We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and funky”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern and funky”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel in January this year for his 30th birthday. The bed went from wall to wall and was so comfy. The cocktails from the bar were gorgeous and decent priced, I didn't eat in the hotel so not sure about the food. The tram takes you from the city centre to the hotel in about 10 minutes which for me was great and quiet. Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,560
    1,591
    321
    87
    58
See reviews for
240
2,338
369
982
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

There's little original thought to sentiment I can add to the many descriptions and reviews already been given...this is a great hotel, I loved the concept on which it's based; my only caveat would be the room design which might be challenging for a coupe.

It is close to the station and easy to find and get to, and a very easy commute to and from the centre of town.

The staff are outstanding. Truly, all young, brimming with enthusiasm and friendliness. They really help to make a stay here special!

Would recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

New concept with little or no human staff, most is automatized and very modern. The rooms are like a space ship. The common area is unique, with work station... Unusual but worth trying something different. One word perhaps: Efficient and no hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Paul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned home from Africa via Amsterdam to stay over night at the Citizen M hotel at Schiphol. We last stayed there five years ago after a Baltic Cruise and for us it was like coming home! This is a compact room with three hangers on a rack, a toilet and shower in the middle of the room, with colored lights. There are frosted enclosures for the toilet and shower on a track which can be blocked off from the rest of the small room. The bed is huge, being the width of the room and the most comfortable bed we have slept in, with the wonderful fluffy pillows. The drawers under the bed are a great storage area, the windows look out on the city or the planes taking off and coming in... your choice of rooms. There is a wonderful huge tv in the room with free movies. The windows have shutters to either open or close the window shades.
We were on the trip to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect way to end our 16 day trip, before the long haul flight home.
We took the breakfast buffet, which was plenty and unlimited food and the coffee was perfect!
While this hotel might not be for everyone we love it and call it a sexy hotel/room. Everyone are so friendly and helpful. Leonardo checked us in and became our fantastic ambassador for the night and day stay. He is so personable and such a sweetie!
This hotel is perfect for the mobile person although five years ago we stayed for three days and were every comfortable. It is a 10 minute walk from the Schiphol airport and works fine if you are wanting to stay and visit Amsterdam, as the train is right there at the airport.
I have no idea when we'll be back but lots of other Citizen M hotels are popping up so we'll find one some where in our travels. If you see Leonardo tell him Hi from Jane and John!

Room Tip: I think any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

You feel like in a hi-tech future, especially the shower in the centre of the room was amazing. The bed was A-class, one of the best I´ve ever experienced in a hotel, including 5* ones. Not really in the city center, but it is easy to access. And with all the super friendly staff, you have to love it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is brilliant, the staff was always lovely and ready to help with everything we needed.
Great location (near train station, tram a few steps away, and possible to walk from city center), amazing breakfast full of options.
I had never seen anything like the room there, you feel like you are inside of a starship. Plus, it's so comfortable and relaxing.
Me and my family had a really good time in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Came across the hotel by chance by the old harbour. A wonderful location and i was very warmly welcomed Even the receptionist offered to come with me to show me a parking spot. No frills in state of the art bedrooms which suited me fine
free cocktail was mmmmmm
Can't wait to return with friends.

Room Tip: Go to Rotterdam by train if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#34 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing