We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We loved it and we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sankt-Peterburg
1 review
“We loved it and we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Thanks. Smart hotel! Have taken great pleasure from stay. We celebrated wedding in Amsterdam and citizenM this best place for the first marriage night (Hotis to return there more and more...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhanneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,311
    1,439
    292
    84
    49
See reviews for
218
2,115
340
869
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very clean. Lovely hotel. Bed was amazing as was power shower. No 5 tram is 1 minute from hotel. This takes you to all locations , Dam Square etc. We got travel card from the information tourist office for 7 euros each. 356 night bus brings you back after 12.30a.m. No 5 tram also takes you to Central Station for train to airport.

Room Tip: None needed - all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved this hotel it was really quirky and fun. Rooms are as cool as they look on the website and bed is soooo comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a little far out but the tram stop is literally outside the front door and it is only about 15 mins into the madness.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LC702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is really special, and interesting.
The rooms are perfect and the beds are huge, and you control most things in your room with a remote control.
We were doing a five week InterRail trip around Europe and this was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is about ten minutes outside Amsterdam city, however right outside the hotel is a tram stop and their is a train station beside it also so there is no problem getting into Amsterdam.
The staff for the most part were really helpful and friendly, except for one lady who served us in the bar.
The hotel is quirky and maybe not to everyone's taste but I loved the free movies and the mood control lighting and self check in. There was also mac computers for all the guests to use in the lobby which was a definite plus. The tubes in the bedroom of glass may put some people off, as they are placed in the middle of the room and are quite seathrough.
The location was perfect for us and we liked the location a lot. Other reviews which state there is no public transport around are incorrect as the tram is literally outside the door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyTheodoraDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just a few steps from the Amsterdam Zuid station, just one stop away from the airport. Quiet neighborhood location. Had breakfast at the Bagels and Beans cafe~a terrific recommendation from a prior reviewer. The BEST breakfast ever. We picked up sandwiches and drinks from the Albert Heijn mini grocery store, which is on the left as you head out the train station on your way to the hotel. There is also a full-size grocery about 4 blocks past the hotel. After receiving permission on our first day to use their microwave, we brought in some take-away from the grocery and were scolded wildly by one of the citizenM staff members; she was rude and mean and told us we could do it this ONE time, but would have to eat in our rooms. After I told her we had permission from someone the prior day, she said "well, I guess I am a little crazier about this, as someone had their food explode on my shift". Anyhow, on a happier note, do go visit nearby Haarlem--beautiful, clean and a wonderful historic city. We would of skipped downtown Amsterdam altogether in favor of Haarlem. This hotel is so great.....but, you better be open to an alternative experience :)

Room Tip: book early for great rates.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fussymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

What a unique concept. Self check in, so no queues , but someone on hand to help out with a friendly face. My suggestion for breakfast is not to pre-order, simply select what you want from the continental items on display. Free wireless and comfortable surroundings means it's ideal and great value for a business stay too.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have selectable mood lighting themes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markyt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend in October

Our room was very small, but functional, and comfortable.

The one thing I would say, is that it may not be suitable for a "new relationship" couple -
The toilet is actually a glass "tube" in the room!
While this is quite novel, it could be pretty embarrassing...

The shower is of the same configuration.

The LED lighting (you can change the colours etc...) was very cool!

One thing I would say is I thought the food was rather expensive.
But this is normal I guess.

I went out for an evening in Amsterdam clubs, and drunkenly left my phone in a taxi.
After calling home on my girlfriends phone, my dad called the hotel, who contacted the taxi company to try and locate it.
The morning after, they tried to help me again, having been passed details of my predicament by the night-staff.
While the phone was never found, I truly appreciated all the help the hotel staff gave me.
Really made a good impression!

The tram stop was right outside the station, which made it nice and easy to pop into the centre (about 10-15 mins away)

I would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexjamesbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
3.5 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.7 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, citizenM Operations Holding BV, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing