We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hearty Breakfast in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Ranked #30 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We tried to start our day here but the restaurant doesn't open until 930 so we stopped in for Brunch after a visit to the Van Gogh museum. Excellent and fresh eggs and sandwiches. Full English breakfast, eggs Benedict, BLT's , Frites, fresh squeezed OJ served in a small intimate friendly "basement " location with seating for about 8 people on the first floor. Friendly and helpful staff and a nice option for breakfast, brunch or lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,384
    524
    79
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Greenwoods English Tea Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a cosy little place facing the canal and always seem so busy, which is a good sign for a restaurant. The food was delicious, worth the wait and priced very reasonable. They bake their bread on site, ours was still warm when it came to the table and the best organic rye loaf I've had. The staff a very friendly. Grandmas' meatball is very tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had to wait to get a table outside but it was worth every minute! Amazing food, generous portions, reasonable price, great staff, good location! Go there!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited Greenwood's on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews as there are so many places in Amsterdam to eat breakfast! It was very busy, but we didn't have to wait that long for a table. I think they could benefit from larger premises as I'm sure they could fill a larger space. The staff were friendly and were efficient considering the number of people they were serving. I can't recommend the eggs benedict enough, absolutely delicious. Reasonably priced for the quality of the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flinty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

As breakfast enthusiasts this little cafe had a lot to live up to. It did with bells on! Super location (you can sit inside and out) with a super menu. I had the full English which was delicious, all organic ingredients meant the taste was amazing and fresh. My husband had the 'Mexican' breakfast, he thought the eggs were the best he ever tasted. We will be back!!

Helpful?
Thank TalktoPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing