We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but way yo exspensive”
Review of Vinkeles

Vinkeles
Ranked #3 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $99 - $158
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Vinkeles is housed in an old bakery; which was set up in 1787 by the Regents of the Catholic Church, who at the time owned the building. The bakery flourished until 1811 and guests still can see the original ovens, which were discovered intact during restoration work.Echoing the décor of the hotel, Executive Chef Dennis Kuipers’ menu combines the traditional and the modern. The dishes served in Vinkeles show Kuipers’ love of the contemporary French cuisine. He combines the freshest ingredients to produce a menu that is delicious and unique to Vinkeles. In 2009 restaurant Vinkeles was awarded a Michelin star.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food but way yo exspensive”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

went to this restaurant o try this one out good food but really nothing special the only thing special was the bill wauw what a price for just a normal food experience if you want to get of your money eat here

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayexpert121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    59
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little disappointed...”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner with my girlfriend and we like it. Service wasn't good, the food was more then good. Maybe we come back and we hope that the service are better then last week.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ericschimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“can't reach vinkeles via email”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a little different...........trying to email vinkeles to make a reservation, and they either have not been receiving them or they simply don't reply. Their website says a reservation isn't valid unless they confirm it. Other than the expense of a telephone call from the US, can anyone suggest how to reach Rene B, general manager of hotel and restaurant. Thanks much!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank gypsyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfectionism”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Perfect to every detail.
Elaborated delicious food.
Good service.
Good wine card.
Absolutely deserves its Michelin star.
Design is very Amsterdam style.
A place to enjoy gastronomy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angiebelaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you enjoyed spending your time in restaurant Vinkeles.
We would be delighted to serve you again.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Vinkeles is a lovely restaurant in a small hotel on the Keizersgracht) - yet is one of those happy combinations of beautifully prepared food, excellent wine, and friendly, comfortable atmosphere - not at all stuffy, but everything done to perfection without any fuss. The service was impeccable but the servers were relaxed and fun to talk with - and a chefs (a sous-chef?) brought one of dishes out of the kitchen himself. The menu was creative and presentations artful without trying too hard - we had a tasting menu of 4-5 dishes with wine pairings - a lot of fun. It's highly recommended for a special night out - go to be pampered all evening in a thoroughly enjoyable way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EHfromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at Vinkeles, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our restaurant.
It is great to read that you were pleased with the service provided by our staff.
We will be happy to welcome you again.

The Vinkeles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinkeles also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vinkeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing