We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As awesome as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmicitiA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmicitiA
Ranked #87 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As awesome as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent a few days on the Amicitia again last week, and it was a pleasant experience as always :) So central and close to everything you need to be near to in Amsterdam, and the view from the top deck has to be one of the most amazing views of Amsterdam.

Merel, who works there, was lovely! Very friendly, really helpful and an incredibly nice person. Amicitia is always a favourite when needing to spend a few nights in Amsterdam, close enough to everything you need, but quiet enough to sleep and rest too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveboticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
9
78
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Do not miss staying at AmicitiA. The captain Roy is an absolute pleasure to meet, ensuring that his guests are comfortable and that he gets to know each and everyone of them. Experience sleeping on a boat with cozy cabins. Enjoy the delicious breakfast served every morning. And finally take in the breathtaking views of the water from atop the boat and enjoy spending time on the docks after a busy day exploring Amsterdam. Would tell every first time traveller to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Okay: first of all, if you like quiet seclusion, plenty of space, don't like steep stairs, or have large suitcases, forget this place. The two-berth cabins are VERY small (it's a boat, Guys) and it's almost impossible to share the living space unless one of you is either down in the shower or toilet, or already in bed. Likewise, the toilets and showers are very compact and won't suit anyone who likes to 'spread out' a bit, and the cabin walls are thin, so arguments with your room-mate are best held before you board.

That warning aside, it's clean, comfortable, well-situated, good value, and the buffet-style breakfast is more than adequate to set you up for the day. There are comments on Tripadvisor about the beds being uncomfortable, but we didn't find that: three of our party of four were well over six feet (183 centimetres) tall and we all slept like babies. Getting in and out of the top bunk is, again, a bit of a feat - there's no ladder - so perhaps more a place for youngsters than oldies.

Problem as soon as we arrived - they had no record of our booking, and we were fortunate that they had rooms available for the three nights we thought we'd already booked. Hostelbooker's mistake and not AmicitiA's, but a bit of a pain. Service is quiet and a bit 'distant', but polite and helpful: the owner happily allowed us to leave our bags there on check-out day (had a late evening flight home) and to return to read, play cards and drink tea for a couple of hours in the afternoon/evening.

Free wi-fi is very useful, and the views from the lounge area are spectacular.

So make sure, before you go, that you can live with the limited space, etc. But if you can, AmicitiA is recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the boat, away from the showers, which are noisy during the morning 'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickenbacker_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I spent three days on the Amicitia in Amsterdam. On the down side the room was tiny, however, Roy took great care of us, the view was the best in Amsterdam, and the location can not be beat. My wife and I are very hot sleepers, but we discovered by propping the door just a bit the room was perfect.

Although the smallest room we ever had, it was also one of the most memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elwhaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jellydog
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed on the Friesland boat last summer, for one night.
I wanted a cheap weekend away with a friend, & we didn't want a cut price chain hotel,
We like quirky individual places and this is definitely that!
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
This lovely boat ticked most boxes,
Good location, very good value, good breakfast,
Comfy warm bunk beds, could be on the short side if you are tall but not an issue for me.
Wash basin in the cabin, separate showers and toilets.
Lovely soothing rocking motion sends you to sleep.

I can't really come up with any down sides to the boat.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's a great place to stay in Amsterdam. It's true that the bedrooms are very small but for the price, location and free breakfast, we can all make an effort. Great breakfast, nice staff, always helpful. It's an interesting place cause it's a boat! I loved the experience, but one thing is sure: if you like spacious place, don't book a room here. It's really small. Ah, nice welcome area. We can use the free wifi or drink soda or beetfor only 1,50 euros. I recomend. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raiano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stay on one of these river boat hotels for something fun and different in Amsterdam. Lots of atmosphere right in the heart of the city for a tiny price. Warm room, okay breakfast, what more do you need?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#269 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
#80 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#107 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Passengership Avanti
Passengership Avanti
#60 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amsterdam Hotelboat
Amsterdam Hotelboat
#85 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Generator Amsterdam
#4 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmicitiA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmicitiA

Property: AmicitiA
Address: Oosterdok, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AmicitiA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Boat Friesland Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Boat Friesland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing