We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #44 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Thanks. Smart hotel! Have taken great pleasure from stay. We celebrated wedding in Amsterdam and citizenM this best place for the first marriage night (Hotis to return there more and more...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhanneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,984 - 2,990 of 4,914 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very clean. Lovely hotel. Bed was amazing as was power shower. No 5 tram is 1 minute from hotel. This takes you to all locations , Dam Square etc. We got travel card from the information tourist office for 7 euros each. 356 night bus brings you back after 12.30a.m. No 5 tram also takes you to Central Station for train to airport.

Room Tip: None needed - all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved this hotel it was really quirky and fun. Rooms are as cool as they look on the website and bed is soooo comfortable. The staff could not have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is a little far out but the tram stop is literally outside the front door and it is only about 15 mins into the madness.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is really special, and interesting.
The rooms are perfect and the beds are huge, and you control most things in your room with a remote control.
We were doing a five week InterRail trip around Europe and this was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is about ten minutes outside Amsterdam city, however right outside the hotel is a tram stop and their is a train station beside it also so there is no problem getting into Amsterdam.
The staff for the most part were really helpful and friendly, except for one lady who served us in the bar.
The hotel is quirky and maybe not to everyone's taste but I loved the free movies and the mood control lighting and self check in. There was also mac computers for all the guests to use in the lobby which was a definite plus. The tubes in the bedroom of glass may put some people off, as they are placed in the middle of the room and are quite seathrough.
The location was perfect for us and we liked the location a lot. Other reviews which state there is no public transport around are incorrect as the tram is literally outside the door.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyTheodoraDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Just a few steps from the Amsterdam Zuid station, just one stop away from the airport. Quiet neighborhood location. Had breakfast at the Bagels and Beans cafe~a terrific recommendation from a prior reviewer. The BEST breakfast ever. We picked up sandwiches and drinks from the Albert Heijn mini grocery store, which is on the left as you head out the train station on your way to the hotel. There is also a full-size grocery about 4 blocks past the hotel. After receiving permission on our first day to use their microwave, we brought in some take-away from the grocery and were scolded wildly by one of the citizenM staff members; she was rude and mean and told us we could do it this ONE time, but would have to eat in our rooms. After I told her we had permission from someone the prior day, she said "well, I guess I am a little crazier about this, as someone had their food explode on my shift". Anyhow, on a happier note, do go visit nearby Haarlem--beautiful, clean and a wonderful historic city. We would of skipped downtown Amsterdam altogether in favor of Haarlem. This hotel is so great.....but, you better be open to an alternative experience :)

Room Tip: book early for great rates.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank fussymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

What a unique concept. Self check in, so no queues , but someone on hand to help out with a friendly face. My suggestion for breakfast is not to pre-order, simply select what you want from the continental items on display. Free wireless and comfortable surroundings means it's ideal and great value for a business stay too.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have selectable mood lighting themes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markyt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend in October

Our room was very small, but functional, and comfortable.

The one thing I would say, is that it may not be suitable for a "new relationship" couple -
The toilet is actually a glass "tube" in the room!
While this is quite novel, it could be pretty embarrassing...

The shower is of the same configuration.

The LED lighting (you can change the colours etc...) was very cool!

One thing I would say is I thought the food was rather expensive.
But this is normal I guess.

I went out for an evening in Amsterdam clubs, and drunkenly left my phone in a taxi.
After calling home on my girlfriends phone, my dad called the hotel, who contacted the taxi company to try and locate it.
The morning after, they tried to help me again, having been passed details of my predicament by the night-staff.
While the phone was never found, I truly appreciated all the help the hotel staff gave me.
Really made a good impression!

The tram stop was right outside the station, which made it nice and easy to pop into the centre (about 10-15 mins away)

I would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexjamesbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.8 mi away
Hotel De Hallen
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 374 in Amsterdam
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 374 in Amsterdam
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 374 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077 WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $120 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing