We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good food let down by service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eetcafe Singel 404

Eetcafe Singel 404
Ranked #45 of 3,376 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European, Soups, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very good food let down by service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast here and sat outside by the canal. Food was very good... but it took them 3 attempts to get the order right. We also asked for extra cream for the coffee which never arrived.

Helpful?
Thank robpigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    112
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a table here at around 12pm. Service was slow but it wasn't surprising at how busy it was. It was definitely worth the wait. It was the most enjoyable meal we ate whilst in Amsterdam. Simple ingredients executed perfectly. My partner had the BLT sandwich which was a triple decker monster. She said it was the best sandwich she had ever tasted. And I had from the oven: on famers corn bread, farmers cheese, ham, tomatoes, honey mustard, chives, jalapeños (I]f I remember correctly) It was absolutely delicious. Such simple ingredients incorporated together to make such a splendid meal. My only regret is not going back a second time on our trip. A really enjoyable experience overall. Coffee was very good, cookies were lovely. Waitress was very smiley and happy. Prices very reasonable. Cannot wait to come back on our next trip to Amsterdam

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wecontrolthesunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrie Y, Co-Owner at Eetcafe Singel 404, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Wow!
What a nice review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it down, it means a lot to us,
best regards,
Adrie Ypinga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Oh the majesty of Singel 404, combining simple ingredients to make a work of art that would give Van Gogh a run for is money. This sandwich shop was on my list of 'must go's' from the very beginning, and it didn't disappoint! In fact, I think I left my jaw on the table in Amsterdam after seeing the beauty that was my bacon, walnut, brie, honey and garden cress sandwich. Words cannot describe the magnificence of these culinary delights! My recommendation? Go to Singel 404 and never leave!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngeC0mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrie Y, at Eetcafe Singel 404, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Wow,what a nice review, thank you so much
best regards,
Adrie Ypinga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This place was recommended on the Guardian's where to eat in Amsterdam and it did not disappoint. We popped in for lunch (party of 4) and having spied the size of the sandwiches on the other tables we ordered 3 and they were sufficient. The warm ham was excellent as was was the chicken club. Staff were very friendly although the service was a little laid back. But hey this Amsterdam you know....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quadrature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrie Y, Co Owner at Eetcafe Singel 404, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
What a compliment, thank you,
best regards,
Adrie Ypinga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
131 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Giant sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a lovely little lunch place. I did come here looking for a salad, alas they only did sandwiches, but I was full up for the rest of the day which saved on buying dinner.

Service was slightly chaotic, which is why I took off a point. We were left hanging about at the door for about 10 mins behind some other quite bewildered looking tourists. Once were were sat down though service was pretty quick.

Tuna melt was delicious, I loved the addition of the tangy jalapenos. And my boyfriend has never looked so happy to be eating a club sandwich (absolutely huge and packed with ingredients!). Every panini /foccacia / sandwich that went past us looked so appetising. Very good value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maneenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrie Y, at Eetcafe Singel 404, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment,
best regards, from Amsterdam to London!
Adrie Ypinga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eetcafe Singel 404 also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Eetcafe Singel 404? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing