We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever been to!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #37 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've ever been to!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were there for New Years Eve (4 nights) and it was a blast to stay a this Hotel.
Super friendly crew, very clean rooms with a lot of extras (like collour chanching LED lights, a lot of movies, channels, etc...) The room has the perfect size. Not too big and not to small. Its perfect for a city trip. It takes 10-15 minutes to the city centre with the tram, what is really good, in our opinion, because it's really quiet there.
The bed and the blanket are so big, that it's hard o decide in which direction you should sleep. The pillows are sooo fluffy and perfect, better than at home. I'm used to pain in the back when I sleep in hotels, but not at this hotel! I was sleeping like in heaven, and so was my boyfriend.
We are planning to visit the citizenM in London and Paris in the future, because you feel like home in this Hotel. And why tryying something else when you've already find your perfect hotel? ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,647
    1,648
    326
    91
    60
See reviews for
254
2,410
381
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very cool. Funky rooms. Quirky and interesting. A few very nice little touches around the place to give you a welcoming feel.
Clean, quiet, comfortable. Nice beds.
Smallish rooms but everything you need in a new and fresh style.
Not exactly a bathroom but one of the most memorable hotel showers!
Pretty awesome in every way - give a try, it's an experience.
People on hand to help check you in.
Good food downstairs. Next to tube and airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for a quick getaway and absolutely loved it! It is funky and modern and has everything you need. The hotel itself is about 20 minutes from the city centre but the tram stops just across the road, and it is really easy to negotiate the tram system, plus it's cheap. The hotel is very modern when you arrive at the hotel you check in through computer terminals, which is step by step standard, but there is a member of staff on hand if need be. The rooms are fantastic, I really enjoy staying in original unique hotels and this fits the bill. The room is a pod and it has a shower tube and toilet tube, with a massive bed, the room utilises space really well and has a futuristic vibe which is really cool! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well this place was just fabulous....everything you want from an Amsterdam hotel room....!!! The shower is in the middle of the room, the bed is a big as the room and the TV offers plenty of channels!!! We absolutely loved this place but would change its location if we could. We prefer to be in the city centre but I have to say that this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We stayed in December 2009 and they had the heaviest snowfall they had experienced in years so to see it all lit up with Christmas trees and with the snow it was magical. Love Amsterdam and love this hotel, not too far to walk to the train. It was definitely a first class experience.

PS - I am writing this review a long time after visiting but it will only let me go as far back as Jan 2013 on the drop down. It was Dec 2009 when we visited

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Mongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great Hotel, very modern, and very clean. Staff are friendly and very helpful. I liked the electronic check-in although the fact that they dont accept cash payments for the rooms but only in the restaurant is confusing. It's located around 15-20mins (10mins by car) away from the center by public transportation. However, it is not a deal-breaker as it is located in a very peaceful and calm area. Very recommended unless you want to stay in the center of the city (which is quite noisy)

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same. but it's more for either couples, or solo travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YazeedAlakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days while on holiday. While the building and the theme are delightful and whimsical, this is not a practical choice, or particularly well-priced.

The rooms are tiny. Although the bed is big enough to fit 4 people, the toilet and shower are in the middle of the room in a tight glass enclosure, which means that there is no privacy or modesty.

Also, the location is on a tramline but is quite a bit outside the center of town, so it's not a good base for people who want to see the sights, go shopping, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_YTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

stayed here for 3 days on a business trip. Very lively hotel full of positive energy, exceptionally friendly smiling helpful staff, modernly furnished with a hint of smart home tech. Automated self check-in; was pretty decent and swift; we were done in less than 5 mins.
To sum-up
Hotel atmosphere: lively, friendly and modernly furnished. 8/10
Bar: had several snacks 9/10, some ready made hot/cold meals 6/10.
Room: Very clean, high tech with a new edge of style and design that I was very fond of 9/10
Bed: LOVELY and extremely comfortable 10/10
Staff: Very helpful, friendly, dedicated, prompt, smiling and home welcoming. I had a problem with the telephone and before I have realized it, it was fixed. 10/10
breakfast buffet 6/10. not a diverse menu, only boiled eggs were available, bread quality was a bit unsatisfying, not much options really.
Location: it is a bit out of the city 15-20 mins by taxi and will cost somewhat between 15-28 depending on the traffic to reach Dam square 3 mins walking distance to the nearest tram station. Didn't use the tram, so not sure the time required to reach any of the live areas. Very quite. So grade it depending on your preference.

Trams could be over crowded during weekend's.

Will I return here again: Definitely for business; Maybe for leasure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABebars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,331 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing