We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A quiet oasis in the center of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Singel 103, 1012 VG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
31206237071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis in the center of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have been to Greenwoods for a Sunday brunch in August. This small restaurant is very close to Leidseplein and it is the perfect place if you want to have a quiet meal outside the mess of the popular square.
I sat inside because the outiside tables were all taken, but the experience was nevertheless unique. The service is extremely good, timely and polite; the food is varied, and the best thing is the fact that you can order breakfast ALL DAY LONG! I ordered a full English breakfast and it was great.
They also have a broad variety of teas and some very appealing desserts. I will definitely come back to Greenwoods!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Nyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,245
    464
    73
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for breakfeast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ate egg Benedict and egg with spinach. Egg Benedict was by far the better choice. Place is small so better to have reservation or go before 11 a.m. to find a place or you have to wait. Service is a bit slow like every other restaurants in Amsterdam. If you have time limits you can try another place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Epiphllium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We really enjoyed the food we had here! My husband had a full English, and I had Eggs Benedict :) Would recommend both! Hope to return again soon before we leave Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuels8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
Level Contributor
197 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Organic charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great scones with clutted butter. Marvellous sandwiches we will try to reproduce at home. Will not be easy, though.

Worth the visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dimitris462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch done very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We actually went in search of this restaurant as part of our stay in Amsterdam. We had lunch there but it was clear from other customers that breakfast is the most popular food served. No matter, it was very good and plentiful. The service was good even though they were very busy. It is very comfortable and had some interesting books to peruse while waiting for your food. They have a daily special menu board and a decent menu for a canal side cafe. The meatball sandwich was the size of a baseball and tasted great.
Highly recommend you give them a try. We will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinkfloyd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing