We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice concept - cosy high tech rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice concept - cosy high tech rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I chose this hotel because it doesn't look like any hotel: pictures looked good and so is the hotel in general. It is like a concept hotel, with a lot of tech: iMacs in the lobby, universal remote that does lightning, stores, and TV in your room (free movies to rent are a nice touch).
The toilet and shower are in pods, nice (and probably the only) way to fit this accommodation in the rather small space (the room is a wide as the bed is long). Still, the room feels larger than it actually is.

Everybody speaks English - not completely strange for a business hotel. I was welcomed by a girl at the reception, who immediately announced that her Dutch was very poor, because she came from Spain but her friendliness largely compensated. The staff was very kind (e.g. when they ran through the explanation of how to operate the shower): remember to make sure you really close the doors completely by using some force or nothing happens (so you do not flood the room).

The breakfast is fine but although the web site mentions "grab anything you like", I couldn't get a second fruit juice, which is a bit sad if -as me- you only drink juice in the morning. My neighbor however was offered as many cappuccinos as he liked: in my case a 2 drinks policy would be me more fair than charging extra (above the €10,95 for breakfast) someone who doesn't like coffee/tea.
In general, staying in CitizenM is an other experience than the standard hotel thanks to some nice touches and well worked out ideas, so thumbs up.

Room Tip: Book your breakfast when you check in (€10,95) rather that the day itself (€13,95)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    1,427
    290
    81
    49
See reviews for
209
2,079
334
855
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Citizen M was a very unique experience that both me and my husband enjoyed. The staff was incredibly friendly. After checking in at a computer kiosk, I forgot my iPad as I was walking to the elevator. One of the staff members flagged me down and brought it to me! Incredibly honest and very well appreciated. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for girls' weekend. Booked a double room for myself and it was very comfortable but I don't think I'd have liked it so much if I was sharing- even with my husband! The shower and toilet are in pods (for want of a better word) in the body of the bedroom and although there was a curtain I don't think I'd have been happy. Toilet privacy is sacred lol. That said the hotel is spotless clean, the bed is very comfortable, the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and the location is very good too - a quiet residential area but right next to Amsterdam South railway station and right next to the stop for tram 5 straight into the centre. I really liked it and would recommend it - so long as you bear in mind the toilet situation !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank she1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was a last minute decision to spend a short break in Amsterdam and I chose the Citizen M because of the great reviews and the price. I didn't regret it. The hotel is easy to find from the station and only 5 minutes walk. I was worried about the check in process being done by me at the computer but there was no need to worry. There is always someone there to guide you through what is a really simple process and quite fun. The screen offered me a garden view room, recommended by my helper from the hotel team. You then activate your room card, found in a tray by the machine and incidentally where you leave your room card when you check out, ready for the next guest. The lifts are easy to find along with the stairs. The stairs are very steep so beware! Make a considered choice when deciding to take breakfast at the hotel. Contrary to the advice give by the hotel, what would you really expect them to say, there are places within a 5 minute walk to grab breakfast. Either go back to the train station and walk through to the other side of the tracks or turn right out of the hotel and walk straight down to the main road, cross over and you will find beans and bagels which receives great reviews on trip advisor. Taking nothing away from the breakfast at the hotel, which is great and the vibe in the communal areas of the hotel is good no matter what time of day, but this gives you a more informed choice from one who only found all of both the breakfast and lunch/ dinner options the day I was leaving! So, to the room, lovely and clean and just as seen on the website. A few things you may find helpful. The remote that controls all the functions in the room doesn't always connect with the charger when in the cradle. When I arrived my remote had a low battery. When you put it in the cradle check that the red light comes on. The shower is great and roomy no bruised elbows and the water was always lovely and hot. The water won't flow unless both doors are shut, so no danger of any floods. Bed was comfy, free wifi worked with no hitches. Good selection of different languages on the tv. About the only improvement for me would be an ipod/ smart phone dock with a clock. The only clock in the room is on the tv and isn't illuminated when the tv is off. The mood lighting was fun but only changes over the shower and toilet not the whole room and you can't isolate those lights from the lights over the bed but you can dim the lights so they don't have to be full on or off. After staying 3 nights, the shower cubicle starts to take up a lot of space within the room, don't think I could have lived with it for more than my 3 nights. There is a mixture of guests both for business and pleasure. In all I would highly recommend. Check out the restaurants the other side of the railway station, which includes a Wagamama amongst many others. The hotel isn't quite as lost in a leafy suburb as you may think.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Although the hotel is slightly further away from the centre than other hotels, its still easily reachable on the tram and I'd thoroughly recommend it. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they went above and beyond when they found out I was staying for my birthday. Be advised the toilet and shower are in the middle of the room so if you're not too comfortable with the person you're staying with probably not the best choice!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you want to stay at the airport Sheraton, you'll need to take out a second mortgage, but if you just need a clean, safe, convenient place to stay near the airport, this will do just fine - just be prepared - it isn't your grandfather's hotel! The concept is good and fun, but I did feel like the hotel room was smarter than me - figuring out the lights, TV, AC, etc was a bit more than I wanted to deal with at the end of the day. I set the alarm on the handset and was shocked the next morning when all the lights went on and a woman's voice started counting. Reminded me of when my mother would do that to get me out of bed when I was a kid. Much less disturbing to have bells and whistles going off. Consider yourself warned. The shower is great, the toilet circle not so much, but you can pull the curtain. The bed was really comfortable - kind of like a crib at the end of the room - and I slept really great, until that woman started counting...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattletravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was first introduced to citizenM staying at their London property. Loved the concept of a spotlessly clean room, huge bed and all the modern technology a traveler could want/need. The size of the room and the way it is arranged is perfect for a single traveler -- more difficult if you're with a friend or someone you're not particularly intimate with.

I just finished a stay at the Amsterdam City property and was equally impressed. The location makes it very easy to both get to the hotel from the airport and to get into the city via tram. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

Definitely would stay again at this property or any of their others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnicklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and citizenM Operations Holding BV so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing