We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lively Italian Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saturnino

Saturnino
Ranked #208 of 3,380 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lively Italian Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely dinner here. The ambience was quirky and funky but also warm and welcoming. The food was delicious and well portioned for the price. Lovely wines to go with the food. The service was warm and helpful. We did have a reservation, which I recommend if going during prime time (we were there on a Monday evening and the place was packed but there was also a big conference in town). Overall, if I make it back to Amsterdam, I would definitely consider dining here again and would recommend to my friends without hesitation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TroutTWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    150
    39
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went here on the recommendation of a friend who frequently visits Amsterdam. I stopped by for a late lunch on a Sunday and enjoyed a great pizza and wine. I went back for dinner a few days later (reservations very much recommended....the place gets packed). The pasta dishes were outstanding. The house wine served in carafe was good and inexpensive. This is a fun place with great food. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank okie74012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant, found and chosen using Tripadvisor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I thought the food here was excellent value and the house red was extremely good, specially as it came in a litre bottle! Having been to the Napoli area last year I could see what they were doing decor wise. Service was a little slow, but it was one waiter running around. I don't suppose they expected a rush of late lunchers on a Wednesday afternoon, but all the staff were friendly and there was a good atmosphere there. I went for a pizza, which had a lovely thin crispy base and the wife went with her go to vegan friendly option of arrabiata pasta. If you like things spicy, ask for the chilli infused olive oil. Definitely a place to go if you fancy an Italian meal in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quirky restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Came across by accident, but has left a lasting impression. Decor not what you expect of an Italian, but everything else is. Very friendly atmosphere, also the pace of service what l would recieve in a little taverna in rural Italy, not rushed. Food was excellent. Would highly reccomend the anti pasta starter for two. My wife's pizza was lovely and my veal was as good as l have had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nitram64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good pasta n pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I went there with my family. We where greeted by the new owner Osama a very nice man who had a chat with us as he suggested the specialty of the day ravioli with truffle which I took my husband ordered osso boco which he liked a lot my son took pizza with Parma ham n rucola n he was pleased with it. The starters were also good we ordered one salad and one beef carpaccio which was perfect. Service is good n stuff are really helpful and friendly.
Mr. Osama is trying to please all his customers which he do by keeping an eye on every table to see if they need any thing. Good job Osama

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saturnino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Saturnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing