We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$222
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$231
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $312/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sebastian's(Amsterdam)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$251
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$470
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$310
$284
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $371/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$190
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$190
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$305
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (5,403)
Filter reviews
5,403 results
Traveler rating
2,986
1,855
383
109
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,986
1,855
383
109
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mfree moviesmood lightingshower and toiletmood padzuid stationtram stopcity centrerooms are smallhuge bedgreat conceptfrosted glassfunky hotelschiphol airportnumber trammodern designcommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
2,120 - 2,125 of 5,403 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I booked this hotel on the strength of a previous stay at the Citizen M in Glasgow. I was initially a little concerned that it may have been too far from the city centre but with the tram stop on its doorstep it proved to be ideal for a site seeing weekend. It's also very handy to the Amsterdam Zuid station which itself is a short hop away from Schiphol.

The rooms are wonderfully quirky and the bed is one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The staff were extremely friendly, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beardyniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Simple and trendy hotel; Nice bar and restaurant area; prices are ok for food and drinks in an Amsterdam hotel; choice of food is quite limited (more snacks than a real meal); Toilet and bathroom in the room are a bit awkward at first but very convenient and adds a "Star Trek" touch to the room; The technology is not always very willing and switching on the light might be an adventure; very small room; located close to tramline
Drawback: A small table in the room to put your suitcase on would be helpful

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was the most "different" hotel I have ever stayed at! It is located pretty close to a metro station. Also, there is a tram stop just outside the hotel and this tram goes directly to Amsterdam Centraal. So, connectivity is not a problem. This hotel uses a lot of technology, right from the self check-in to mood lights to remote control operated blinds! You need to be really comfortable with the person you are staying with if you are planning to stay at this hotel. The room is pretty small but very comfortable. The shower and toilet pods are glass enclosures and well, leave little to imagination :) (the glass is a bit frosted for some privacy) though there is a curtain separating the bed from the shower and toilet pod. It is fine if you are traveling as a couple. Loved their AM/ PM shower gel concept; shower gels of different fragrances for morning and night. They have various types of electrical sockets to suit gadgets from different countries, which was a great help.
We had dinner in the hotel on our first night there as we were too tired to go out and hunt for a restaurant. The food was good though a bit over priced. They also have a snack bar.
Overall, had a great stay and would definitely visit again if I am travelling with my husband!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckytraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend over the kings day weekend. From the moment we arrived all members of staff were helpful and friendly. We were recommended some delicious cocktails and the staff kindly explained how to get in to the centre and the best places to visit were detailed on a map for us.

The tram stop was literally a one minute walk and very easy to hop on and off. There were also citizenm bicycles available to borrow which we took great advantage of. It took us only 10 minutes to cycle to Museumplein from the hotel.

Would definitely recommend the hotel and the all you can eat breakfast in the morning, although the hotel isn't in the centre of Amsterdam it's very close to the airport and Museumplein and Amsterdam itself is tiny so it's very easy to get around!

Special thank you to Adrian, Robert, Sally and Paul for being so kind and helpful. I wish I could name all the other staff but I'm unsure of their names!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraStevenson91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I'm giving an average rating just to say be careful with what the hotel really is. It seems like a nice hotel, it's just not for families or young couple... You only have one room with shower AND toilets in the same room! It's a bit strange, say goodbye to your privacy...
Other than that, seems fine. I could go there on my own.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 1, 2014

Hi "Laurent F",

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your observations with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor.

citizenM is for a niche on our own style, it's indeed an option of accommodation that is suitable for some. Our hotel is advertised as such with clear pictures and information, to help the decision making when looking for an accommodation.

Our focus is offering an affordable luxury hotel experience with no hidden costs. We believe in beautiful living rooms by Vitra, free Wi-Fi & movies, a 24/7 food & beverage outlet with friendly Ambassadors, great XL bed & shower and a contemporary environment surrounded by creatives & art.

I wish you safe travels.

All the best,
Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews