We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, trendy ultra modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cool, trendy ultra modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Ultra modern decor, everything in the room is controlled by a Phillips moodpad from the blinds to the lights, shower, TV, air con, everything! Comfyest bed ever, its huge with lots of pillows and extra duvet if you want, theres an electronic safe in the room, free movies, lots of English channels on TV, hairdryer, also free designer shampoos which smell gorgeous! Only drawback is that theres not much room to put your stuff and not much privacy as the shower and toilet are in glass cubicles! I'd say more for a dirty weekend than for older couples or families. Free internet/printing downstairs too which is handy in case you need to print boarding passes or anything. Only drawback is the location is a bit out of the way you have to get tram 5 into the centre which can take a while if its busy, but it is easy to get to from the airport via the Zuid station. Oh and the staff are fantastic, really helpful and all speak good English.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachxx1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,314
    1,440
    292
    84
    49
See reviews for
218
2,118
341
869
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Loved it ... citizenM amsterdam city is a great hotel with a very unusual bedroom. The largest bed I have ever seen, multi coloured lighting, and a flat screen tv. Free on demand movies, and porm (if that's what you're into).

It's also on the #5 tramline so is convienent for the main museums and nightlife.

Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Big on design, Big on aesthetic, Big on Comfort, Small on room size, and importantly very cheap on price.

Part of the new wave of "Pod" hotels, Citizen M Amsterdam City is excellent value for money, with top rate design features (to rival that of a modern 5 star), and excellent sleeping conditions. Ideal for a short break with a lover or partner.

Downsides are that the room is small, the location requires a 10-20 minute tram ride into central amsterdam, and there is no hot food served at the hotel.

However, in return you get an extremely cheap price (cheaper than the B&B's), 5 star design, bed, linen, shower, lighting and movie choices.

Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightOwl210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed in the CitizenM City Amsterdam Hotel on Feb 6th. I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor and seen that it won 'Trendiest Hotel in the World' award in 2010. All I can say is that it is brilliant and well worth a visit to Amsterdam just to stay there. It is also very good value.

The hotel's location is in the south of Amsterdam, at the junction of Prinses Irene straat and Beethoven straat and close to the World Trade Centre. There is a tram stop close by. The number 5 tram takes you right through the city, all the way to Centraal station. There are stops on the way for Museaumplein and Leidesplein. To get to the hotel from Schipol Airport, get the train to Amsterdam Zuid station and it is a short walk from there.

The hotel is very modern and stylish. It has been decked out with very expensive furniture in the lobby and has some really nice communal areas. There is a really cool bar with complimentary nuts and olives and serves cold beer. The rooms are very small but amazing inside. The theme seems to be based around intimacy. They are very modern and Japanese-style. Everything is of a futuristic concept. I wouldn't recommend going unless you are with a lover... the shower is see through and the toilet doesn't offer much privacy! I went with my girlfriend and we loved it. The bed is amazing, really big and spacious with nice linen.

The staff at the hotel were great. The women at the bar recommended where to go for restaurants etc. My only complaint was that the cleaner repeatedly knocked on our door AND TURNED ON THE LIGHTS (?!?!) at 10.30am on the morning that we were due to check out. We weren't due to check out until 11am and we were asleep so I thought that was outrageous. I complained when we checked out and the staff ensured that they would speak to the cleaner and that it wouldn't happen again. I'm sure it was a one off and that it wont happen again. The cleaner probably got fired. Oops. I must say that the incident was the only indication that I was staying in a £79 hotel and not a £200 hotel. Otherwise, it feels very luxuious. However more expensive hotels might have better attention to detail.

I've stayed in some 5 star hotels with my job and none of them rival this place. It's really interesting and for the money, it is amazing value. It's totally different from your standard 5 star luxury and it's a really memorable experience. I look forward to going back there. It's very romantic and you don't get the usual 'Brits Abroad' like you might find in other hotels in Amsterdam because it is very couple-orientated.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomden_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

My husband and I spent one night at the citizenM Amsterdam City in January 2010. We had a great stay - the rooms are small and 'pod-like', but have everything you need for a short stay. The bed was very comfortable and my husband loved the 'mood pad' - which you use to control the lighting, raising/lowering the blinds, alarm, TV, movies etc. The toilet is a bit different as it is located in a circular, glass structure. But there is an extra curtain which divides the bed from the shower and toilet, so this can be used for more privacy! The lobby area has wonderful decor, with free use of computers and WiFi. It is easy to travel from the hotel into Amsterdam - just a short ride on the tram.

Only negative - I think that if you spent longer than a weekend at the hotel the room may feel a bit small, but for a night or two it's great!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. Tiny room is extremely comfortable and stylish. Check in check out is a breeze. The whole hotel is very practical, clean, chick. Makes you feel great. It takes sometime to travel to downtown but there are several traveling options. Train (fastest), metro and tram (closest). During my last visit to Amsterdam we stayed at an awful downtown hotel, which was more expensive and dumpy. Staying at a modern, stylish place adds to the experience. People who work there are very helpful and competent. We are very happy with our choice and definitely go back there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

I was a little dubious about this hotel after seeing photos of it on the hotel's website. However I didn't have much choice as my boyfriend was staying here for work and I was tagging along.
My expectations were exceeded - the room was great, everything you needed and everything cleverly had it's own place. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Best of all was the service - the staff were very friendly, very helpful and very welcoming.
I was also a little unsure about the location, however the tram was easy to catch (buy strip tickets rather than single journeys as they work out so much cheaper) and close to the hotel. It's also perfectly located for the airport and when it costs €35 in a cab it's better to pay the €2.60 train - its quick and convenient.
The only downside is I found the food on offer a bit overpriced and there wasn't a restaurant on site - just snakky foods (sandwiches, sushi...) However a few tram stops away there are lots of great places to eat, also there is a Wagamamas just before the Station Zuid if you need something quick and easy.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, although if you went with a mate you'd need to be fairly good friends as the shower/loo arrangements are quite 'intimate'! But for couples or singles, it is just perfect. I'd stay again!
Other tips - Heineken Experience is worth a visit - very interactive and entertaining - costs €15 but worth it. Meal at Khorat Top Thai (2e Const. Huygensstraat) was divine, tastiest Thai Green Curry I've had. Indonesian meal at Puri Mas (Lange Leisedwarstraat) was delicious - had the vege/fish rijsttafels (like Indonesian tapas) and it was delicious - friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great latte's at De Tuin (2e Tuindwarsstraat).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#47 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, citizenM Operations Holding BV and Agoda so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing