We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Ranked #249 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I booked for a small single room for 4 nights. I was there on a business trip. It was right in the middle of everything. Location is the best part of this hotel. But the stairs are incredibly steep. I noted this earlier from previous reviewers and asked for a room in lower level while making my booking. The reception staff was helpful enough to provide me a single room on the first floor. It was quite spacious for myself. Room was clean and bed was comfortable for a sound sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taslimul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    91
    90
    34
    22
See reviews for
18
95
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great little hotel in the heart of the Red Light District, very busy street, but I loved it as it was close to everything !It's a one star hotel, staff was very friendly and helpful. Worth the money!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritusikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

What a bargain this hotel is, great location in the red light district, large clean rooms and breakfast included, will definately be staying here again soon, and is a smoking hotel :-) only downside were the incredibly step stairs to the upper floors lol

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here last week.

Good points : Its cheap and very central... and strangely despite the location (heart of the RLD) its actually very quite inside the hotel... got 2 x great nights sleep.

Bad points : Its typical budget Amsterdam hotel .. a bit worn-out (but fine)... crazy steep stairs up to the rooms (only suitable for young people), basic breakfast .. slightly grumpy staff. My Room was small and I had to share a bathroom and shower room with residents of another room.

My biggest bugbear was I had no television in the room... there was one in the big reception area but there was always a few burly looking Russian gangster types hanging around smoking cigars, I don't like cigars or gangsters ... so didn't get to watch any TV. Also no tea/coffee making facilities in my room and couldn't get a hot drink at a reception during the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the busy street are quieter for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLittlevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Amsterdam a few weeks ago. We booked through booking.com, it was great value compared to most other hotels in the vicinity (Amsterdam to us seemed quite pricy for accommodation). It was easy to find, about a 10 minute walk from the central station and in the midst of the Red Light District (squeezed in between a coffee shop and an "erotic outlet" haha). On first impression we were disappointed - we'd been allocated a tiny room with two separate single beds and a shared bathroom down the hall, although we'd paid for a double room with private bathroom. I spoke to reception who were at first reluctant and said the hotel was fully booked (understandable as it was King's Day), but after checking through the computer system for some time they eventually agreed we could move to a double room on the next floor. Which was MUCH better. The bedroom was large, basic furnishings and a bit dated but perfectly functional and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and looked quite new. Wifi only worked in one part of the room but was okay. The room was surprisingly quiet considering its central location, we could hear strange noises coming from the street late at night but nothing enough to keep us awake. We slept through breakfast every day so can't comment on that. Overall everything you'd expect from a budget hotel - basic but clean, a perfectly good spot to rest up when you don't plan on spending much time in the room anyways :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelsey_J_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed with my husband at this hotel from the 11th to the 17th of May in 2014.
Excellent location - right in the heart of the RLD - local to lots of main attractions.
Best hotel of its price range in the red light, excellent bathroom facilities and good size room for in dam
The staff were quite helpful and friendly. The wi-fi not working The first three days, but latter throughout the hotel was top notch.
Breakfast was also quite good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passenger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel every time I've been in Amsterdam and never had a bad experience that I can recall. The location is fantastic, you couldn't be more central, the hotel is right on the Red Light District.

Rooms are cleaned, towels changed etc...daily. Rooms are very clean and safe to leave your belongings in whilst your exploring the city.

Breakfast buffet is included (which I usually missed) and is ok, pretty standard continental breakfast really. Bread and jams, boiled eggs, cheese etc...

Another bonus is the free WIFI.

Would return (as always) to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Molnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#248 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#240 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#236 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#218 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#301 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#315 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Property: Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing