We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place reasonable price”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #44 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with my son for one night before we had to fly home to Canada. I wish I stayed a few more nights. It's right on the tram line to downtown, and a 7 min ride to the airport. Great little rooms with some tech lover features. Free WiFi (with decent speed), free TV and movies on demand. Very unique and clean. I'd recommend or stay at a CitizenM again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same from what I know. We stayed East facing so the sun shines in ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,079 of 4,916 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had a layover from my flight from Zuerich to San Francisco at Shipol / Amsterdam.
I booked a Hotel (citizenM) online.
I expected not so much, because it was kind of cheap.
Out of the airport I thought I have to take a shuttle to the hotel, but I could not find one ... then I looked around if I could see the hotel and YES in walking distance ... just right of the airport (looking away from the airport).
It is a 4min walk ... a self check-in and when you go to the room, it looks like a Kaserne, room and room ... but great colours. I was super-surprised of the room and the design.
Super compfy, the bed at the end of the room is a platform (a little bit higher then expected) and I think harder to get on, if you have knee problems, or if you can not move that good anymore.
But great room, with unique washroom and shower glassrooms :-)
If I have a layover ever again ... my first choice

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bernhard190566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As per the other reviews, great hotel, bit quirky and would definitely go back. Ideally placed for the RAI, only 5 mins walk through the park, but 10 mins from the centre of town by cab. Not sure I'd stay here if you want to be in the centre of town or for a romantic weekend, however if you're there on business it's ideal. Bit pricier than some but much better than the usual set of corporate options!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hip59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A part of the location that is quite good (close to the train and tram station) the rest didn't make me satisfied, everything was self service included the check in, the room was very very small without potable water (usually hotels provide 2 bottles per day) and also hasn't been made up properly during all our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anto876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in citizenM for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Situated just a 15min tram ride from Amsterdam city centre, the hotel boasts a clean, modern feel with the friendliest most helpful staff I've encountered in a long time. 24 hour small canteen-style eating area with a bar in the centre, free wifi and use of computers, lounging areas throughout. The rooms are quirky with the shower cubicle in the centre of the room which might be uncomfortable for some but a curtain pulls the whole way around for privacy. Air-con is fantastic and was a god-send in the mid July heat. All in all a great experience, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahGainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Starting from the automated check in & out screens up to the contemporary designs it deserves my FULL mark, you will have a strange feeling just when you enter your cabin (or as they called -Room-) I was surprised with the art of accommodating the shower and the toilet in glass tubes just in the middle of the cabin, The comfy 2x2 meters bed was always seducing me to have a nap, the remote control manages the lighting, A/C, shades and alarm centrally was so cool.

For 1-2 days (NO more) this airport hotel would be your best deal ever.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrived on a one day business trip, the room is very quirky and spotlessly clean. The bed is spacious and super comfy, every TV channel you need. Fast internet without all the normal hassle you have logging on to the hotel WiFi. 2 mins away is a Tramstop for Tram No.5 which will take you all the way to the central station in approx 15 mins. 5 mins walk away is a little shopping area with some nice boutique shops and restaurants.
Check in is very easy with the friendly receptionists and there are some nice breakfast options. This hotel chain seem to have thought through exactly what the traveller needs for a short break.
I normally go to 2-3 hotels a week and I will definately be returning to this one. The only downside is parking outside the hotel is 18 Euros for the day but free after 1800.

Room Tip: Stayed on the fifth floor backing on to the garden which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 374 in Amsterdam
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $120 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing