We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place for a breakfast!”
Review of Dwaze Zaken

Dwaze Zaken
Reserve with
Dwaze Zaken is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #148 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Dwaze Zaken is a cafe in the centre of Amsterdam. We serve, without exception, great food and tasty drinks for a reasonable price. The artistic and Christian character of our place offer a unique dimension for anyone who wants to explore. Striving to serve excellent meals, we're always on the lookout for new products and better ways to serve our customers. Why not let our menu, art, interior and personnel inspire you and help make your stop at our cafe a unique and unforgettable experience.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a breakfast!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had breakfast in Dwaze Zaken two times.
The place is coloured and characteristic, very nice. They have some normal tables and a big one to share.
I've tried only the breakfast, and I have to say the menus are more convenient. We had the French style breakfast (all good: croissant, bread, marmalade, juice and a drink) and the Farmer omelette (with ham, cheese, mushrooms on leavenbread with orange juice and a drink).
Definitely satisfied!
Prices between 4 and 10 euros for a breakfast.
Service very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    123
    36
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amsterdam is my favorite city and Dwaze Zaken is an Amsterdam favorite! It is very conveniently located and their coffee, tea, and treats are wonderful! The staff are always friendly and there is comfortable seating. FYI - you won't want to miss the beautiful bathroom, no really.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has it all”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This cafe is a great place to get a drink, a meal or just chill and enjoy the music. It's a great atmosphere, and decent prices as well. I've never had anything to eat or drink that wasn't delicious. I especially recommend the Mint Thee (tea) with honey and fresh squeezed orange juice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfasts”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As we didn't fancy paying €26 for breakfast at the hotel we found this restaurant/cafe less than 2 minutes walk away. Ate here twice and on both occasions it was lovely. We particularly liked the nut bread. The icing sugar on the bacon and cheese pancake as a bit of surprise. With prices at less than €11 for a full breakfast including fresh juice & coffee it offers great value.

Liked that they serve breakfast up to midday so there was no rush to get there. Service was, in general, pretty good though it depended who was doing the serving. It was good to sit outside and watch people going by, plus the shade made it very pleasant on a couple of hot mornings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Loshennells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best cafe in Amsterdam”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed in the heart of the red light district for 5 days and after finding this place, we came every morning for breakfast and most days for a drink and a snack. Fantastic food, superb service and a great location. Highly recommend. We will be back next year for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dwaze Zaken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dwaze Zaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing