We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hostel ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmicitiA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmicitiA
Ranked #92 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed here for 1 night but it was the nicest place ive stayed. Its really close to the station and the views surrounding it on a night are beautiful! The woman we saw called mureal was really nice and friendly and chilled out. She also showed us some of the best places to go which was helpful! The rooms were small but it wasnt a problem you could still get changed and have a wash etc. The place was very clean and we had no complaints on hygine. There was a really nice breakfast in the morning too and sitting outside on a night with a drink and a smoke was bliss....definatly going to stay here everytime I come again no matter what my budget. Addorable place

Helpful?
Thank linda6465
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    74
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
9
81
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is cheap and good quality-price comparing with the rest of hotels in Amsterdam. However, if you don't want to walk 20-30 min to reach the city centre, don't choose the hotel. Moreover, it's not difficult to get lost to find it.
The blond girl in the reception is kind, warm and very friendly. She'll try to make your stay comfortable, despite of the tiny rooms you'll have to sleep. Be careful with the stairs as well, but this is Amsterdam.
However, I want to put emphasis on the good quality-price and the good service (and great breakfast, which was included). I don't know if I'll come back but I recommend it to rucksack travellers who want to live a different experience in a boat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayzelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent two nights aboard the Amicitia and were very happy with the arrangements (two middle-aged women who don't do camping and who love their creature comfort). Delicious breakfast included in the price, free wifi throughout, and the best view of Amsterdam, this makes for a perfect base to visit the city. Plenty of hot water for showers and toilets that work the way they're supposed to, we couldn't ask for more. And so affordable (we paid 45 Euro for two people for one night...including breakfast and wifi!). Don't forget to play with the resident dog, Meneer, a fun-loving wire-haired Teckel!

Room Tip: Coming out of the boat, instead of turning right to walk along the road, turn left instead and use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoofyNatOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A cheerful welcome greeted me, with all day (instant) coffee and tea ready to be poured on a misty day. The tables in the dining and hang out area are inviting to simply sit and read, surf, dine on take-out, and ultimately enjoy the best view of all the boats that are docked along the several piers. Keep in mind this is a hostel, simple accommodations at an excellent price. The tiny rooms have bunk beds, closet space and hooks, and a small sink. Shared bathroom facilities were clean. Breakfast was good, with bottomless coffee. The location is a 10 minute walk from the Central train station, as well as close to a supermarket, and all Amsterdam attractions can be reached on foot. This is the perfect solution for those of us not willing to give up our backpacks!

Room Tip: choose rooms 1 or 2, away from the stairs and on the dar side of the pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Sangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent a few days on the Amicitia again last week, and it was a pleasant experience as always :) So central and close to everything you need to be near to in Amsterdam, and the view from the top deck has to be one of the most amazing views of Amsterdam.

Merel, who works there, was lovely! Very friendly, really helpful and an incredibly nice person. Amicitia is always a favourite when needing to spend a few nights in Amsterdam, close enough to everything you need, but quiet enough to sleep and rest too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveboticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Do not miss staying at AmicitiA. The captain Roy is an absolute pleasure to meet, ensuring that his guests are comfortable and that he gets to know each and everyone of them. Experience sleeping on a boat with cozy cabins. Enjoy the delicious breakfast served every morning. And finally take in the breathtaking views of the water from atop the boat and enjoy spending time on the docks after a busy day exploring Amsterdam. Would tell every first time traveller to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Okay: first of all, if you like quiet seclusion, plenty of space, don't like steep stairs, or have large suitcases, forget this place. The two-berth cabins are VERY small (it's a boat, Guys) and it's almost impossible to share the living space unless one of you is either down in the shower or toilet, or already in bed. Likewise, the toilets and showers are very compact and won't suit anyone who likes to 'spread out' a bit, and the cabin walls are thin, so arguments with your room-mate are best held before you board.

That warning aside, it's clean, comfortable, well-situated, good value, and the buffet-style breakfast is more than adequate to set you up for the day. There are comments on Tripadvisor about the beds being uncomfortable, but we didn't find that: three of our party of four were well over six feet (183 centimetres) tall and we all slept like babies. Getting in and out of the top bunk is, again, a bit of a feat - there's no ladder - so perhaps more a place for youngsters than oldies.

Problem as soon as we arrived - they had no record of our booking, and we were fortunate that they had rooms available for the three nights we thought we'd already booked. Hostelbooker's mistake and not AmicitiA's, but a bit of a pain. Service is quiet and a bit 'distant', but polite and helpful: the owner happily allowed us to leave our bags there on check-out day (had a late evening flight home) and to return to read, play cards and drink tea for a couple of hours in the afternoon/evening.

Free wi-fi is very useful, and the views from the lounge area are spectacular.

So make sure, before you go, that you can live with the limited space, etc. But if you can, AmicitiA is recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the boat, away from the showers, which are noisy during the morning 'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickenbacker_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#182 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#279 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#125 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
#85 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Passengership Avanti
Passengership Avanti
#66 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
MPS Holland
MPS Holland
#49 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmicitiA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmicitiA

Property: AmicitiA
Address: Oosterdok, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AmicitiA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Boat Friesland Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Boat Friesland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing