We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Arrived to find a very clean, trendy hotel lobby with an option to check in on a computer and no waiting around at all. Which is a perfect start.
Room was small (Double) however it's exactly what I needed. Walked in to find 2 cylinder shapes in the corners of the room, to later find out one was my toilet and the other shower. With mood selecting lights all controlled on a portable remote type gadget. very trendy and cool.
Has a park across the road so if you don't want to feel like you're in the middle of city you can relax there. It also has a intercity train link which goes directly to the airport (took me about 7 minutes) which is perfect.
All in all a I would stay here again, as it was perfect for a couple days stay either as a couple or on business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arosac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,491
    305
    85
    53
See reviews for
226
2,191
351
915
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The location is very nice and staff very nice and informal. Good rooms, not so big but comfortable enough. Very modern and trendy style, in fact a single environment contains the toilet and the shower, with glass separators.
The bed was quite comfortable.
The TV has lots of programs and even free on demand contents. With the same remote control you can change lights in the room and set the alarm clock.

With the tram 5 you can go directly to the city center, it's about 20 mins.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the CitizenM for one night because of a connecting flight in the morning. The hotel lobby was decorated very tastefully, it's very comfortable and welcoming. Check in was easy, went quickly. The computer station was nice, we were able to print off our boarding passes for our flight the next day. The bar and the restaurant were nice. Our room was funky, interesting use of space. The bed was a bit firm for my taste and the pillows were small. Beware, the shower is all glass and in the middle of the room as is the toilet, there is no separate bathroom. If you are staying with a friend, there really is no privacy except a curtain that you can pull to separate the room from the shower/toilet. Even with the curtain pulled, it does not give you much privacy. The remote control in our room needed to be charged and this is the only way to turn on the tv and change the lighting in the room. We were frustrated because everything needed instructions and they weren't very clear. It took us forever to figure out the shower. Overall, the rooms were clean, funky and a good price and being so close to the airport is a plus. Staying here at least once is fun.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and the hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I spend only one night there, but the hotel was better than I tought. The room was small, but comfortable, quiet and looked good. The staff was young and helpful. I had also a drink at the bar and the barman GaborT was super nice and friendly. He made a great cocktail and took the time to talk with me, because I was travelling alone. In two words: great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HencsiMano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed for the just one night as had a connecting flight. Very easy location to find and really close about a 5 minute walk at a push from front doors of hotel. Check in straight forward and also had staff member to assist if required. The room I thought was fantastic and a great use of space. All amenities you need are there. The room is adequate for a couple or single person. Would use this brand of hotel at every opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Can't go wrong in this place everything works well and always something going on. Good location to trams and trains No5 tram into city and Station Rai nearby.

Slight differences between Rotterdam and this one. Room was set out differently, wish I had taken a photo of the round glass pods for shower and separately toilet. Like being in the cone of silence. So if you want privacy don't stay here. otherwise very nice bed/pallet. Pillows were a bit small this time? and no Tablet just a touchscreen remote control.

As always Chris my wife had difficulty in getting a suitable gluten free meal but the stafgf did try to be helpful just not that much on offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the view on the other hand, is Meah...one building (Garden side) and another der...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great location, just 15 min from the city center (Tram 5 right in front of the hotel).
The lobby is super stylish and the bar/restaurant is open 24h offering delicious food at a great price.
The room is VERY comfortable (especially the bed - we did not want to leave!!!), BUT it seems bigger in the picture, so if you have lots of luggage it can be a problem. Besides, the bathroom in the middle of the room with glass walls does not offer any privacy. However, if you are traveling with a close friend or partner it shouldn't be a problem!

We really enjoyed our stay (we even extended it!) and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing