We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

Great hotel, clean and good design. Excelent vaue for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,491
    305
    85
    53
See reviews for
226
2,191
351
915
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We booked our stay online for €71 per night for three nights and had great fun, We loved the CitizenM concept, particularly the room remote, the themed wake-up alarms (the countryside theme was mellow), and free on-demand movies. I can't comment on the catering as we didnt try the food, preferring to go into town for a pancake!
The bed is HUGE and comfy. If you are planning a romantic break, his hotel is a good choice.

Transport tip - tram line 5 leaves every 10 mins(direction - 'centraal' to go into town, and 'A'veen Binnenhof' to get back to the hotel - the stop is called Princes Irenestraat) is outside the hotel. If you are coming by train from Schiphol Airport get off at $the Amsterdam Zuid station - the first stop, and take the tram - direction towards Centraal, its only one stop on but easier than walking with your case).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrickBikkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We really loved this hotel. The concept is excellent, and some of the small touches and attention to detail really made the hotel almost one of the highlights of our trip. Granted, there are a few downsides, but overall they were not that bad (given the length of our stay - 3 nights).

The design elements of the hotel are great, the big bed was obviously really nice, as well as the gadgets in the bedroom (lights etc) all being centrally controlled. If i had to complain the only thing would be that the blinds were a bit tempremental, and the roller screen was very loud when operated. The communal areas of the hotel were really great though, usually one can feel uncomfortable hanging around in public areas in a hotel, but here we actually wanted to spend time in them. There is TV to watch and numerous books to flick though. The free internet downstairs was great too, although we didn't need it because of the free wireless in the room .

The food available 24 hours a day wasn't that exciting, pretty standard sandwitch bar stuff, but the breakfasts were ok... if a little expensive, but the fact that it was available at 1am after a late arrival made up for it.

In the rooms the lack of cupboard space was the only real downside, however only being there for 3 nights and on leisure it didn't really matter. We loved the unique touches, own brand toileteries, malik the party citizen on our bed, and the self service check in/out.

Overall we really enjoyed staying here, it was something different from a standard hotel and we'll definitely be looking out for hotels that add something extra to a trip in the way that this one did.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplecat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugge
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Fun rooms (the width of a double bed), but not for more than one night. The high-tech room is fun, again for one night. I paid over 100.00 euro and find that overcharged for the minimum service that is being offered. It feels like staying in a high-tech youth hotel. But when you pay over 100.00 per night there are better options. Especially the restaurant is a huge bummer. All is pre-packed, you take what you want in the freezer, heath it up yourself if you want to, pay and sit on a bar stool that 's available. The food is too expensive for the quality that's being offered. And almost 5.00 euro for a coffee, that's just too much. No spaces what so ever where you can relax. All is located in the hall where the 'ambiance' is that of an expensive youth hostel. If I would have paid less than 80.00 euro, I could recommend this hotel. But it's just too expensive. Oh yes, no parking spots, so I paid over 20.00 euro for a parking spot right across the hotel. And since I had to buy a "chip-card" to do so, I had to pay it cash, it can't be put on the room. That adds up to the total of the hotel room. With the food (average sushi and coffee) and parking, I paid over 150.00 euro. And that's unacceptable for the high-tech youth hostel feel they offer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Super Hotel, lovely staff, don't hesitate go and visit:))))

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-zwatanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

An excellent hotel with fantastically conceptualized rooms - air conditioned working perfectly well and easy to change, large windows, the best, largest and most comfortable bed that you can imagine, friendly staff who speak all languages possible - the guy serving me switched fluently from talking to me in english, to french, back to dutch and then german! my partner who is rather picky about hotel rooms could not find anything wrong :) its not in the city center - you just need to be aware of that but the location is extremely well connected by trams, metro, main trains and buses - what more could you want. oh btw, excellent coffee too...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arvkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Some of this hotel's basic features are good. My room had a great large comfortable bed, the tv is good, the place is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and the hotel is cheap at €85 excluding breakfast. However there are also a number of things about this hotel that irritated me hugely so I will not be returning. The concept is sort of fun but once you get beneath the surface the fun turns into a very poor experience.
I arrived late, about 10pm. I am tired so the last thing I want to do is faff around familiarising myself with a self-service check in, even when there is someone there to help. And especially when there are no queues anyway. If I want that personal touch, and make special requests - a certain kind of room, alarm call, then I have to speak to someone anyway.
In the lift there is a notice about how the experience will lift your spirits. Once I am in the room the first thing I want to do is have a shower. I am looking forward to my rainshower. However the rainshower just spits little strands of water and is not true to the hotel's claim that it is like standing in warm summer rain. So I use the handheld shower instead.
Once showered I have to go downstairs again to exchange a broken trouser hanger for a new one, and once I have done my ironing I go back to my room and prepare for bed. The bed is wonderful and big, very comfortable, and the tv is good.
There is a lot of technology in the room, the operation of which is far from obvious, and again, when you arrive and it's late and you're tired, this is the last thing you need. Turning off the lights is no easy task because once the main lights are out the coloured lights around the shower and loo are still on, and finally (even more tired by this point) I work out that you have to press the dimmer again to turn all lights out.
When I try to lower the electronically operated blackout curtain using the switch (why not have a manually operated one) I find it doesn't work. so I have to call down to reception who send someone (a nice friendly guy) to show me how to do it via the special technology console - which also operates everything else in the room - the tv, lights, wifi etc. Ok so I am ready for bed now. I place the console back in its charger and hit the sack. But a light on the console is still flashing so I have to place it in the big drawer in the bed for the night.
The "pre-made rooms", as it describes them, have a problem. During the night I was woken by creaking, loud and frequent enough to create a disturbance. It sounded like the walls and kept me awake for the rest of the night.
Breakfast. I prepaid for breakfast, saving me €2.55 over the standard price of €12.50. But: not great value. There is buffet, just some pre-selected items - yoghurt with granola, small juice, pre-packed waffles, croissant, a cheap apple, and even though I am seated at the bar it is served to me in a bag rather than on a plate. And get this: whoever heard of a breakfast package where you have to pay extra for the coffee? Excellent (large) coffee, but a whopping €4.75 for the privilege. If they have to charge, then half that price would have been fair in a hotel that claims to offer good value.
There is also a 24-hour cafeteria with pre-packed items for purchase, but the pre-packed fruit, sandwiches etc had condensation inside the packaging - not a good sign. Some sandwiches had so much condensation I couldn't see what was inside.
A couple more things about the room. There is space to store your suitcases - in the bed - but there is almost no space to store clothes, and I always like to hang my clothes up. A tiny hanging rail with three hangers - not much use if you are staying for a few days or if there are two of you. There is no space to rest a laptop unless you don't mind working on the bed. There are some wonderful big Macs downstairs, which you can use free of charge, great, but there are too few of them for the size of hotel.
In some ways - location, cleanliness and comfortable bed - this hotel is great for the price. But it is let down by some poor detail. The construction is poor to the point of being ridiculous, the technology is too complicated and unreliable - to the point of being ridiculous - and the provision of food/drink is unimaginative and unprofessional. Maybe fun as a new holiday experience, but it doesn't work for the business traveller.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing