We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airport Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #36 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Airport Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Airport hotels are usually usually painful but necessary experiences, but I’d visit this one even without a flight to catch.
Communal areas are well designed and a pleasure to hang out in. Service is excellent and the room gets top marks from me. Clean, exciting, totally soundproofed from the airport and TINY, but well designed! Everything has a place, nothing gets in your way and nothing sits around looking awkward or untidy, a rare and huge relief when you are in transit!!
I’ve stayed in many “design” hotels and as a designer now usually give this genre a wide birth as it tends to mean bland and overpriced but I find this the exception.

We paid around 95e, considering the size of the room and distance from town the price is fair.

Oh yeah, free Movies in the Room, all airport hotels should have them!

Room Tip: If you go for airport view... which is maybe more interesting than “city” view since its nowhere nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,495
    1,537
    315
    85
    54
See reviews for
232
2,270
360
947
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is definitely not a standard hotel. Hard to tell who exactly it was designed for, but it is definitely wonderful in some respects and frustrating in others. The location is great or awful depending on who you are- if you're going the the convention center, it's right down the street. De Pijp, a nice area, is not THAT far but not close. If you want to spend time in Downtown Amsterdam, you're in for a trek on the tram.
The lobby is great - wonderful chairs, multiple TVs and couches, lots of light, a 24-hour bar (which was decent) and pantry-type market. We enjoyed sitting there late at night and watching TV with our drinks in mid-century modern (but comfy) chairs.
The rooms are tiny but comfy enough for their size- about half of the living space is comprised of a great, oversized platform bed. The rest is mostly two giant capsules- the toilet (opaque but not totally) and the clear shower. Even with my fiance I felt sort of embarrassed when I went to the bathroom or took a shower in the room, so I would definitely have problems with this hotel if I were traveling with a friend. Also, the lights, TV, window shades, and basically everything was controlled by a single remote that barely ever worked properly. Took us many tries to get TV to stay off, close shades, and we're fairly tech-savvy in the real world.
When cost is factored in, though, it starts to seem like a better idea - we paid much less to stay here than other Amsterdam hotels, all 4 or 5 stars, and this felt slightly, but not much, less comfortable than those other places.

PS Don't be fooled by their "skype-type phone rates" we made one call to book tickets to a local concert and it cost like 5 euros. Definitely NOT skype rates.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem to be tiny and it's in the middle of nowhere, so just choose elsewhere if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very stylish and convenient hotel. Breakfast was awesome. Lobby area was very attractive. You get free wi-fi which a plus point. But on high season this becomes too expensive and scores low on value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dipantalukdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is an award winning hotel for its trendy and innovative style and concept. Everything was great, from the very efficient self-service check in process, the very stylish (if not quirky) lobby area, to the small but very high tech and intelligent-designed rooms.
Loved the wall to wall bed by the window and the abstract cuddly toy that comes with the room (yours to keep for 20 Euros). We had great fun playing with the remote control that controls the ambiance lighting through a touchscreen. The quality of the toiletries is very good, room was spotless.
Caution! The glass pod style toilet and shower look great and are a very clever use of limited space but might not be to everyone's liking. If you are not that intimate with your travel companion, it can be awkward. Thankfully, we had no issues with this concept
The hotel has a Starbucks-style snack bar on the ground floor that offers good quality food but it is a bit pricey
The hotel is located just opposite the World Trade Centre and Amsterdam Zuid station (a 15 min ride from Schiphol). There is a tram stop just next to the hotel, where you can catch no. 5 that passes very regularly and travels past the museums and the city centre before it terminates at Centraal station. Very convenient!
The area around the hotel is mainly residential and very quiet. There are restaurants and shops down the road, towards the city centre, as well as next to the World Trade Centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent a night at the Citizen M hotel in Amsterdam last week and wow simply amazing sums it up pretty well. Rooms are exceptional, ultra chic and cool. The downstairs are is likewise. It's not central and is a good tram ride from the centre (20 mins) but worth it. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel, which goes past the Van Gogh, Steidelijk and Rijksmuseum, and it couldn't be easier to get about, plus you get the added benefit of being away from the hustle, bustle and noise of the centre. Great little bar just down from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RnA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the start or July and was expecting great things after recently staying in the CitizenM in London. It still had the same idea behind it and it all has a very warm and welcoming feel. The hotel was slightly disappointing as the room was extremely hot all of the time, and not being able to open up a window in the room made this quite uncomfortable. There was also no fridge available in the room which was quite annoying. The breakfast offered was nice and very similar to most breakfasts in other hotels in Europe. If you don't mind being in a small room and don't care much for privacy from the person you are staying with, this hotel is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Staying in Amsterdam just for one night, I was kindly welcomed like at home in this modern and design hotel located in a pleasant area close to Beatrix Park and Beethovenstraat.
The room, maybe a little bit small, was very modern, very clean and the king size bed was excellent.
The breakfast was good, with fresh baked bread and a wonderful coffee.
The members of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The check in and out procedures were very fast.
In conclusion, a very good first experience. I'll recommand this nice hotel and I'll come again, when staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamytoubiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing