We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“room at CitizenM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“room at CitizenM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed last weekend 10yr wedding anniversary best hotel i have stayed in :) not for the shy tho ,loved the lay out of room ,yes they are small rooms but i did read reviews before booking so i did know what to expect ,i gave them 9 out of 10 the only criticism was no tea/coffee making facilities in room ,definately will stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsp1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,491
    305
    85
    53
See reviews for
226
2,191
351
915
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice neat, & compact little hotel with a futuristic feel. Staff are very friendly & helpful & the free maps provided was very welcome (compared to paying ?2.50 from iamsterdam tourist office at Amsterdam Centraal).

A little far from the city centre (about 20 mins tram ride) but not too bad in my opinion as its still in a nice, quaint little neighbourhood

That said, Wifi is painfully slow (I couldn't upload my instagram photos despite numerous attempts) and food is criminally overpriced. We purchased the daily breakfast for ?10/day/pax when we arrived & now wholeheartedly regret it

Helpful?
Thank SuyinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

CitizenM is a very contemporary hotel - small room, small bathroom and small price for Amsterdam. The room is clean but the bathroom/shower stall needs a little maintenance. The shower area is a round area enclosed in a transparent acrylic shower door. You can draw a curtain between the shower area and the bed for privacy. The bed is slightly elevated and you have to climb over to get on top of the mattress. (Not for the physically challenged). The hotel is walking distance from the train and metro station and also the local tram station stop is right in the corner of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the lobby is equipped with 3 iMacs for guests and a printer if you'd like to printout your boarding pass. You can purchase sandwiches, breakfast items and snacks in the dining room area. The lobby is well equipped with couches, tables and chairs. Overall - good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff was perfect, the location also, and incredible facilities, the room all controlled by remote control, with a very crazy lighting. I felt at home. Perfect place to make new friends for sure my next stay in Amsterdam will be there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teka12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friends and I recently stayed here for a few nights. It is impossible not to love this hotel. Will definitely visit again.

In general, it is very clean and modern, with lots cool, querky furniture, which looks intimidating, but is surprisingly comfortable! The staff and very friendly and helpful from the moment you walk in. Not in the slightest bit pushy. Check-in and -out was made easy and simple by the little electronic machines.
If you're checking this hotel out and see that the bed is the width of the whole room, you might be a little concerned. In fact, the beds are that huge that they span the entire width of the room (and incidentally are the comfiest beds I've ever slept on). The features of the room themselves are so cool. Mood-lighting, free movies, etc, but I'm sure you've already know all that. The shower is also very nice.
However. Although the glass separating the toilet from the room is frosted, the shower glass is not and there is only a shower curtain to hide your naughty bits from any other occupant of the room. So if you share a room, you'd better be pretty comfortable with the other person. Or you could just have a room to yourself. I did. The price is so affordable, anything is possible!
The location is not exactly central, but this is not a bad thing. Amsterdam-Zuid is a quieter part of town; no red lights (unless you get creative with the mood lighting), but it is still a pretty cool, interesting area. Right in between Central Amsterdam and Schipol Airport, the hotel is just a short tram ride from both.
The hotel serves a good selection of food and drink 24 hours a day, which (if you're cheapskate Brit like me) might initially seem a little expensive. But trust me, compared to the rest of Amsterdam, the food and drink is reasonably priced. If you want to eat out, but are too lazy to catch the tram, there are plenty of nice restaurants in the surrounding area. Particularly if you like Argentinian or Indonesian food.
For whatever reason you come to Amsterdam, you should definitely consider staying at CitizenM. For such a nice hotel, you can't beat it in terms of price. And fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are well designed, with a big bed beside the window and two cylindrical glass room for bath and for toilet inside. And customers can change the light colour in bathroom, which makes the showering more relaxing. The hotel is quite near to the airport but one doesn't need to worry about his sleeping quality because he can barely hear planes nor traffic noise. But if you want to go to city center. You would have to take a train or bus and it will at least cost u 20 mins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My husbend and I stayed in August for our aniversery, it was amazing! The room is small though has a smart use of space.
The rain shawer is amazing.
The stuff is attentive and lovely.
Overall a fun stay, and we will definatlly revisit in out next Amsteram trip.

Helpful?
Thank hrinat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing