We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent concept and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent concept and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved staying at Citizen M! Even though is not in the center of town the tram can take you there in less than 15 minutes. Amsterdam is a small city so anywhere you stay won't be far away from the attractions. The overall concept of the hotel is awesome. Extremely trendy! If you check out there site you will get the idea. The rooms are spacious and very thing is controlled by the remote. The bed is a plus. It's a great size and the window is huge. This hotel was the best choice during our 2 week stay in Europe. Hopefully they will open more hotels like Citizen M around the world!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,345
    1,460
    298
    84
    50
See reviews for
221
2,147
342
884
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've stayed at the Citizen M in Glasgow so not our first experience.
All the elements are very well designed and the overall 'feel' of the hotels are great, with a modern ambiance, albeit perhaps slightly contrived.
The breakfasts are great value and offer a really wide choice. It is worth knowing though that there are other eating and drinking options near to the train station and financial area, a short walk away, if you fancy a coffee and cake / pastry to go.
A downside for me with regard to the room is the toilet being situated in a semi-transparent pod - not everyone's idea of a good idea - however well you know the person you are sharing with. Though, as a good friend of our said, given the Dutch reputation for openness, we should have felt relieved that there wasn't a live stream from the toilet to the lobby :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vwbeetle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

At first glance, it looks a sort-of glorified Japanese capsule-hotel: rooms are rather small, and not "perfect" from the practical point of view. There is no bathroom/toilet as such, everything is in this "corridor" with start-trek like capsules for the toilet and the shower.

My feeling is that they made virtue from necessity: as they needed to have a certain amount of occupancy per square meter in order to make profits, they used the best possible design to make it look "cool". They managed, in fact. The place is nice, and provided you don't have a big suitcase (no place for it), or to hang a few shirts (there's no wardrobe, only 3 hangers, which make it feel like a Ibis budget ... ), it's a perfect place to stay if you need to have a meeting with your co-workers (lots of place provided in the lobby, for "real" work meetings) and use the room for sleeping and showering.

Workers there are really nice, and the bar, open 24/7, is really good - although food choice is very limited (feels like a petrol station, although with fantastic choice of beers).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for anyone staying one or two nights. I stayed 5 nights for business nearby at the RAI exhibition centre, and the lack of any storage is very inconvenient. No wardrobe, 3 hangers is not enough.

Great showers, in the same room with glass doors, the toilet is the same.

Lights, curtains, tv, ac all controlled by one control, great until it fails.

Lovely and helpful staff.

Great place, I did like it but not for any more than 2 nights.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel was awesome, clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Large beds, showers that works, air conditioned rooms, loved playing with the mood pads and the personalization of the rooms. You really have to pay attention to the little details at the hotel, full of really interesting tid bits that makes the stay full of little surprises. Location very close to the RAI, a short walk through a beautiful, calming Beatrix Park (took me 10 minutes by walk). Tram station about a 1 minute walk (it's just across the street actually) and takes about 15-20 minutes to get to restaurants area and about 30 minutes to get into Centraal station. Our senior management team stayed there and were very impressed by the hotel. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is class. It was amazing. So different from any hotel I have ever stayed in. The bed is so comfy. There are mod lights in the room that change with music. It was such an enjoyable experience. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although originally dubious about the hotels self service aspect, we were greeted by the nicest possible staff who helped us sign in, and choose what style room we want, and how many room cards we wanted!
Hotel had everything we could possibly want, lovely cocktails, and only a short walk from the city centre (or just outside a tram stop)

Room was amazing! (Especially as we're both a bit geeky) remote controlled mood lighting and tube showers were very cool, and the massive bed was very comfy. Also choice of movies was great (not that we were in the place long enough to watch them) and although the room was quite small, the great use of space meant we didn't really ever notice it.

Definitely would recommend it to anyone travelling to the city on work or play if you like a modern feel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam Hotel
Element Amsterdam Hotel
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing