We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel 83” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 83 Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hotel 83”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

perfect location just 5-10 mins walk to everywere you want to go in the middle of the redlight district so busy noisy good atmosphere hotel is easy to find espically at the moment with the scaffolding for renovations used this many times when i was lost arrive nice little reception were they buzz you through you arrive to some steep steps luckily i was on the first floor room 103 i asked for a smoking room no ashtray i asked the bloke is this a smoking room he said you can out the window ( i found fire alarms crap so no worry sitting inside with window open ) big spacious room clean double bed 2 desks one abit tatty buti dont care and a big toilet and shower and bath never made breakfast just went straight out staff freindly polite overall very happy for the price oh may i add no view from windows just other buildings but i was not there to stare out the window

Room Tip: room 103 clean big spacious smoking out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayer11993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel has nothing special, but it's location absolutely in middle of the Red Light Disctrict is really good. We stayed on the top floor and the steps were though. The room was absolutely simple just like the breakfeast. The staff wasn't the most polite and proactive I've ever seen. It is a cheap choice, so don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва
Level Contributor
192 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located in the heart of the Red Light District. In terms of comfort is debatable - narrow, steep stairs, no elevator, very Spartan rooms - simple single beds, an ascetic bathroom and no TV, but it's offset the location, friendliness of the Dutch staff, attitude, spicy ambience and view from the window. And as a bonus, especially on Fridays - rowdy walking round under windows))

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanislavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a good deal. I stayed in a room facing the front of the hotel with 4 single beds. The rooms could use some serious remodeling. We had to use a piece of wood to keep the window open. But, we did not plan on being in the room much so it wasn't a very big concern. The breakfast looked terrifying but not too far away was this great place called Renee's croissants, which I highly recommend. The hotel is close to the train station and in the middle of the red light district. It's reasonably priced so I would recommend it for younger people, just know that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandamw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. Good bathroom, plenty hot water.
Our room was on the top floor and stairs are quite steep, would not recommend to people with any physical disability.

Located in the heart of the red light district, great if you looking to party, not great if you looking for peace.

Staff very laid back compared to other hotels, but still friendly and helpful.

All in all, an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildOliveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a room for 5 which had its own wet room and toilet. There was also a toilet right outside the room which was handy. Breakfast is continental, cereal etc. For Amsterdam and the price we paid it was great. Right in the middle of RLD. Our room was at the back so really quiet. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank BalfronTreeTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had nothing really going for this hotel except its location in the RLD. I was given a multi-occupancy room drably furnished in 1970's décor and 6 beds. I'm thinking to myself I'm in a disco porn movie set all alone! At least there was plenty of space on this top floor room. It was noisy from the street action below, but, I had expected that it would be. The large white fully tiled bathroom looked clinical and sinister like something from a horror movie. It was clean and cold.
The stairs were steep. The reception and dining area was smoke filled at times from tobacco cigarettes.
Staff seemed disinterested but were dutiful at times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#217 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#160 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#291 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#277 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,614 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#