We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel concept and perfect for a weekend away”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

As with the other reviewers, excellent funky hotel with those nice modern touches which are any tech geeks dream come true. The beds are amazing and so comfy, I really want one!!!

Location is quiet, about 15mins from centre of city on tram. Rooms perfect and quiet.

Staff are lovely and friendly and cannot do enough. The lounge spaces are great for chilling and having a few drinks in the evening.

A great wee touch was, I asked the barman if I could sample 1 red wine, he let me sample all 3, that was a magic touch and very grateful.

Breakfast options very good and overall a brilliant well thought out hotel concept.

Room Tip: They are all the same, no choice needed as all are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyTheWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,238 - 2,244 of 4,841 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I've just stayed at CitizenM for 2 nights and loved everything about it. The staff are great, so friendly and helpful. The room design is very modern and unusual - i loved the shower pod idea. Everything is controlled by 1 remote - room temperature, mood lighting, TV, blinds, alarm etc. The bed is huge and sooo comfortable, and I liked the coloured lighting.

There are so many little extras which make this place great - free phone calls, free internet, apple macs and printers in the lobby to use. Big sofas and armchairs to lounge around on with loads of books and TVs to watch.

About the canteen - The food is all prepacked, so going elsewhere to eat would be preferable, but its OK, really good cocktails and coffee are served, and its open 24 hours.

I really reccommend this hotel.

Thank mazambane
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Interesting concept. nice and clean and modern. great staff.
Quite far from centre but opposite a tram stop from centre so didnt matter at all.
breakfast not very interesting (yoghurt/croissant etc).
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie111111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay! Fun design and perfect for a weekend away with your partner. The hotel worked out very expensive considering breakfast wasn't included and the add city tax on as well!

Tram stop is perfectly located opposite the hotel and only a 15 min journey into the centre!

Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenjengill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel looks great, staff are easy-going and very friendly. Free-wifi, free use of macs in reception and free printing so great for business stays. Have used the hotel annualy for about four years and never had a problem. However, the "pod"-style rooms make long stays a bit clostrophobic and I'm not sure I'd want to share a room even with a partner. The room technology is slightly eratic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've enjoyed many trips to the fabulous city of Amsterdam, but staying at CitizenM on my most recent visit has ensured that I'll never stay anywhere else ever. To begin with, it's very affordable. Following that, it's insanely easy to reach from the airport as it's no further than a five-minute walk from Amsterdam Zud train station. The welcoming staff that await your arrival is something rarely experienced. They are not inconvenienced and situated behind a check-in desk, but are there alongside you, guiding you through your own check-in. I just loved the informality of it all which was equally matched by efficiency. The hotel is funky. The decor is exquisitely designed. The services are terrific, including a 24 hr food and drinks service, free wifi, cable TV and on demand films and free calls to anywhere from the room. The rooms have been designed with a no-fuss attitude but one can custom the ambience to taste via a nifty lighting system that can create the mood desired. This is not so much modern as 'post modern'. When enjoying the rain-shower there is a choice of shower gel, one to get you going or the other to wind you down, depending on your need. Both the shower unit and the toilet are housed in separate glass cubicles within the room creating a sense that you may be on a space shuttle. If you're sharing the room, you'll have a wonderful time. If not, there's a little bunny rabbit on the bed to cuddle with as you slumber. There's a really nice ambience in the hotel lobby which makes chilling out there all the more pleasurable. The staff are extraordinarily friendly and will assist you when necessary or just engage in friendly chat. For my wonderful stay here, I compliment the staff, their manager and the wonderful minds that created this wonderful hospitality option. I have no hesitation in recommending it very highly.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same. They are all completely sound-proof and I doubt that the view from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my fiancée for one night, after we returned from a trip to the interior of Holland. It's not at the Hub of Amsterdam, but a train will bring you to all the touristy spots in no time. Besides, the hotel looks brand new and its style brings a lot of glamour to the experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdBezerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 372 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#45 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 372 in Amsterdam
648 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $129 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing