We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Trendy and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trendy and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013, before heading to Brussels for another 3. We really enjoyed the stay - the rooms were trendy, practical but chic, and , as many others have said, perfect for a couple or single traveller. I found that there was plenty of storage space in our room, theres a HUGE drawer under the bed for clothing and bags, as well as some hangers behind the door. The lights in the room were cool - and we were like little kids playing around with it. The living areas were very nice and the staff were friendly.
I think the only thing that would put some people off - and one day completely wore us out, was the location. We ALWAYS walk wherever we go as we think we see more, and rarely take public transport. (We did once and it was really stuffy and uncomfortable due to the time of the year, I'm sure its better in the colder months),but when we walked to the centre and back 3 times in one day we were exhausted by the end! We also found it a little difficult to find places to eat other than Wagamamas nearby, and we would have liked recommendations from the staff, but we were recommended their meals lol, which were convenient and actually quite nice.
We would stay here again, but use public transport! I hope more of these affordable, trendy hotels open up in more locations, we are holding off our New York trip until their 2 hotels are completed so we can stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ffionsfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,257
    1,427
    290
    81
    49
See reviews for
209
2,078
334
855
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hip, modern and futuristic. Not like a typical hotel room but feels more like a cabin room in a cruise ship (small and compact).

Big and comfortable bed with good pillows.

Toilet and shower was too open. Not suitable if you are travelling with children or friends.

No drinking water / kettle provided in the room.

Breakfast options limited not value for money.

Location is excellent! Close to train station and tram stop.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

For our trip to Europe, we started in Amsterdam and although we only had one and a half day this was the perfect hotel to connect with other cities. At 100m walking distance from the airport, and the same distance to get another flight, train, tram, or bus later or the next day!

The man receiving us in the lobby was extremely friendly and the rooms very small, but so inetresting, modern, view on the planes from your bed, shower in the middle of the room with led lights, unique!

Would go here again for one or max two nights, good value!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watchers07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hello,
CitizenM is not a convencional hotel - it is The Hotel.
I could catch the idea of being a world citizen instead being one number.
The CitizenM Amsterdam Team are just awsome, the atmosphere is something that you cannot see in anyplace.
The Wi-Fi, the accomodations, the meals, the people.
Thanks everyone on CitizinM Amsterdam for make me so welcome and part of na unique world.
Cheers,
Jefte Villar - from Campinas, Brazil

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JefteVIllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel near ftom tram and metro and wtc building. Its easy to find this hotel.When me, myson and husb arriving this hotel first time in my mind this hotel so cozy and modern. After I see the room im so surprice about why after I open the door I see shower and toilet infront of me. This time I experience hotel like this. Im not comfrt when I must go to shower I scared mylil son will see me. But the staff was nice and cooperative. Maybe I will back to this hotel only when I go alone or just with my husband

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank carlheindzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

At first glance I thought the hotel was "very cool" with the futuristic design of the bedroom but as the minutes went by the first impression was replaced by annoyance. Some "cute" touches such as the stuffed toy, funny messages written on walls and toiletries and the light colour selector. Still, not nearly close to offset the list of negatives and motivate me to repeat the stay.

Negatives include:
- having crawl into bed from the bottom of it
- the lack of bedside tables or a convenient plug to charge the phone or other device and still easily reach it from bed (i.e. had to jump up in the morning to switch off alarm clock - not a nice start of the day)
- very poor choice of breakfast - nothing warm or suitable to make a sandwich other than cheese
- no body lotion / hair conditioner

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dandradea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I enjoyed this hôtel in the city center of Amsterdam. Staff very sympatic and helpfull. The only critic is about the size of the rooms that are very small, but also modern and design.
Hôtel well situated : 6 min from the AirPort in train and 20 min in tram (Line 5) for the center.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariemariez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, citizenM Operations Holding BV and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing