We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“burger time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badhuis

Badhuis
Ranked #1,570 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bar, European, Dutch, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
1 review
“burger time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

we were looking for a nice restaurant which is close to our flat. we found here. really chic atmosphere and nice people. they always smile and wellcome you. their menu is not rich sso much but it is enough to taste their burgers. it was one the best i've ever tasted before.... go and try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Uğur Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    42
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot outside the touristic circuit; cozy atmosphere and nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have been to the badhuis twice and I think it's a great spot. it lies outside the touristic circuit, so the clients are mainly locals. It is nicely located in the middle of Javaplein. It is really cozy and has plenty of space both outside and inside. The terrace is great with nice weather. It also has a warmed-up outside space where you can sit if you want to smoke. They have a nice selection of beers and the food is good. I mean, it's simple food but at leat it's not pretentious. The service is very fast, as opposed to most bars in Amsterdam. I will certainly go back again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saralusini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good 'fusion' food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

The menu at the Badhuis is concise but excellent - we were there in winter so we had a selection of 'game' to choose from, always a winner. The wines were well matched to the food and well priced. We were four people and had the following; two bottles of wine, three entrees and four mains, it cost approx 130 Euros - good value for money. Although a little out of the city it's well worth the trip out in the tram to eat at this restaurant.
The service was attentive and the waiter spoke excellent English. This restaurant does NOT accept credit card so make sure you have cash.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super nice place in SohOost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

In the middle of Amsterdam Oost you can find this former bathing house which, indeed was used for public bathing purposes. This is all in the past though and this establishment has been transformed to a nice cafe restaurant. The food is nice and the ambience is perfect for drinking with friends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Local "grand cafe" in bath house style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This cafe serves grolsch and the local IJ beer which is great. Food is good. The Atmosphere is nice and the building formaly used for bathing is a landmark in the SohOost of Amsterdam.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badhuis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Badhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing