We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good for solo traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good for solo traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting relatives have stayed in other citizen M's so knew what to expect, couldn't get shower to work, asked one of the cleaners to assist and they couldn't get it to work either and went off to get help never to be seen again, so the great unwashed went for breakfast! I informed the staff on check out re shower issue but they didn't really seem interested if I hadn't been in a rush I would have insisted on a price reduction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,313
    1,439
    292
    84
    49
See reviews for
218
2,116
341
869
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had initially booked this place for a trip in May. Unfortunately I had to change the dates of my holiday - but the hotel switched my reservation for me, free of charge!

The location is amazing. We bought a 3 day unlimited GVB card that allowed us to use all public transport around the city. (http://en.gvb.nl/ovinmamsterdam/pages/bestdeal.aspx)

The hotel is RIGHT in front of a tram stop (line 5) so it was super easy to get into central Amsterdam. It takes about 25-30 mins to Centraal Station from the hotel. However, if biking is your style, it's super easy to bike around, to and from as well! We rented bikes on our second day from Mike's Bikes (http://www.mikesbiketoursamsterdam.com/?page_id=107) and biked around and out of Amsterdam, pretending to be locals. :)

The room was awesome; can't go wrong with a 2 meter by 2 meter sized amazingly comfortable bed! The toilet and shower have their own little pods in the room which made us giggle but the concept was pretty cool. The snack bar in the lobby was always open and stocked, even at 4am when we got in from partying :) In short, the room was perfect and clean and the location was great too. All this topped with free wireless internet, I'd come back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here for a night after attending a concert at the Heineken Music Hall. The hotel is located perfectly, in a quiet neighborhood, close to tram and train station, so you can be in central Amsterdam within 5-10 minutes.
The hotel set up is standard citizen m, with the big comfy bed and the shower and toilet 'pods', mood lighting, tv with movies etc.
The staff were attentive and immediately fulfilled our request to switch rooms as our original room was close to the elevators (noisy) and the air-conditioning didn't work.
The food in the little cafeteria is tasty (try the lasagna and the spaghetti Bolognese)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg-kfirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

First off, I made the mistake of booking the one next to the airport, and showed up at the one downtown, the staff jumped through hoops to get my transfer over to the downtown one. There was little they could do because I booked through a third party, but after making a few calls to higher, the manager got it switched. I was very impressed because I had simply expressed briefly that I would rather be downtown, but it wasn't a big deal, and would like the address to the airport. The staff was thoughtful and more courteous in realizing this and made it happen. Similar events to this happened my entire stay, small events, but meant a lot they did big things for my small problems. Now, the hotel itself, amazing... To say the least. No wonder it has been voted trendiest last two years running. It was definitely an experience in Amsterdam, added to the awesome experience I had there. I wouldn't pass this one up.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but I'd get a lower floor room so you can see your car. Never know with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtisthepuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just returned from a three night break in Amsterdam with my husband and our two friends. We chose the Citizen M Amsterdam City after staying one night in their Glasgow Hotel and totally fell in love with the place and the casual concept. The Amsterdan Citizen did not let us down. Just one train stop from the airport to Amsterdam Zuid and then a short walk took us to our location. The staff are very bubbly and attentive and very knowledgeable about transport links. The number 5 tram stops just around the corner from Hotel and takes less than 10 minutes to city central. The rooms are fab and the shower is amazing. Our friends first impression was could this be a bit claustraphobic? but with great air con, mood lighting and the best bed and pillows ever they were soon converted, never mind the free movies on demand. The only small negative is that the Glasgow Hotel has a built in iPod dock in the room but that was me just presuming rather than reading what the Hotel provided. The bar is very welcoming and any food we had was always fresh and tasty. All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending Citizen M Amsterdam City as a great place to stay whilst exploring this facinating and vibrant City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munchbunch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

CitizenM is great value for money in Amsterdam and in a great location. VERY easy to get to from Schipol airport and with a tram stop almost outside the front door, easy to get to Central Amsterdam. The decor is quirky innovative and modern. The only downsides were that the handles on the shower were so tight that it took great strength to turn them. Also one of the electric outlets did not work making using a computer awkward.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Academic_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abtwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I decided to take a good friend of mine to AMS for a weekend. One night at my fav. Hotel : Sheraton Schiphol and one night downtown. So, besides the location, all was good with the rooms, bar & shop/ kiosk. The rooms (mine) did not really smell fresh but otherwise the usual that you expect from Citizen M.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuediAbtwil_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, citizenM Operations Holding BV, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing