We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best design Hotel”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best design Hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoyed everything. This is a great hotel to stay in Amsterdam and it has a cool design as well. The room is awesome, it has a very big and comfy bed. You can control everything in the room with the remote and the mood pad can give you the perfect lighting set, either for sleep, reading or just for a romantic night. Free movies and international calls in the room. Free wifi is good but you can use one of the 4 mac pc's they have. The Hotel has everything you need nearby and their selection of food and beverages is great. The tram 5 that takes you to central Amsterdam is at 100 meters and the train that connects with the airport is only 300 meters. The Hotel is situated in a good neighborhood and its very calm at night. If you check in 3 times at the Hotel using Foursquare you can get a free drink. The ambassadors (staff) are very friendly and eagerly to help. One big hug to the ambassador Marco. The self check in and check out is very easy and you can keep your room card for future stays. The Hotel also provides free Amsterdam maps and the selection of merchandising is very appealing. This is the perfect Hotel for anybody that wants a different experience and have some luxury by a good price.

Room Tip: If you check in 3 times at the Hotel using Foursquare you can get a free drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,560
    1,591
    321
    87
    58
See reviews for
240
2,338
369
982
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are tiny -- one extra large bed + just enough room for shower & toilet, etc. ... BUT , wonderful public living rooms, bar, small meal service, breakfast . The staff is extra friendly and helpful , and one is just across the street from the airport .. We really liked this place a lot -- best for a one night stand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
León
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent hotel in every aspect, at a stone's throw from the train station connecting Amsterdam with Schiphol airport. The room was comfortable, though the shower and the toilet in the middle of it, well it was a whole new concept! (Not particularly appealing if you're travelling with company) Nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartasawhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringerike, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is funky and great in many ways. Staff are friendly, the reception area has it's very own buzz, and the ambience is good.
The room is a bit sterile, ut it's just a box with a loo and shower in it. I like the layout, and think many places could be designed the same way, but the bed was too hard for me. Not "unable to sleep" hard, but on a scale from 1-3 where 1 is great and 3 is a disaster, it was a 2.
Ok, and apart from that, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The decor came as a surprise to me at first but I really came to appreciate the entire hotel - from my room right down to the breakfast arrangement. The room felt a bit chilly and I had to turn up the heating to its max, but after that it was fine.

The entire staff - from cleaning to front desk reception - were extremely service oriented and I felt welcomed and at "home" straight away. If I was to buy e hotel - not very likely though, but still - this is where I would go looking for staff .. excellent hotel and even more excellent staff.

Room Tip: I had a double room on the 4th floor facing the WTC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHM_Aalborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is quite modern. The decoration is outstanding if you like the modern style. The rooms are small but functional. Open toilet and shower in the room, closing only with sliding glass doors. You can control everything in the room with a remote control (including ilummination in different "moods"), which was quite innovative and fun.
Cons: You have to take a tram to go downtown and it is usually a 30 minutes ride. Not very nice if you let yourself be seducted by Amsterdam's great nightlife. I wanted to stay close to the RAI for a conference, but I still had to walk a considerable distance, passing through a nice but lonely park.
Breakfast is not worth the money, so, if you can, I would recommend having it somewhere else. If you do have breakfast at the hotel, I would recommend paying for it when you make the reservation, since doing it on-site is more expensive.
Overall, a good experience, not such a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#34 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing