We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, smart, clean....awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun, smart, clean....awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel room looked extremely interesting to my wife and I. We had 1 night to spend in Amsterdam and found it online and decided to take a look. It is a bit far from the downtown attractions but easy to get to (I would recommend the Tram Line 5 - drops you off less than 1 block away) and so much fun. You are immediately greeted by a hotel staff member who allows you to self check-in and directs you to your room. The rooms are cozy, very cool and operated entirely from the remote for the TV. The shower has neon lights and is much more spacious than it looks and the bathroom (has frosted glass around it) is similarly spacious though it is a bit weird to use the bathroom and have the other person see your silouette while doing so. The bed is large and extremely comfortable and is like the hotel, fantastic! I would recommend that you stay here as long as you are not claustrophobic as it is a bit like a pod room but we loved it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same, no differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roto1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    1,428
    290
    81
    50
See reviews for
211
2,080
334
855
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Went there to run the Amsterdam marathon. It was perfect. We where there for 4 days.
Very good location, very modern and trendy. Nice staff.
Just would like to have a little more space to keep the clothes :-) and warm eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for one night but I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who loves a a change from the norm.
The rooms are amazing they fitted with mood lighting and the design of the room is so funky.
Give it a go! You won't be disappointed. We will be going back for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenBamforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last week for one night and I thought the room was modern, stylish and different. I was a little surprised at first with the toilet and shower in the same room as the bed.

Only negative was that the hotel does not have a restuarant as such, basically you order something from one of the fridges and it gets warmed up in the microwave... disappointing.

Overall the hotel is convenient for the airport and a good place to stay for one night. I would stay here again when I am next in Holland.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very interesting container hotel room. Excellent new concept. Fantastic high quality large bed. maybe for 2 persons the room is a bit small. For one person the room has all you need. Best part of the hotel is the ground floor lobby with very nice seating and lounge areas. Nice bar. Hotel with very relaxed atmosphere, friendly, very helpful, young and hip hotel staff. Perfect connected to Schiphol airport by train and by tram to city centre of Amsterdam. Great hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JansenPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here in February. Loved the hotel the bed is amazing so sleep quality is good. The mood pad and shower is really funky.

The only tiny negative was it was a bit further out the city than we originally thought but tram service was good just out the hotel.

Would definitely try and stay at a citizen M again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmee682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This would be the only hotel I stay in when traveling to Amsterdam. It has a great environment and a 10 minute tram from the heart of the city. They also offer breakfast and free movies when you stay in the hotel.

Trust me. You won't go wrong with staying here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sulltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, citizenM Operations Holding BV, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing