We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a new hotel experience”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vilhelmina, Sweden
Level Contributor
220 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“a new hotel experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

When I started to look for a hotel in Amsterdam, I found this, which I never have heard of before. It's just great, very convenient located a few minutes by train from Schiphol. The station is Amsterdam Zuid and from there just a short stroll to the hotel but it was a bit hard to find and no one seemed to know where it was, but finely we found it ...
and we found a hotel, quite simple but all that you need and the tram no 5 stayed just outside so despite the location not is in the very city center, it's so easy to get there and it's a very calm and quiet location so you sleep very well in there wide and confy bed. It's lovely to look at the interior, very "trendy" and smart and you do your own checkin/out, but if you need assistance, it's no problem as there are plenty of staff (ambassdoeres)ready to help you, and the staff is lovely and very helpful.
The restaurant isn't really a restaurant, more of a bar with some simpler food, i.e. sushi, small kebabs and a limited selection of beverages. But overall, the hotel is a very very nice experience and had a "warm feel" because of the design and the friendly staff. Hotelstays can be a bit boring but this was a "funny" one! In ams again, I probably stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ensaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,586
    1,604
    320
    90
    58
See reviews for
244
2,359
371
993
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I'm a bit of a design freak, so when we entered the hotel lobby, I nearly fainted from joy. Everywhere I turned, there was Vitra furniture. The staff greeted us upon arrival and the automated check-in system was a breeze.

Our room on the 5th floor was spectacular. The bed was enormous and the shower/bathroom pods and mood lighting were very cool.

Given the layout of the room, I think this hotel best suits couples or very close friends. You do feel a little bit on display in the toilet since it's right in the middle of the room, but the frosted glass and privacy curtain made it less awkward than otherwise.

Although a bit far out of the city centre, the location next to Amsterdam Zuid made getting around very easy. The number 5 tram stops right in front of the hotel and takes you nearly everywhere you could wish to go in the city (museums, shopping, central train station).

I still cannot believe how reasonably priced the hotel was for the quality - in London where I live, a similar hotel would have easily cost three times the price. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subversive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I liked everything about CitizenM: the whole atmosphere, the futuristic yet comfortable design of the rooms, the friendly staff. The rooms are small yet so intelligently designed that you never notice it. The bed is great, the rooms' sound insulation is the best I have ever experienced in a hotel (I am a light sleeper, so consider that very important). The price is very reasonable, and (really) high speed internet is free. If you want a hint of the future but comfort too, you should definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrizzledStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2010

good:
- easy handling of booking, check-in, etc.
- great rooms (includes everything you really need)
- exciting use of technology without missing out the "pesonal touch"

bad:
- poor F&B-offer in close proximity of hotel (at least during the weekend)
- high prices of in-house F&B do not really fit the overall hotel concept

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erich070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I've read a few reviews which state CitizenM as good and I have to say, it's better, it's great! When you walk through the front doors, you feel that your part of a contemporary and modern hotel, an experience in its own right. From experience that normally is at the sacrifice of comfort. I must say however that the beds are SO comfortable and the room while compact was really clever and good fun.
I went with a friend so we loved the playful room with our "mood pad" which was fab.

I've read some reviews which mention that the hotel is slightly out of town but the number 5 tram takes no time at all to get into the centre. This really shouldn't put you off as the quality of the hotel (I imagine) is far superior to the central budget hotels.

I can honestly say I had an amazing nights sleep.

In Feb, it rains in Amsterdam. It was great to be able to grab a coffee and chill in the massive, trendy, cool lobby reading their 'coffee table' books in their designer chairs.

Personally I think that this is a revolutionary hotel which I'd welcome in any European city where on the whole accomodation is both expensive and sub-standard.

Added bonus: free Wifi, macs AND printing.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Me and my partner loved this hotel! Definately the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I can't wait to go back. The rooms are really funky and small touches are brill, such as mood lighting, tv/music, uk plug socket, hairdryer, big drawer, lots of pillows, am and pm shower gel, and the shower is AWESOME! Sure you can see through the glass so I guess sharing with someone you don't know well isn't advisable but there is a curtain you can pull.
Yes, canteen is a little pricey but so is everywhere in Amsterdam! Staff were cool and helpful and I thoroughly enjoyed my soya latte in the morning whilst reclining on a really comfy chair in the lounge whilst leafing through some ultra cool books. I would recommend this to all of my friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Good things: compact and super-comfy room, high-tech Phillips facilities including chromotherapy showers and light/mood pads, large beds with v. comfy mattresses, free films and quite a choice of them ;-), nice lounges downstairs and a good selection of foodstuffs to compose your breakfast (or brunch), free internet and close to RAI expo area and Beatrix park for jogging; one direct tram to downtown A'dam; no fuss about check-in or check-out: you do it all on your own and spare some valuable time.

Bad things: only few but the hotel might take it into consideration to be a true and real excellence: room doors make a lot of noise and clutter when shutting and also: a little fresh room temperature even when the pad thermometer set on max.

Also, nice and young stuff, good price and an overall very pleasant experience. We will come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vondobbelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing