We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect spot for the business traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for the business traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

I could not have found a better place to stay for my business trip in Amsterdam. Everything is neat, efficient and functional. Particularly enjoyed the multiple work areas, with power plugs, free WIFI, and Mac stations. The ambiance is also very modern and posh, without being excessive. Entering the hotel, one gets the impression of entering a select private club.
The room size was actually quite adequate. Having visited my colleagues who booked downtown (Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw: old, tiny, dorm like) for quite a bit more expensive, my room appeared like a palace. The bed was nice and wide (real king size, not 2 twins put together), the entertainment system was easy to use, and the shower and bathroom pods were very functional.
The only thing that wasn't great is the food selection. They are forthcoming, however in letting you know that they offer "canteen" food on their website. Not a huge selection of warm food, but the coffee is good.

I appreciated the location, in a nice quite neighborhood, walking distance to the train station, the tram station and quaint little shops. It's 20 minutes by tram to downtown Amsterdam, and ~10 minutes from the museums. Very convenient, but without the loudness of the tourists and party goers.

Overall had a most enjoyable time at the Citizen M. Would definitely book back there if I ever have the pleasure of going back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaGoVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,407
    1,489
    305
    85
    53
See reviews for
225
2,189
351
916
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Contemporary furnishings, big comfy bed, laid back yet helpful staff and great coffee makes this a great hotel.
It's a 20 minute tram journey to the centre, but the stop is only round the corner from the hotel and it's only one train stop form the airport, so that's also convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnieigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

On a business trip to A'dam this is a great choice. Unlike many other places I've stayed in the city, CitizenM is nice and quiet, with a good set of amenities that make a business traveler's life easy. The rooms are small and funky, but I liked that for a couple of nights. The lobby was busy with other travelers and check in/out was a breeze. Breakfast was reasonable and the large cup of strong coffee was a welcome change. One complaint - the clothes ironing station (tucked behind the door to housekeeping) was lousy. With all the cool things CitM is doing for guests, I would have expected a nice portable ironing station for cleaning up my business clothes. With a little creativity, that could change from a negative to a positive. For runners, some of the main paths around the city are right out the door - very nice for beating jetlag with a jog.

Room Tip: Garden view side room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njlillegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Room setting and lighting set the mood for couple lovemaking... transparent shower glass...good for honeymooner.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norisdayanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

I brought my boyfriend to Amsterdam as a birthday surprise, i booked this hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor and the reasonable price. I was not disappointed. We arrived at Zuid transtation and were surprised at how close we were to the hotel. As other travellers have mentioned there is self service check-in but the staff available to help you are probably the friendlist and most helpful we have ever come across.

The room is small, but contains everything you need in a funky atmosphere, the bed is AMAZING so huge and comfy and the free movies are a nice touch. There is also free Wifi throughout the hotel and free access to MAC Computers in the lobby. The hotel is stylishly designed with different areas to sit depending on your mood. The cafe bar is open 24/7! Not a great selection on food but enough for a snack.

After the hotel being such train journey from the airport and sort walk from the train station I wasn't holding out much hope that travel to the centre would be as quick or easy...I was very wrong. The number 5 tram leaves from literally outside the hotel, they are unbelieveably frequent and will have you at the museum / entertainment district in 10 mins and into central station in about 20. We got a 4 day tram pass for €19. There is a one, two and three day option on this as well and I would highly recommend them as you can get anywhere in the city by tram.

The only negative I would have (and it's not a huge thing) is that the room could be a little warmer. The temperature only goes up to 23 degrees and sometimes it just didn't seem that the air coming out was that warm and there is no option to turn it off!

All in all if your looking for something funky and different with amazing staff and easy transport to airport and centre of town I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea_shells28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Was slightly concerned to look at a map of the centre the night before we went and to find out was not on it. But actually was perfect, close to the airport, close to the train st when getting train from airport and right next to tram station to take you to museums in a few stops and the centre in a few more. Saw the lobby from outside and thought it was lovely then realised it was our hotel. The lobby is designed in a cool, relaxed way and we used it to relax and read and have a beer rather than dress up and pose like some more stuffy places we've stayed. The furniture and style was beyond the price of the rooms I would say. 24 hrdrinks and food available, healthy interesting options not just junk food. Free Internet in lobby but was very slow. Computer check in with friendly staff standing by. No problem to check in very early and were fine when we accidentally checked out a bit late. I liked the rooms but it was always really chilly in it and a banging noise started early morning on 2 days, hopefully just one off noise and not factory next door. Despite this am a convert, it's not 5 star but it's not 5 star prices and the compromise is only size not cleanliness or style. Would stay here again and have recommended it to others. Don't come with someone you're not really comfortable with though, the loo is in a pod but it's just frosted glass and it's in front of the bed, same applies to the shower!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

All the things that are extra like wi-fi etc are free. Bedrooms are as good as it gets in a business hotel. The staff are better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitchenMan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Element Amsterdam
Element Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.8 mi away
The Student Hotel Amsterdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Amsterdam

Property: citizenM Amsterdam
Address: Prinses Irenestraat 30, 1077WX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Amsterdam on Prinses Irenestraat just ten minutes from city center, citizenM Amsterdam boasts 215 luxuriously appointed rooms at an affordable rate. A perfect spot for a cultural excursion or quick business trip, enjoy free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, 24/7 on-site dining and cocktailing at canteenM, contemporary living rooms decked out in iconic Vitra furniture and a prolific MENDO library collection. Be sure to try out the hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control your room amenities like mood lighting and temperature, power rain shower, or sprawl out on the XL king-size bed with upscale Italian linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your citizenM Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citizenm Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Citizenm Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing