We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the hotel, wonderful stay!!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #37 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the hotel, wonderful stay!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I must say that this is hotel is spectacular and luxury. Location is good, just next to the tram station (you can get to the city center by tram 5, which takes around 10 minutes) and 5-minute walk to Amsterdam Zuid train station. Excellent staff, extremely clean and well presented hotel with extra big and comfortable big bed!! Wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,614
    1,621
    323
    90
    58
See reviews for
251
2,375
374
1,006
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed 2 nights when in Amsterdam for a weekend break. Citizen M has 2 hotels in Amsterdam, one at the airport and this one. Everything at this hotel impressed. Staff were efficient and helpful. Room was spotlessly clean and made such efficient use of space. The location was excellent with a tram stop right around the corner and just one train station stop from the airport. Breakfast which we decided to purchase was excellent. I really can't say anything negative about this hotel. Loved Amsterdam and want to return and will absolutely return to this hotel. Fabulous!

Room Tip: They are all exactly the same so all as good as each other I'm sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clocktowerclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I got here by mistake. I should have gone to the same property in Schipol. Therefore after a 12 hours flight I was at this hotel without a reservation. The manager on duty Iwona solved my problem on the spot. She was able to change my reservation and to give me a room. Fantastic service! The hotel itself is nice and clean. I will be back at citizenM anytime I will be in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed for a weekend only but I have never been impressed so much in my life as I didn't expect too much. However, since I entered the hotel I was taken a great care of. Although guests use a self check in kiosk there is always someone to greet you in the most friendly way. Check in and check out is quick and simple - no queuing, no dramas (you can pay extra for late check out or book breakfast or even choose a room with garden view/city view without contacting any of the staff).

For me the location of the hotel was amazing - just one stop away from the schiphol airport by train (4 mins walk from Zuid train station) and only 15-20 EUR to the heart of the city of Amsterdam by taxi.

The hotel itself is very stylish and clean. Place to eat, chill, watch tv, have a drink, use macs, free wifi all over, etc. Feels like home! Rooms are nice and clean with all the facilities as advertised. Modern technology (remote for blinds/tv/lights/air conditioning) and free movies on demand. The bed is so comfortable that you wish you could stay in all day. Shower is amazing - good stream of water, constant temperature and mood lighting. There is no iron in your room but here it is no drama - just speak to the staff and they will guide you to the iron room which is located on the ground floor.

A) you have everything you need here
B) good location
C) there is an incredible atmosphere that I cannot describe

I would like to say a BIG thank you to all the staff, especially Roberto and Adriano who delivered an amazing customer service and made me feel very welcome. All employees seem to work like a big family and the atmosphere impacts on customers as well so I felt I was taken care of in professional and also friendly way (well done management as well!).

I will definitely come back again, well done guys, beautiful hotel, keep it going!

Room Tip: Garden view or city view rooms offered upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Used the citizenM for a 1 night stopover on a long haul to South America. Easy walk from arrivals. Check-in easy, lounge area fantastic, and the room was awesome. Staff very helpful. An almost Japanese pod-like feel to the room, but just the ticket for a stopover. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeboaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I normally don't stay at airport hotels but on this trip, I had an early flight out and booked my last night in Europe at CitizenM at Schipol Airport. It is an easy walk from the airport, even with luggage.The decor is ultra mod with the ground floor devoted to a comfortable and hip lounge. Upon arrival, you check yourself in at a kiosk and activate the room key. The rooms are compact, but comfortable, with a generous and comfortable bed and space-aged shower and toilet. Room electronics (lights, music, tv, shades, etc.) are controlled by a remote (the only difficultly I had was figuring this out). Staff are friendly and there is a modest but delicious assortment of take-away and dine in foods. Free drink on arrival!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from our 3 night stay in Amsterdam for my birthday, and I must say this spectacular hotel and it's lovely, helpful staff really made the holiday what it was. At the check in we were greeted by a very helpful member of staff, while you can check in electronically we wished to pay separately and he helped us do so. The rooms are truly unique, very small in some ways and you should really be comfortable with your room partner due to the toilet being so closer to, well everything. Free films on demand, 2 free cocktails if you book via their website, we were given a free pain o chocolate as well by a lovely member of staff! Huge bed, no issues with the remote once we got the hang of it and it was great to control everything from the bed. Some nice restaurants around the area, and only a 10/15 minute tram ride into the centre! Also they have free bikes for hire, and it's super easy to get to from the airport. Cannot sing its praises enough, gogogo!

Room Tip: The garden view rooms definitely give you the best morning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loisigp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing