We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unconventional and forward thinking design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unconventional and forward thinking design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for couple of days with wife. Simply saying, the hotel is designed to be unconventional in every single aspect and executed with truly quirky style. The toilet and shower design has got to be their signature and challenges your perception of a hotel. Good place to stay if you are looking for inspiration and/or rejuvenate your creative thinking. The incorporation of mood lighting and integrated room control is an excellent forward applications of technology.

Fundamentally, the hotel staff were very accommodating. Even though the location is slightly outside of the central city, the surroundings were very safe and convenient, with a tram station just a stone's throw away from the lobby.

If I were able to interpret this hotel as a car, citizenM is like a Spyker. Other hotels are more like a Toyota Corolla. Look it up in YouTube if you want to know what I mean.

Room Tip: take the one facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izizwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,342
    1,459
    298
    84
    50
See reviews for
221
2,145
342
883
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I spent 2 nights here. The most friendly service (thank you Sally and Panos!) Very good location. Situated right next to a tram stop and Station Zuid. From there you are 10 minutes away from the center and Schipol. I prefer it to being in the center as it is quieter.

The rooms are very fun. I have never had a more comfortable bed. Very clean. Maybe slightly small if you are sharing. Everywhere is modern and I would say it looks great.

The rates are very reasonable for what you get. Thank you for a great stay I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are hostel type aspects to this hotel but it is not a cheap place to stay, and while the rooms are not large, they are comfortable and good to hang out in. The bed is huge and the shower/toilet privacy issues are not as bad as other reviewers suggest as they are curtained off from the sleeping area, but have v.little sound proofing. The rooms are pod-like and thoughtful in their design; there seems to be no storage space but look further and it's cleverly hidden - behind the mirror, under the sink, beneath the bed. The public areas are very comfortable and have a relaxed atmosphere; more like a modern hostel than a hotel - funky furniture, flat-screen TVs, glossy coffee table books on fashion and travel, mood-lit bar, free wi-fi, expensive beer; breakfast's extra but served by friendly staff. In fact all the staff are bright young people ready to help with the computer check-in, and helpful with any query.

The location is good in terms of access to transport and airport but if you like walking it's just about 15 minutes too far from the centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avagabond52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am a hotelier and just checked in this hotel. The rules and the way that they rule you is very rude. My company made the reservation and sent the credit card for payment, but they asked me to pay. If not they wont give you the kees. Come on we have 4 rooms which will stay for 1 week... Why didnt you warn my company if you need anything else. What if i didnt have the enough cash with me? Reservation team failed very bad!!!

They are like robot or like computer program. I think an artificiel intelligence software is managing this hotel. No soul. No feeling. Only rules. Like a military camp. If you try to complain they change the contact and start over...

About the rooms;
- No reception, no belboy, very small rooms only 14 sqm, - no water to drink, no tea or coffee, no minibar, no wardrobe, - you cannot access the window because of the bed, you have to be very talented to turn on the shower, you have to close it very hard otherwise it doesnt work, no slippers, no bathrobe, only shampoo. There was hair in the toilet!

Very big dissapointment. I will never stay in any other citizenm hotel. And i dont advise this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nogayhan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi "nogayhan75",

Reading your review it comes down that you didn't appreciate the way we dealt with a payment issue during check-in and that you disliked our hotel and concept, which I take the opportunity to respond.

When reservations are made online, a credit card is required to guarantee a reservation, it's clearly stated that rooms are not prepaid and guests must pay at check-in using own card. By contacting us or simply visiting our website, we offer an option to pre-pay all bookings online prior arriving the hotel in a secured way. Assuming that giving a credit card with your booking is a proof of payment is a very silly statement coming from a fellow hotelier.

As you mentioned, there is no traditional reception desk here, no bell-boy, piano man nor marble fountains. citizenM was not built for other hoteliers as most of them are trapped in the rules of gravity of the 90’s. Instead, we started with a clean paper sheet and designed a hotel for the modern traveller, those who has an eye on value and the other on luxury. Travellers in 2013 appreciate staying in a room that is smart in size, and technology, not interested in a huge outdated room with layers of curtains, unhygienic carpet and a trouser-press . Instead, we offer a comfy XL king-size bed covered with luxurious Egyptian cotton linen, power rain shower, free-fast-reliable Wi-Fi, free movies on demand, Skype phone rates, 24/7 food & beverage outlet, a lobby that is not a lobby, but living spaces where people lounge and work are features travellers are after in 2013.

I wish you fantastic experiences on your travels.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent hotel. Extremely modern and unique but still retaining a high level of comfort in the rooms. Free Wi-Fi and movies in all rooms and the staff there were the friendliest I have encountered in the Netherlands. 15 minutes to the city on the tram and only five minutes from the airport by train. Perfect location. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anoeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have stayed here three times, and will come back every chance I get.Superb service and no mess no fuss value for money. Small rooms are not a problem due to excellent design. The communal spaces are also very well considered and it is easy to get close to both a train station and the tram line.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notsosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Funky, modern hotel. Close to the airport by train and an easy 5-10 minute tram ride to all of the sights and museums in central Amsterdam. The tram leaves just around the corner. The wifi was being upgraded while we were staying so it was running a bit slow but everything else was exceptional - friendly helpful staff, big comfortable bed, good coffee, free movies and a remote control to operate everything in your room which will keep your boyfriend/hubby entertained for hours! Only downside is the slightly overpriced food/beverages (small bottle of water euro 3.95).
Would stay again (kiwi couple).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nztikitour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam Hotel
Element Amsterdam Hotel
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing