We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 night stay here.”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #36 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great 2 night stay here.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Let's start with the bad :
Room could've been a tad warmer.
Remote wasn't as quick and responsive as I would've liked.
Don't think it was mentioned that city tax was going to be added, although still good value and should've expected it.

The good, however far outweighed the bad. Me and my girlfriend stayed here in the first week of Feb 2013 for 2 nights. From schipol airport, there was a 5 min train journey to Zuid station. The hotel is just around the corner from here. And dam central a further 10-15 tram journey, which are frequent and value for money as you can get an unlimited tram/bus/train pass for 48 hours for 12 euros. Some people might see the fact that it's not in dam central as a drawback, but we enjoyed the journey on the tram as we got to see much more of Amsterdam.

Now to the hotel... It was very quirky. Sleek and modern was the atmosphere. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. Ask one of them to give you a map and point out places to go and things to see. One place recommended to us was our favourite place to chill throughout the stay. The lobby area had food, televisions and sofas, study/creative areas and a computer section with iMacs which we used.

The room was compact. The toilet and shower pods were an interesting concept. The 2 different shower gels (one for am and pm) smelt amazing. I regret not buying them at the reception. There wasn't much storage, but was not necessary for a short stay. However the bed made us feel like dwarfs as it was a spacious 2m x 2m with warm covers. There are free movies on demand, of which 2 we watched. The remote pretty much dictated the room functions, mood lighting which was very cool, tv, temperature and the blinds. Would love one of these in my future home but just a bit more responsive.

Overall I would say this is a perfect short stop headrest for couples, putting into consideration the price and ambience etc. Would take a great offer in another hotel to stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,646
    1,648
    326
    91
    60
See reviews for
254
2,409
381
1,011
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My stay was a complete disaster. The room was cold (they pretended that was 21.3, but my Suunto watch doesn't lie, it was 19). The shower didn't work. They made lots of mistakes in the invoice, we had to change the keys 4 times, nobody helped in the moving when we change rooms (finally) ... A complete disaster ...
The shower doesn't work if the door is not closed, therefore the mechanism breaks ... Also, it is not possible to stop the air condition because you cannot open the window ...
Only part of the service is kind, most of them are lofty and unprofessional ...

Room Tip: Don't be blinded with the nice entrance and the modern style ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EsteveAlmirall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi "EsteveAlmirall",

Your satisfaction is our goal and feel as disappointed as you, when we fall short, I apologise for the issues you had during your last stay.

Have welcomed you over a few times, I assume you are already familiar with our hotel and that we are open to communicate and improve ourselves. There is no excuse when the room temperature doesn't respond to your selection and desire or if the shower doesn't work as expected – they both must work at all times, flawless. I'm addressing these and the other issues you mentioned with our team to avoid from happening again.

citizenM was created to offer you king sized beds at affordable rates, with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and free inspiration.

If there is anything else we can do to improve your future stays, feel free contacting us directly.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I went here in September last year and had a great time, both of us had been to Amsterdam several times before and this hotel looked good value for money.

The staff were brilliant, they couldn't have been more friendly if they tried. The hotel design was modern and sleek, as were the rooms. I was slightly surprised about the odd moans on here about the room sizes, especially given there are photos of the rooms on the website and the chain clearly uses the modern compact design features as a selling point. The beds were massive and comfy, not a great deal of storage but for a short break adequate. It was great fun to play with all the different room features, lighting, blinds etc via the mood pad / remote, our only issue would be that ours stopped charger broke for ours so it stopped working, but I spoke to reception and they sorted it straight away for us. The shower and toilet in the room (and I mean LITERALLY in the room!) was very nice and an entertaining feature for us, however if your traveling with a friend and are particularly shy or have food poisoning you may not be keen on it, even if you use the sheer room dividing curtain! Frankly we couldn't care less but I guess it's down to individual tastes.

The hotel's located in the business district, about 15 minutes from the center on the tram. We didn't find this an issue at all, trams were cheap and frequent and it was quite fun to navigate our way around and see the sights on the way in to town.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah_sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is highly recommended. Its charm, lies in the fact that is very modern and very different to the many tired and shabby hotels you see everywhere. They have judged everything perfectly. I can't think of a single thing I'd want that they didn't have. Breakfast is self service and more than adequate. It's on the No 5 tram line and less than 15 minutes into Central Amsterdam. Also very near Amsterdam Zuid station which is very convenient for the airport. The bottom line is, - I'd go back any time and I'd recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUMPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

i was staying at another hotel. woke up at 2100 hrs, and wanted somewhere nice to eat at night. walked towards Amstrrdam City Center North thru the main train station South. Citizen M is just North of the train station a few blocks.

It looked very nice...warm, friendly and quite a few patrons. Lots of computers, books, and comfortable lounging spots. Colours are red and black and white. i liked the music: The young staff said it was indie pop/lounge music....it is their own playlist.

The staff is very friendly and cosmopoloitan....Jamaica, Yugoslavia, Greece, U.S., Spain, Portugal, etc. They spoke very good English, which is nice as my sister is our only family member that speaks Dutch.

A nice selection of packaged foods: Sushi, pasta, salad, fruit, beer, wine, cider, full bar, other drinks, sandwiches, soup, pastries, yogurt, etc. Wifi and computers. Quite a few patrons on a Thursday night.

Pricing was normal for Western Europe: 25€ for lasagna, soup, fruit and a beer (cider).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atpcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel a bit by accident as we didn't realise it wasn't in the city centre, however it was a blessing in disguise. It's about 10 minutes from the airport by train and 15 minutes to the city centre by tram, so the location is actually perfect. The modern decor is great, especially the cheeky picture by the elevators and the adorable bed bunnies, but the main thing I loved was the small touches. Super friendly staff, free uncomplicated wifi and free on demand movies were very welcome creature comforts after debautcherous nights in Dam!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alangdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was the first time I stayed at Citizen M, though I had been a guest at another design hotel in the Amsterdam Zuid - World Trade Center Area. Both hotels are in the same price range, but Citizen M clearly stood out as the better choice. If I were to choose one word to describe it, it would be vibe. The place is full of it, from little things like the self-check in, the inscriptions on the walls, and the communication and instructions inside the room (e.g. on the bar of soap) to the fantastic reception / bar / restaurant / lounge area downstairs and the rooms themselves. The staff was always friendly, the restaurant and bar had a decent selection of food, snacks (from sandwiches to sushi) and drinks (at reasonable prices for a design hotel in the Netherlands) and the lounge area was just a delight to relax or work in. There's a lot of good taste there in terms of decoration, with all sorts of things (ranging from classic furniture to plastic figures and books) that will surely delight the savvy traveler.

The rooms are indeed not big and can broken down to a cubicle with a very comfortable bed, a toilet and a shower (very neatly separated through some plastic tubes), as well as a sink and a table and chair. Though in essence most hotels with the same concept offer the same space and amenities, Citizen M stood out through the innovative usage of the space and especially the separation of toilet, sink and shower (in the other hotel in the vicinity all three are in the same open space so if you're travelling as a couple the room at Citizen M still gives you some privacy if you're keen on having it). Yet other pluses were the wall-wide window (other places sometime have very small if any windows at all) and the TV with free on-demand movies (to be fair, the movies weren't necessary the newest out there, but still they had a decent and again free collection). All the systems in the room (window, lighting, entertainment etc) are easily controlled via remote control.

For me Citizen M has become the to-go place for a short stay in Amsterdam, be it to catch an early flight to Schipol airport (only 10 minutes away by direct train), or to get some rest after an event at Amsterdam Arena (again, only 10 minutes away by direct train). Therefore, in relation to these areas, the location is perfect for me. However, if the center of Amsterdam is what you're looking for then you should be aware that it takes a bit to get there (roughly half an hour by metro). The area it's located is pretty residential aside from the World Trade Center and the train station where you can still find a selection of cafes, restaurant and an Albert Heijn supermarket.

In conclusion, I very much recommend Citizen M and plan to stay there soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPAC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing