality food and drinks ready available, many LCD tvs…

We are working to improve battery life of the Moodpad, which can be charged next to the bed.

I apologize if was any miscommunication, hot beverage is included in the breakfast special. Prepared by the Ambassadors, whom are also baristas, you can have a great espresso, cappuccino, latte, hot chocolate or tea. Seeing you again at citizenM, feel free to contact me directly and I’ll make sure to compensate the wrong charge of the hot beverage.

All the best,
citizenDiego
citizenDiego@citizenM.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, mo
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This hotel is one of a kind. There is nothing else like this place. The room was great, I loved the mood pad and all the different options that were available to us. The bar and store were great to have so you didn't have to leave the hotel after a long day of walking around the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing