We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic place reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with my son for one night before we had to fly home to Canada. I wish I stayed a few more nights. It's right on the tram line to downtown, and a 7 min ride to the airport. Great little rooms with some tech lover features. Free WiFi (with decent speed), free TV and movies on demand. Very unique and clean. I'd recommend or stay at a CitizenM again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same from what I know. We stayed East facing so the sun shines in ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,349
    1,463
    298
    84
    50
See reviews for
221
2,148
343
886
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had a layover from my flight from Zuerich to San Francisco at Shipol / Amsterdam.
I booked a Hotel (citizenM) online.
I expected not so much, because it was kind of cheap.
Out of the airport I thought I have to take a shuttle to the hotel, but I could not find one ... then I looked around if I could see the hotel and YES in walking distance ... just right of the airport (looking away from the airport).
It is a 4min walk ... a self check-in and when you go to the room, it looks like a Kaserne, room and room ... but great colours. I was super-surprised of the room and the design.
Super compfy, the bed at the end of the room is a platform (a little bit higher then expected) and I think harder to get on, if you have knee problems, or if you can not move that good anymore.
But great room, with unique washroom and shower glassrooms :-)
If I have a layover ever again ... my first choice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard190566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As per the other reviews, great hotel, bit quirky and would definitely go back. Ideally placed for the RAI, only 5 mins walk through the park, but 10 mins from the centre of town by cab. Not sure I'd stay here if you want to be in the centre of town or for a romantic weekend, however if you're there on business it's ideal. Bit pricier than some but much better than the usual set of corporate options!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hip59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A part of the location that is quite good (close to the train and tram station) the rest didn't make me satisfied, everything was self service included the check in, the room was very very small without potable water (usually hotels provide 2 bottles per day) and also hasn't been made up properly during all our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anto876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in citizenM for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Situated just a 15min tram ride from Amsterdam city centre, the hotel boasts a clean, modern feel with the friendliest most helpful staff I've encountered in a long time. 24 hour small canteen-style eating area with a bar in the centre, free wifi and use of computers, lounging areas throughout. The rooms are quirky with the shower cubicle in the centre of the room which might be uncomfortable for some but a curtain pulls the whole way around for privacy. Air-con is fantastic and was a god-send in the mid July heat. All in all a great experience, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahGainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Starting from the automated check in & out screens up to the contemporary designs it deserves my FULL mark, you will have a strange feeling just when you enter your cabin (or as they called -Room-) I was surprised with the art of accommodating the shower and the toilet in glass tubes just in the middle of the cabin, The comfy 2x2 meters bed was always seducing me to have a nap, the remote control manages the lighting, A/C, shades and alarm centrally was so cool.

For 1-2 days (NO more) this airport hotel would be your best deal ever.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrived on a one day business trip, the room is very quirky and spotlessly clean. The bed is spacious and super comfy, every TV channel you need. Fast internet without all the normal hassle you have logging on to the hotel WiFi. 2 mins away is a Tramstop for Tram No.5 which will take you all the way to the central station in approx 15 mins. 5 mins walk away is a little shopping area with some nice boutique shops and restaurants.
Check in is very easy with the friendly receptionists and there are some nice breakfast options. This hotel chain seem to have thought through exactly what the traveller needs for a short break.
I normally go to 2-3 hotels a week and I will definately be returning to this one. The only downside is parking outside the hotel is 18 Euros for the day but free after 1800.

Room Tip: Stayed on the fifth floor backing on to the garden which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#19 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#41 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing