We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

It's a very contemporary Hotel. A great way to check in and check out of the hotel. Just you, your credit card and a computer. If you need help, a friendly hostess is there for you. The room is amazing for one or two person. Not very great if you are travelling with a lot of luggage, but I was just with a handbag, so it was good.

Room Tip: All room are pretty much the same. Nice sound proof windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanoceano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,262
    1,429
    290
    81
    50
See reviews for
211
2,081
335
857
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

From the moment we arrived at the CitizenM we were greeted by a very friendly reception who walked us through the touch screen check in service.Although set 10 minutes out of the center of Amsterdam this in my opinion is a good thing. Just hop on the tram outside the hotel and in 5-7 minutes you can be in the thick of it.
The room was unlike anything I have ever stayed in (in a good way) The bed was absolutely huge and extremely comfortable. The room itself was like staying in a space shuttle with everything from the lighting to the blinds and heating and media in the room being operated by a very slick touch screen remote. The selection of food and cakes were great and accessible 24hrs a day.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anybody on any kind of trip. For me customer service is key and the Citizen hotel have got this completely right!!

Room Tip: Garden view seemed quieter but to be honest the spec of the room out classes any of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I really liked the look and feel of the hotel. The lobby and work areas were fantastic. It was great for creativity and getting things done. The service was also great and very easy to check in and check out.

My biggest issues were the size of the hotel room and the food. The room size were tiny. They look small in the photos but once you get there you realize that the entire room is the width of a king size bed. I felt crammed just trying to bring one suitcase in. I like the room amenities but it was just too small, I felt like I was in a jail cell. The second issue was that the food left a lot to be desired. The bar is 24 hours but the only thing you can eat are cold sandwiches, some soup or bread. None of it was very good either. Breakfast was also the same, great if you like bread but little else to fill you up. It's also a 15min tram ride away from a decent food area.

I'm definitely trying something else when I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Absolutely terrific hotel which we totally recommend. Stylish and funky without being over the top. Calls from the hotel are at Skype rates which is brilliant and the bar/restaurant offers food and snacks 24hrs. If you don't feel like including a full breakfast in your booking then you can pick up a coffee and a fresh pastry at cafe prices (not the usual high hotel prices). The tram (no.5) is just around the corner and very frequent so it takes no time to get into the city centre and the Museumplein. It's only one stop to the airport so couldn't be easier to get there. Great staff too, very friendly and helpful. This is a great hotel; funky, friendly and relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colucailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
402 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Everything you need. Friendly, helpful staff; huge, comfortable fabulous bed with great bedding & pillows; easy access to train/metro with a short walk; it was all good. I'll be back when i need a place in this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

A perfect hotel!! A huge bed to immerse yourself in. Tech savvy with coloured LED over the shower and toilet. The atmosphere of the hotel is lively.

Very polite and friendly staff.

So many more great things can be said, but not enough time or room to write

I WILL RETURN.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank tsmithau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Lovely, Great Staff, Great Rooms, Great Location, Inspirational Ambiance, - Superb Concept! Have stayed there 6 or 7 times already - and it's always great! Thank YOU all - great team!

Don't miss the great food - it's worth it and great coffee too!

One word: Excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and citizenM Operations Holding BV so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing