We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brugg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely recommended”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice and good hotel. 3min walk from rail station Zuid. 12min walk to the convention center RAI via the Beatrice Park. Very nice walk to the RAI, but be careful of bike drivers! They have their own lanes, but you have to cross them several times. The hotel itself is very inspiring. This is due to the design and very friendly staff. It's a combination of business, design, attitude of staff and visitors which makes yourself feel comfortable. It deserves it's name. Absolutey recommended! Suitable for business and leisure.

Room Tip: Rooms to the park are absolutely noiseless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_egger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,527
    1,557
    319
    86
    58
See reviews for
235
2,295
366
966
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The concept behind this hotel is very nice. It is a modern, innovative and nononsense hotel. Rooms are cool but not big. All facilities are present and the beds are nice. Breakfast is served 27/4 and can just be grabbed from the selves near the bar. If you want to have a confortable new modern hotel this definetely the place to be. It is a bit far from the city centre(damrak) by foot but it is manageable. Public transportation is also very nearby! Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargitvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff, overall good experience. Easy access to the train station and tram station to either Amsterdam Centraal or Schiphol airport. Efficient room layout, good bed. Hotel located in a business area of Amsterdam, so surroundings are clean but not rural.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I generally avoid hotels and stay in guesthouses and B&Bs. This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel I did not want to leave. Very well situated if you are attending a conference at RAI, close to Schiphol and in a quiet street, this hotel is ideal and very well priced too. You are close to Beatrix Park, if you feel like a stroll or a run. Loved the efficient use of space and the layout of the room - want to copy it in my own home.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, and I liked the various lounges downstairs and all the books available. definitely am a CitizenM fan. Only problem is Paris hotel won't be available for me in October.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We used to live in Amsterdam and as we're now living abroad it's a nice experience to have mini vacations in your 'own' town. Citizen M is a cool hotel, very closely located to Station Zuid/WTC. If you want to go downtown take the tram which stops in front of the hotel, use a bike or take a taxi. Apart from some restaurant within walking distance at De Zuidas business district, not much to do in this area.

The room is, well... different. The bed is wall to wall in the back of the room and the cylinder shaped shower and toilet are in the middle of the room. Very efficient use of space. With a remote you can control all the gizmos in the room. Self service buffet breakfast. Staff is young, very helpful and international. We didn't meet a single Dutch employee.

The lobby is cool designed with the full Herman Miller collection on display and open 24/7.

The price of the rooms fluctuates extremely, depending on availability and big congresses in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catbert1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved our stay at Citizen M. The location is great - less than 10 mins from the airport by train and 15 mins to central station by tram. Highly recommend hiring a bike and its an easy 10 minute ride to the museums. It is really nice and quiet to - really glad that we were not in the centre. The rooms are really well planned and high tech chic. The control pad adjusts lights, blinds, TV etc. Nice touch. The breakfast is good and I would recommend trying it at least one morning. Don't know what more to say except, we will look up these hotels if we stay in a city that they serve.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. You can choose between the street and teh garden side - street side are brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turngraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I went here for a conference at RAI Amsterdam, and for that purpose the hotel is a very good choice. It's basically within walking distance across a park, or a short bus ride away. Otherwise, you can take a tram into the city, but bear in mind that the hotel is not centrally located (getting to central Amstedam would take you about 20-25 minutes), and the surrounding area is quite dull. Not many restaurants nearby, for instance. The hotel operates a bit on a self-serve basis (there's no real restaurant, more like a canteen where you can buy salads, drinks, or meals to heat in the microwave). But, on the other hand it's open 24/7 (including the bar) and the staff is great. Perfect and friendly service - couldn't be better. The lobby/"living room area" is cool and quirky in the same way as the rest of the hotel. Small details where they try to make it stand out a bit.

I stayed in their "mood pad" room and it was quite different. The room is very fresh and modern, featured a massive and comfortable bed and high-tech gizmos such as the tv/remote set by which you were supposed to control everything in the room, from temperature to window blinds and the ambience of the room. It also has a very unusual layout - the shower is a glass "cylinder" next to the bed, and the toilet is another one. And the room is quite small. Be sure to check their website for images... Also, cleaning could be better as I noticed after coming back to the room. And, some annoyances: the high-tech room control frequently stopped responding and needed to "reboot", and the free wi-fi was very sketchy. Worked fine in the lobby though... So, some small annoyances but overall, quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#39 of 364 in Amsterdam
385 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing