We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“In the thick of things...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In the thick of things...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is far from a 4 or 5 star resort, but if you a looking for an affordable room, in the heart of Amsterdam Central, this is your place. The people there were nice and friendly. SUper helpful, but it was smokey. And the stairs are brutal. it was a place for us to crash while we enjoyed everything Amsterdam had to offer. I had a great time overall.

Room Tip: we chose a 2 person room, it was on the top floor. Taking the stairs up sucked, but we had our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laulipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    88
    84
    31
    22
See reviews for
15
92
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I'm not quick to say this is a budget option as the prices were still high, but comparable to hostels in the area. Though in the red light district the location is good for access to Amsterdam's sights. Only a few minutes walk to the Damrak and close to the train station as well. Very touristy and busy though so can be quiet noisy. The rooms were very very basic and very badly decorated. No soul to the place. The wet room bathrooms were clean but inconvenient as water gets everywhere. Breakfast was basic and not great quality. Staff are off putting and unfriendly. Overall not an enjoyable place to stay and there are better options available, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very noise as they overlook a busy touristy nightlife spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global Nomad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Amsterdam was our first stop in Europe, and we were so excited to get to the hotel, drop our bags and start exploring. I was absolutely disgusted by the state of the room. I guess the first thing that jumped out at me were the blood stains on our sheets. The fact that I didn't even want to take my shoes off to walk around was quite off putting, and the washroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the last guests left. I had no problem staying in the red light district, in fact that was something I was really excited about, so I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but this was beyond anything I could have imagined. The staff was so rude when I asked for fresh sheets, and actually suggested we leave to open up the room for "happy guests". Needless to say we checked out immediately and went to stay at the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel (which again wasn't amazing, but felt like paradise compared to this hell hole).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Despite booking and paying for a double bed, own shower / toilet we were given single beds in a grim dirty room heaps of excuses and they took my money for what i had booked when i arrived that evening. Went to room found out situation and tried sorting it out.... loads of excuses, really poor. Been to Amsterdam loads of times - I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is in Red light district and not good for family with young children. Very noisy till 4 AM. Staff was good and help full. Area was fully crowded after 4 PM till 4 AM. I stayed with young children, was very difficult to walk on street with them.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Leelakrishna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night only. It is perfect situated to discover the city of Amsterdam, but beware it is situated in the centre of the red light district, so some would like it, some wouldnt. The room was basic, but clean, the bathroom and toilet where shared with a few other rooms, but also clean. For this price this is a perfect hotel for those who do not expect a luxury hotel. The breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaap V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#242 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#225 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#302 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#175 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#230 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#310 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 83 Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 83 Amsterdam

Property: Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 83, 1012 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel 83 Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 83 Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing