We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Amazing experience! Self-service check-in/check-out but ambassadors always on hand to help and make sure everything is ok. Helped with local info about trams etc. Fresh towels every day. Mood pad controlled everything in the room, novelty quickly wears off. Luxurious rooms with an amazing bed. Quick walk from train station and just round the corner from tram so no difficulty reaching city centre. Located on a lovely, quiet street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,585
    1,603
    320
    90
    58
See reviews for
243
2,359
371
992
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed here for two nights for a romantic weekend with my husband. It wasn't as good as I thought it would be from the reviews here though. It is well located-ten minuted by train from airport with a tram right outside that brings you into city centre, museum district, etc. `there is free wifi and computers in the lobby and nice chill out areas.
I liked the funky modern room but there was no space for your luggage-putting it in a drawer under the bed is not a good option in my opinion and there were only 3 hangers which we needed for our coats and scarfs so nowhere to hang shirts, dresses etc.
The toilet also needs to be better soundproofed!
While the remote is a great idea it is not ideal-whe we pressed the button for romantic lighting it kept turning the TV off and the temperature kept changing itself which was really annoying. Also there was no pause button for movies so you were often accidently sent back to main menu and it took a while to get back into the movie you were watching and forward it to the correct spot. We really appreciated the free movies though!
While we liked the big bed, it was a bit hard for my taste.
While the hotel says it is a budget one, breakfast-which is a continental one is extra and quite pricey for what it is. There are no tea and coffee making facilities so had to buy tea/coffee at €2.50 a go which adds up. The water and cookies, hot chocolate etc are quite pricey in the lobby too so overall it is not as good value as you would think.
I was also not impressed with the staff (bar those on checkout who were v nice) The girl on duty when we checked in obviously didn't care about guests-I asked if she had any info on attractions etc and she bluntly said No! She then gave me a website name and said to use that! She never even offered a map, which the hotel supplies. Useless and she was v slow behind the bar too.

However we enjoyed our stay and thought it was a convenient hotel-if they fixed the room remotes, reduced their food/drink prices and you are served by better staff it would be a perfect hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Conveniently priced, clean, úber contemporary - but it's no surprise, as that just comes as standard with the CitizenM chain!
I've now stayed at both the CitizenM in Glasgow Centre & Amsterdam Centre, and would use any excuse to try the one at Schipol airport now too!
I can honestly say my only complaints are that there was no cooked breakfast at the Amsterdam hotel which we paid 20 euros for.. (full english in Glasgow, and I know, we're not in England when we're in Amsterdam - but there were plenty of cafe's providing a meaty bratwurst to satisfy my carnivorous needs)
....and finally, my second complaint is that there aren't more CitizenM hotels around the world, 3 just isn't enough!!

Room Tip: Choose city view - as park view a little dull in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmalou5469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Come here only if for you a bunk bed or a luxury hotel are the same thing!! The room has no wardrobe and is basically a bathroom with a bed. I chose this hotel since i had to fly early in the morning and wanted to be close to the airport without spending a fortune. I arrived at 11am and i had to pay 20 extra euros to check in without waiting 2pm. No minibar in the room, no space, toilet in the middle. No privacy but position of toilett versua bed embarassing even if one is on his/her own. I am surprised the hotel has good reviews and i was mislead by them and the pictures. The hotel is walking distance, but the road is windy and cold and by what seems a high road!! 10 mins from airport. I never write reviews, but i felt i had to, if out there there are people who might wonder which hotel to choose near schiphol airport. I could have spent a bit more, but have a decent room elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

What else could you ask for? I stay here almost every time I come to Amsterdam for work. It's about 15 min to schiphol by train. It's clean and modern and totally unique. It has a self serve kitchen open 24/7. It has a great look and the rooms, while small, totally feel functional and cozy.
My only complaints? Last trip I had slow and spotty internet service; something i hadn't seen there before so maybe someone was going crazy downloading movies. And, when I first start running water into the sink it sometimes pushes up some smelly odors as I'm washing my face; something I've noticed in multiple rooms. I just hold my breath for a second until the smell clears.
That's it. On the plus side, the staff is wonderfully polite and helpful. The open lobby space is inviting to just hang out and relax or to work. The artwork and decor is lively and fresh. There are a few good restaurants within 10 min walk.

Room Tip: I prefer the garden view which at least looks at some trees. The city view really doesn't look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I am an old lady and still enjoyed my stay here! It is trendy but very comfortable and the staff are all great. Very reasonable price and terrific location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed there from the end of September to the beginning of October 2011. First of all, the design of the hotel is very different. The lobby has feel of a campus dormitory a open food/bar area with computer terminals and TVs and couches. I personally think that this setup is more or less aiming for the younger travelling business generation (not the traditional suit/tie lot). I personally like the atmosphere quite endearing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The room was small but well designed. The mattress was incredible. One of the best sleep I have had on my trip. Most of the things in the room, such as light intensity and even color, can be control by a remote (although some functions aren't as responsive as others such as the changing the blinds). One of the room design that is interesting and be also posed as a problem is the washroom/shower area. The washroom/shower and the bed is divided by a translucent curtain; and the toilet/shower is encased in a "tube of glass". So you can be pretty much see everything that one does in the washroom. This can be quite "intimate" or awkward depending on hold you are rooming with. However, I personally found no problem with this design.

The location is kind of far from the central train station but if you are coming in from air, it is along the train route.

I would definitely come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are better than city view (not much to see)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spurpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing