We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM Amsterdam to your Saves list
citizenM Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well this place was just fabulous....everything you want from an Amsterdam hotel room....!!! The shower is in the middle of the room, the bed is a big as the room and the TV offers plenty of channels!!! We absolutely loved this place but would change its location if we could. We prefer to be in the city centre but I have to say that this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. We stayed in December 2009 and they had the heaviest snowfall they had experienced in years so to see it all lit up with Christmas trees and with the snow it was magical. Love Amsterdam and love this hotel, not too far to walk to the train. It was definitely a first class experience.

PS - I am writing this review a long time after visiting but it will only let me go as far back as Jan 2013 on the drop down. It was Dec 2009 when we visited

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Mongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great Hotel, very modern, and very clean. Staff are friendly and very helpful. I liked the electronic check-in although the fact that they dont accept cash payments for the rooms but only in the restaurant is confusing. It's located around 15-20mins (10mins by car) away from the center by public transportation. However, it is not a deal-breaker as it is located in a very peaceful and calm area. Very recommended unless you want to stay in the center of the city (which is quite noisy)

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same. but it's more for either couples, or solo travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YazeedAlakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
201 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days while on holiday. While the building and the theme are delightful and whimsical, this is not a practical choice, or particularly well-priced.

The rooms are tiny. Although the bed is big enough to fit 4 people, the toilet and shower are in the middle of the room in a tight glass enclosure, which means that there is no privacy or modesty.

Also, the location is on a tramline but is quite a bit outside the center of town, so it's not a good base for people who want to see the sights, go shopping, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_YTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

stayed here for 3 days on a business trip. Very lively hotel full of positive energy, exceptionally friendly smiling helpful staff, modernly furnished with a hint of smart home tech. Automated self check-in; was pretty decent and swift; we were done in less than 5 mins.
To sum-up
Hotel atmosphere: lively, friendly and modernly furnished. 8/10
Bar: had several snacks 9/10, some ready made hot/cold meals 6/10.
Room: Very clean, high tech with a new edge of style and design that I was very fond of 9/10
Bed: LOVELY and extremely comfortable 10/10
Staff: Very helpful, friendly, dedicated, prompt, smiling and home welcoming. I had a problem with the telephone and before I have realized it, it was fixed. 10/10
breakfast buffet 6/10. not a diverse menu, only boiled eggs were available, bread quality was a bit unsatisfying, not much options really.
Location: it is a bit out of the city 15-20 mins by taxi and will cost somewhat between 15-28 depending on the traffic to reach Dam square 3 mins walking distance to the nearest tram station. Didn't use the tram, so not sure the time required to reach any of the live areas. Very quite. So grade it depending on your preference.

Trams could be over crowded during weekend's.

Will I return here again: Definitely for business; Maybe for leasure

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABebars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013, before heading to Brussels for another 3. We really enjoyed the stay - the rooms were trendy, practical but chic, and , as many others have said, perfect for a couple or single traveller. I found that there was plenty of storage space in our room, theres a HUGE drawer under the bed for clothing and bags, as well as some hangers behind the door. The lights in the room were cool - and we were like little kids playing around with it. The living areas were very nice and the staff were friendly.
I think the only thing that would put some people off - and one day completely wore us out, was the location. We ALWAYS walk wherever we go as we think we see more, and rarely take public transport. (We did once and it was really stuffy and uncomfortable due to the time of the year, I'm sure its better in the colder months),but when we walked to the centre and back 3 times in one day we were exhausted by the end! We also found it a little difficult to find places to eat other than Wagamamas nearby, and we would have liked recommendations from the staff, but we were recommended their meals lol, which were convenient and actually quite nice.
We would stay here again, but use public transport! I hope more of these affordable, trendy hotels open up in more locations, we are holding off our New York trip until their 2 hotels are completed so we can stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ffionsfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hip, modern and futuristic. Not like a typical hotel room but feels more like a cabin room in a cruise ship (small and compact).

Big and comfortable bed with good pillows.

Toilet and shower was too open. Not suitable if you are travelling with children or friends.

No drinking water / kettle provided in the room.

Breakfast options limited not value for money.

Location is excellent! Close to train station and tram stop.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

For our trip to Europe, we started in Amsterdam and although we only had one and a half day this was the perfect hotel to connect with other cities. At 100m walking distance from the airport, and the same distance to get another flight, train, tram, or bus later or the next day!

The man receiving us in the lobby was extremely friendly and the rooms very small, but so inetresting, modern, view on the planes from your bed, shower in the middle of the room with led lights, unique!

Would go here again for one or max two nights, good value!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watchers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with citizenM Operations Holding BV, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing