We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget product”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Liked the stylish, comfortable lounges and work areas. Free wifi. Ultra friendly staff. Cool lighting and modern furniture.

Not completely sold on the bedrooms. Large, comfortable bed, multi channel TV, sound proofing all good. But didn't really like the shower and toilet pods in the middle of the room, although the design is clever and had no problem with the water temperature and pressure. Overall the effect is rather clinical and sterile.

Budget wise was reasonable although food and drink was more expensive than expected, especially the rather limited choice of microwaved hot food.

I would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,029 - 2,035 of 4,966 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Where do I begin. I booked this solely on over 2.0000 reviews.i am completely and utterly gob smacked by this hotel.from the minute you walk through the doors you are greeted by friendly,smiley faced staff that can't do enough for you,it's so easy to register that you've arrived on the computer by entering your booking reference or email and you're instantly recognised,it's so personal.the whole layout of the hotel is like I can only describe as the style of an Ikea store kitted out as a hotel.its funky yet warming and so homely.then you go through the door to your room,yes it's small and compact but it's everything you need yet so more.the shower pod with mood lighting is ingenious yet practical,massive bed and we had a brilliant nights sleep,free movies on tap.i only wish we'd had at least another night here.The tram stopped literally outside,Tram 5 takes you straight to central station, passing through the famous market,van gogh museum, dam square etc.you really don't need to stay in a central hotel that's probably too noisy,it was so peaceful at the hotel.

Room Tip: Over looking the garden is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Slept over for one night. Easyest check in, no receptionist. Room is small and clean with a good shower. Nice atmosphere supported by good marketing. Lounge is a little too Hyp for my taste, bu then again was there for an hour only. Miss my breakfast though. Super internet service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccarlobbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Superb staff - the friendliness and service was second to none.
Rooms on the small side - the width of the king-sized bed that filled the far end There was no separate bathroom but "pods" for shower and toilet. Inadequate storage but manageable if you travel very light.
We pre-ordered breakfast every day and it was OK. The good thing was that you could eat breakfast at any time of day. The coffee offered at breakfast was too small for us.
A lot of style but there is some substance too. I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andeLedbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

staff was friendly and our stay was nice. it's a very modern/sleek hotel with all kinds of bells and whistles. they had a cafe in the lobby and internet access everywhere. I would say it's the most modern hotel i've ever stayed in, they had tubes in the room where you found the shower and toilet. you could also change the color of the lights with a remote. reminded me of the jetsons. it was very clever in the design. the room was quite small and it was fairly expensive. Once arriving in amsterdam it was a little hard to find but was in a nice residential type area close to public transportation. overall we had a nice stay, but def. a once and a while splurge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharlow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an 18 hour layover in Amsterdam and wanted to stay near the airport. CitizenM is a very short walk from the airport. This place is perfect if you like modern and chic decor. It begins with the most unique check in process I have experienced. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms are on the smaller side but utilitarian. The shower and toilet are in plexiglass enclosures in the middle of the room. Everything is state of the art. The bed is huge. We stayed in 537 which has a "city view" - it looked out over the unremarkable business buildings near the airport. The big plus for me, besides the modern decor, is that all the rooms are sound proofed. After all the noise of airports and transatlantic travel, the relief of a quiet room is incredible. The hotel's public areas are wonderfully modern and welcoming. There is a large table with Mac computers, printers, etc and it invites people to congregate, work and talk. So unlike most hotels' business centers. CitizenM serves food and drink 24 hours per day. I could go on and on about how cool this place is. Because we often fly through Amsterdam, this is going to be our regular stop from now on.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank aprilgirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We believe you would be better off staying at a Youth Hostel for 20 euro per night, as opposed to paying 120 euro per night for something so disappointing and of a similar standard.

The Pros
- Big Bed
- Clean Room

The Cons
- Open layout, including toilet and shower with clear glass doors overlooking the bed??
- No Wi-Fi in our rooms (we were on Level 2 & 5)
- Self Check in on a computer
- 20 minutes out of town
- Rooms are next to a noisy freeway
- Staff could not tell us how to get to the Van Gough Museum (take number 5 tram, for 10 minutes or so)

Would expect a few more pros for $180 AUD per night.

Anyway, our mistake...instead we'll be at the backpackers on Dam Square which has honest "cheap and cheerful" accommodation - where we will actually get what we pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#34 of 373 in Amsterdam
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $108 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing