We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Heusden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
297 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I'd stayed (unexpected) for one night in citizenM. Great concept, very efficient, relatively cheap and close to the airport. All rooms are small, but very well designed. The bar is great with experienced bar tenders. All people were friendly. Liked it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    1,428
    290
    81
    50
See reviews for
211
2,080
334
855
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel is very different from what you encounter in U.S. but it was a nice - small - room. Very clean, comfortable bed. Buttons to control everything including color of lights. Space was tight as room was no wider than length of bed. Was an interesting experience and very convenient to airport. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend, just expect different.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Well located, very close to the Schiphol airport. The rooms are futuristic, and you can relax with safety in this hotel. In 10 min you will be at the center and RLD by tram.
The shower is the middle of the room and there is no privacy, so, take care if you are thinking in share!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Coolest hotel in a great location. The hotel is 5-minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid and there's a tram line in front of the hotel. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room size is moderate but the XL-size bed made up for everything and is super comfy. Highly recommended if you're comimg to Amsterdam. Would definitely come back and stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chotima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

CitizenM is a must do (and stay) in Amsterdam!

As a student returning home after 6 months of travelling, citizenM was exactly the no frills luxury I was looking for for my last nights in Europe. The staff were very friendly and expedient in their service.

To the friendly man who fixed my shower, thank you! The shower was an absolute highlight.

I took great delight in skyping my friends and family from my 2x2m bed and Instagramming my groovy soap bar which made me a "sparkling clean and nice smelling human being again".

The lobby is always full of people (in a good way) and a great place to hang out.

Comfy and luxurious bed. Great towels. Great pillows. Block out blind. Movies on demand. This place is young (and young at heart) person heaven.

My only note to management would be that when I returned my bike at night time, there was no lighting on this side of the building and I felt a little bit unsafe, but a sensor light would fix this no worries. (To future guests reading this, free and unlimited bike hire from the hotel, perfect in Amsterdam, an easy and flat 20 min (at most) cycle in to town.)

Thank you for a FANTASTIC stay, I will be recommending this hotel to everyone and seeking it out wherever I stay all over the world.

Thank you thank you thank you. Now I'll just wait for one to open in Australia so I can be an ambassador too!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Zofia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for one night whilst we were in transit. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the airport terminal and really easy to find. Check in was super easy self check in but an assistant was on hand if needed. Rooms are amazing 'pod' style accommodation, everything you need for a stop over. Good sized bed and nice shower. Would definitely recommended and will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbl0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found this hotel a delightful experience, ALMOST faultless.. at first thought we might find the lack of space & privacy a problem, but not at all. also thought we did not have enough place to put clothes out etc, but once you check out the room, the storage ides are great and more than enough room for 2....... The lounge areas in lobbys are so freindly and comfortable, but if your staying for more than a couple of nights, the lack of room cleaning can be a problem, you only get towels changed,nothing else, our floor became quite uncomfortable with bits and peices which only end up carrying into bed... My husband had a fall in the street on the first evening and the sheets became quite soiled due to the grazes leaking blood etc, we requested clean sheets but that did not happen.. Maybe a slimline brush & pan hanging behind the mirror area would be a good idea.... the problems did not stop us enjoying the hotel, just a suggestion. The 24hr food although a great idea, needs a great deal of improvement, for the price it was quite bad. tasteless, and uninteresting. when there is a few restaurants with great personal service, great food and reasonable prices nearby, I think most people would eat out if they know they are there (walking distance)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, citizenM Operations Holding BV, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing