We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Friendly”

Bed & Breakfast Batavia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Batavia
Ranked #247 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A lovely, large room for two people (only a double bed). Plenty of room, TV a bit small as was the fridge, but I suppose you don't need large ones. Shower wasn't the greatest, but sufficed. Very friendly staff and breakfast and fruits as well as coffee and tea complementary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ammoniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast Batavia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Batavia B&B. We paid €90 per night for the smaller room.
The room was a perfect size for us. (Although someone looking for wardrobe space might need to book the larger room.)
The B&B is situated in a quiet area, only 10 minutes walk from Central Station. Saying that, be prepared for lots of walking or cycling as this residence is a little removed from all the action. We however, didn't find this a problem.

Breakfast was supplied every evening which was great, with a mini fridge in the bedroom for our convenience.
The room was spotless and beds were comfy. The only minor drawbacks were the rough towels and the pillows, which were a little uncomfortable for me. Other than that, everything was perfect. Don't hesitate to book this place!
The host Liana was so accommodating and made our stay more enjoyable. Thank you Liana! We will be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galwaygir2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this B&B. I stayed in the large room and was thrilled with the space (certainly worth the extra money). Fresh fruit, breads with meat and cheese were brought every evening. It is a little removed from all the action in Amsterdam but I found that to be a bonus. It is only a short walk from central station and all the attractions. I only have a couple of concerns that could have made my stay better and would be easy to correct. The towels are hard and only 1 small bar of soap was supplied, so bring your own toiletries. There is no name on the entrance or mailbox so it is very hard to find the first time. Make sure to get ALL the contact information including their home address so you can buzz them when you arrive so you can get a key. If they correct these things, they would certainly receive an excellent rating for service also. Even with these few small complaints, the owners a very nice and the stay was great.

Room Tip: Ask for directions from the back of central station. It's much easier and faster. Google maps di...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinkbig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Bed & Breakfast Batavia for 3 nights and loved it!! We stayed in the small room which was a perfect size for the two of us. We were brought a really nice breakfast each evening of fresh fuit, crossiants and ham and cheese which we were able to enjoy in the morning. The location is perfect! 10 mins walk from all the hustle and bustle of the city but in a nice quiet area that is very easy to find. Hank and Liana were so lovely and helpful providing us with a map and even a bottle of Prosecco on New Years Eve! We really enjoyed our time in Amsterdam and would definitely stay in the B&B Batavia again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I live very close to this B&B and my mom stays here whenever she comes to visit. It's a great price for a nice, clean room with a fresh breakfast and free wifi. It's about a 6 minute walk from the Haarlemmerstraat, recently voted Amsterdam's #1 shopping street. It's also close to the Noordermarkt, which holds fantastic markets (biological foods, antiques, 2nd hand clothes) on Mondays and Saturdays. The hosts were thoughtful enough to remember my mom's birthday this year and they surprised her with fresh roses in her room. She talked about that all week. Added bonus, there's a Coffee Company (like a Starbucks) just 1 minute walk from the room ; )

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Perfect value for money. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the small room and payed € 86.00 per night for a double room with en suite facilities and also breakfast. It is modern but cosy, very clean and has a queen-size double bed and two armchairs, bathroom with WC and shower. We also had free of charge wifi internet (most hotels won't provide this). The entrance of the room is in a courtyard shared with other flats of this modern multi-storey building. Not a romantic Amsterdam house but a pleasant and modern building on the quiet Westerdok with its boathouses. About 15 minutes from main station and 5 minutes from the quiet Jordaan district, so a very good location on the whole.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had selected this place fter reading the other comments on Trip Advisor and were very disappointed in the location and in the accommodations. Although it was only a 20 min walk from Central Station, it took us through a tunnel that was underpass for a highway…. Dark and dismal… and this was the only way to walk out of that area to any of the sights. This b&b has only 2 rooms and we had selected the smaller which was barely big enough for the bed and a small table/chair. Although it was clean, I would certainly not recommend it. Perhaps the larger room would have left a better impression on us.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBBatavia, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Batavia, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

This 'guest' actually did not stay at our property at all. Although she had a reservation for four nights she effectively cancelled without having to pay us one dime because she thought the room was too small. We advertise the size of our room explicitly on our website and cannot help it if guests feel that the room that is called small, actually is about the size of a small double room. That is why we are cheaper than any normal hotel in the city center. We are happy that so many of the other people we receive are more pleased with our accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,212 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Bank Hotel
The Bank Hotel
#203 of 371 in Amsterdam
79 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sir Adam Hotel
#29 of 371 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Centrum
Kuwadro B&B Amsterdam Jordaan
Kuwadro B&B Amsterdam Jordaan
#132 of 337 in Amsterdam
17 reviews
Centrum
Yays Bickersgracht Concierged Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Batavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Address: Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $83 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Batavia offers quiet and privacy right around the corner of one of the busiest shopping and dining areas in Amsterdam. You can walk in 5 minutes to the cosy Jordaan district. The Central Station, the Anne Frank House, Dam Square, the red-light district and China town are all within walking distance. After a day of sightseeing you can unwind in the comfort of your room. Your stay will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing