We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with friendly staff. A bit far out in more way than one.”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #36 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,646
    1,648
    326
    91
    60
See reviews for
254
2,409
381
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Järvenpää, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've been one night in this hotel . Everything is really modern and futuristic . I just have to point out the really poor privacy in the room facilities . Sleeping area and shower /toilet are shared with just a light courtain to divide the areas .
The bed is confortable and really big .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

CitizenM is an amazing hotel!The rooms are fantastic - the beds are huge and very comfy, and the rain shower is to die for after a days sight seeing. The only downside for me was that there is no wardrobe, just a little space to hang 3 items.

For the price, this hotel really is awesome.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The location is in a great area, and not too far to walk in to central Amsterdam.

The nearest sation is Amsterdam Zuid, which is just behind the hotel and only 6 mins from the airport by train, or 15 mins on a bus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Easy Going, Friendly, Great Location a few tram stops from the city and a walk to the Mainline Station and express to Schipol Airport. Great furniture, Great Rooms, Great Bar nice friendly staff. Quirky, Designery but easy on the wallet. I would stay again no problem.

Room Tip: Al the room are the same I think.....You can walk from Amsterdam Zuid mainline station to the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is WEIRD. It's like a hostel for adults; business, pleasure and everything in between. First, the staff. WOW. From the moment you walk in its like they're welcoming you to their own home...and you actually feel at home too. I forgot my books, but found the lobby full of books to entertain me. No request was too much work for the staff, even my special coffee requests. It's not close to downtown,but you can take a tram very easily...OR WALK if your up to it :P The food isn't too great, but the cocktails and coffee are amazing. Conversation flows easy with the multicultural staff... Lets see if I get this right... Americans, Greeks, Dutch, Spanish, Nepal, polish, I think I even heard Yugoslavia! I wish I could remember the names because everyone was incredible... and ATTRACTIVE. How did they manage that? I almost wanted to take one home. Hell, if I owned a hotel I would try to steal them all.

Room Tip: city view, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter1979555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was a Citizen M virgin util my Amsterdam stay. My best description is "a hostel for adults". If you want to "hole-up" in a big spacious room, this isn't you place. If want to interact and feel part of a community Citizen M is for you. Everything worked, was well designed, and showed no age. The room was a bit small for four days. My work required full days and late dinners so it wasn't as much of an issue as I thought. The staff was the most helpful and happy of any I've encountered during my 4 weeks working throughout Europe.

Room Tip: All "cabins" are the same, quiet and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really modern hotel.
The room is not too big, but the bed is huge (as large as the room) and you can experience an innovative way to have the toilet and the shower directly in the room.
With a remote control you can choose the music and the light color.
The bar at the lobby serves excellent belgian beer!
The room was really clean.
But I will not suggest this kind of room for more than 1 person, there is not so much privacy.. and no wardrobe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing