We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Ranked #23 of 3,429 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I were on a short stay in Amsterdam and went to Greenwoods two mornings in a row. We had to wait maybe 15 minutes for a table inside but it was worth it. We tried the full english breakfast, eggs benedict and eggs florentine. It was the without a doubt the best breakfast we've ever tasted. It were busy mornings and the staff had their hands full but they were very friendly and the service was excellent. If you're planning a trip to Amsterdam you have to put Greenwoods on your to-do list!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heida I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,319
    499
    75
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere - Great food (For Holland)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A recent visit to Amsterdam and we were looking for a place for some brunch. I looked on tripadvisor and found this wonderful gem. According the tripadvisor, it was ranked #4 of 2,205 with over 500 reviews. Can't go wrong right?

I ordered the eggs Benedict and the full English breakfast - eggs were requested medium. We also had earl grey tea which was quite pleasant. The eggs were overcooked, and it wasn't a one time thing. My friend who accompanied me also ordered the eggs Benedict. The eggs were poached for far too long. Also my "over medium" eggs were well done also.

The food was still good, but not having runny eggs with eggs Benedict is just not the same. The service was good considering it was Europe and their desserts and coffee drinks were amazing. Just a shame that the eggs were overdone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobGhazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We tried to start our day here but the restaurant doesn't open until 930 so we stopped in for Brunch after a visit to the Van Gogh museum. Excellent and fresh eggs and sandwiches. Full English breakfast, eggs Benedict, BLT's , Frites, fresh squeezed OJ served in a small intimate friendly "basement " location with seating for about 8 people on the first floor. Friendly and helpful staff and a nice option for breakfast, brunch or lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Greenwoods English Tea Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a cosy little place facing the canal and always seem so busy, which is a good sign for a restaurant. The food was delicious, worth the wait and priced very reasonable. They bake their bread on site, ours was still warm when it came to the table and the best organic rye loaf I've had. The staff a very friendly. Grandmas' meatball is very tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had to wait to get a table outside but it was worth every minute! Amazing food, generous portions, reasonable price, great staff, good location! Go there!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing