We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Ammmmsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Ranked #246 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ammmmsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed with my husband at this hotel from the 11th to the 17th of May in 2014.
Excellent location - right in the heart of the RLD - local to lots of main attractions.
Best hotel of its price range in the red light, excellent bathroom facilities and good size room for in dam
The staff were quite helpful and friendly. The wi-fi not working The first three days, but latter throughout the hotel was top notch.
Breakfast was also quite good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passenger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    82
    77
    30
    21
See reviews for
14
85
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel every time I've been in Amsterdam and never had a bad experience that I can recall. The location is fantastic, you couldn't be more central, the hotel is right on the Red Light District.

Rooms are cleaned, towels changed etc...daily. Rooms are very clean and safe to leave your belongings in whilst your exploring the city.

Breakfast buffet is included (which I usually missed) and is ok, pretty standard continental breakfast really. Bread and jams, boiled eggs, cheese etc...

Another bonus is the free WIFI.

Would return (as always) to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Molnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Nice central location. Clean rooms. Towels changed everyday. You can have your room cleaned everyday if you want. Shared toilets and shower but only between two rooms so thats alright. Very basic rooms.

Breakfast food was alright. Scrambled and boiled eggs, mini frankfurters, bread, jams, butter, cold meats, cheese, orange juice, coffee, tea. Everyday.

Room Tip: Get a hotel in the center of town and walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lien_snave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for two nights last week...the staff were very friendly. The hotel is in a great location for most things, the museums were probably the furthest away and took about 20 mins to walk there...there are plenty of public transport options though if you don't fancy the walk. The rooms were nothing fancy but great for somewhere to sleep/chill especially since they have free Wifi (which seems to be the norm in Amsterdam). I would recommend this hotel for singles and couples wanting somewhere cheap to stay and not expecting anything too fancy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlyc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

perfect location just 5-10 mins walk to everywere you want to go in the middle of the redlight district so busy noisy good atmosphere hotel is easy to find espically at the moment with the scaffolding for renovations used this many times when i was lost arrive nice little reception were they buzz you through you arrive to some steep steps luckily i was on the first floor room 103 i asked for a smoking room no ashtray i asked the bloke is this a smoking room he said you can out the window ( i found fire alarms crap so no worry sitting inside with window open ) big spacious room clean double bed 2 desks one abit tatty buti dont care and a big toilet and shower and bath never made breakfast just went straight out staff freindly polite overall very happy for the price oh may i add no view from windows just other buildings but i was not there to stare out the window

Room Tip: room 103 clean big spacious smoking out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayer11993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel has nothing special, but it's location absolutely in middle of the Red Light Disctrict is really good. We stayed on the top floor and the steps were though. The room was absolutely simple just like the breakfeast. The staff wasn't the most polite and proactive I've ever seen. It is a cheap choice, so don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва
Level Contributor
232 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located in the heart of the Red Light District. In terms of comfort is debatable - narrow, steep stairs, no elevator, very Spartan rooms - simple single beds, an ascetic bathroom and no TV, but it's offset the location, friendliness of the Dutch staff, attitude, spicy ambience and view from the window. And as a bonus, especially on Fridays - rowdy walking round under windows))

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanislavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#222 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#223 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#293 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#196 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#308 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#286 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Property: Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing