We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to know from inside Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Ranked #251 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Москва
Level Contributor
248 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A hotel to know from inside Amsterdam”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located in the heart of the Red Light District. In terms of comfort is debatable - narrow, steep stairs, no elevator, very Spartan rooms - simple single beds, an ascetic bathroom and no TV, but it's offset the location, friendliness of the Dutch staff, attitude, spicy ambience and view from the window. And as a bonus, especially on Fridays - rowdy walking round under windows))

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanislavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    91
    90
    35
    22
See reviews for
18
96
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a good deal. I stayed in a room facing the front of the hotel with 4 single beds. The rooms could use some serious remodeling. We had to use a piece of wood to keep the window open. But, we did not plan on being in the room much so it wasn't a very big concern. The breakfast looked terrifying but not too far away was this great place called Renee's croissants, which I highly recommend. The hotel is close to the train station and in the middle of the red light district. It's reasonably priced so I would recommend it for younger people, just know that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amariew12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. Good bathroom, plenty hot water.
Our room was on the top floor and stairs are quite steep, would not recommend to people with any physical disability.

Located in the heart of the red light district, great if you looking to party, not great if you looking for peace.

Staff very laid back compared to other hotels, but still friendly and helpful.

All in all, an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildOliveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked a room for 5 which had its own wet room and toilet. There was also a toilet right outside the room which was handy. Breakfast is continental, cereal etc. For Amsterdam and the price we paid it was great. Right in the middle of RLD. Our room was at the back so really quiet. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank BalfronTreeTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had nothing really going for this hotel except its location in the RLD. I was given a multi-occupancy room drably furnished in 1970's décor and 6 beds. I'm thinking to myself I'm in a disco porn movie set all alone! At least there was plenty of space on this top floor room. It was noisy from the street action below, but, I had expected that it would be. The large white fully tiled bathroom looked clinical and sinister like something from a horror movie. It was clean and cold.
The stairs were steep. The reception and dining area was smoke filled at times from tobacco cigarettes.
Staff seemed disinterested but were dutiful at times.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over August and stayed for 3 nights costing 80 euro which I found reasonable in comparison with other hotels nearby. We checked in and there were no issues with the room, during the evenings I didn't seem to hear much noise, the beds were comfy and had our own bathroom which was a wet room, the showers were good but I was not a fan of the wetroom. I Found the staff slightly rude at times and the free breakfast was rather poor but overall good value for money would probably stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dandysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is far from a 4 or 5 star resort, but if you a looking for an affordable room, in the heart of Amsterdam Central, this is your place. The people there were nice and friendly. SUper helpful, but it was smokey. And the stairs are brutal. it was a place for us to crash while we enjoyed everything Amsterdam had to offer. I had a great time overall.

Room Tip: we chose a 2 person room, it was on the top floor. Taking the stairs up sucked, but we had our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laulipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#245 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#236 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#233 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#220 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#298 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#315 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Property: Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing