We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Bed & Breakfast Batavia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Batavia
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Batavia to your Saves list
Ranked #244 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A lovely, large room for two people (only a double bed). Plenty of room, TV a bit small as was the fridge, but I suppose you don't need large ones. Shower wasn't the greatest, but sufficed. Very friendly staff and breakfast and fruits as well as coffee and tea complementary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammoniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Batavia B&B. We paid €90 per night for the smaller room.
The room was a perfect size for us. (Although someone looking for wardrobe space might need to book the larger room.)
The B&B is situated in a quiet area, only 10 minutes walk from Central Station. Saying that, be prepared for lots of walking or cycling as this residence is a little removed from all the action. We however, didn't find this a problem.

Breakfast was supplied every evening which was great, with a mini fridge in the bedroom for our convenience.
The room was spotless and beds were comfy. The only minor drawbacks were the rough towels and the pillows, which were a little uncomfortable for me. Other than that, everything was perfect. Don't hesitate to book this place!
The host Liana was so accommodating and made our stay more enjoyable. Thank you Liana! We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galwaygir2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Summit, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this B&B. I stayed in the large room and was thrilled with the space (certainly worth the extra money). Fresh fruit, breads with meat and cheese were brought every evening. It is a little removed from all the action in Amsterdam but I found that to be a bonus. It is only a short walk from central station and all the attractions. I only have a couple of concerns that could have made my stay better and would be easy to correct. The towels are hard and only 1 small bar of soap was supplied, so bring your own toiletries. There is no name on the entrance or mailbox so it is very hard to find the first time. Make sure to get ALL the contact information including their home address so you can buzz them when you arrive so you can get a key. If they correct these things, they would certainly receive an excellent rating for service also. Even with these few small complaints, the owners a very nice and the stay was great.

Room Tip: Ask for directions from the back of central station. It's much easier and faster. Google maps di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkbig99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Bed & Breakfast Batavia for 3 nights and loved it!! We stayed in the small room which was a perfect size for the two of us. We were brought a really nice breakfast each evening of fresh fuit, crossiants and ham and cheese which we were able to enjoy in the morning. The location is perfect! 10 mins walk from all the hustle and bustle of the city but in a nice quiet area that is very easy to find. Hank and Liana were so lovely and helpful providing us with a map and even a bottle of Prosecco on New Years Eve! We really enjoyed our time in Amsterdam and would definitely stay in the B&B Batavia again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I live very close to this B&B and my mom stays here whenever she comes to visit. It's a great price for a nice, clean room with a fresh breakfast and free wifi. It's about a 6 minute walk from the Haarlemmerstraat, recently voted Amsterdam's #1 shopping street. It's also close to the Noordermarkt, which holds fantastic markets (biological foods, antiques, 2nd hand clothes) on Mondays and Saturdays. The hosts were thoughtful enough to remember my mom's birthday this year and they surprised her with fresh roses in her room. She talked about that all week. Added bonus, there's a Coffee Company (like a Starbucks) just 1 minute walk from the room ; )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Perfect value for money. My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the small room and payed € 86.00 per night for a double room with en suite facilities and also breakfast. It is modern but cosy, very clean and has a queen-size double bed and two armchairs, bathroom with WC and shower. We also had free of charge wifi internet (most hotels won't provide this). The entrance of the room is in a courtyard shared with other flats of this modern multi-storey building. Not a romantic Amsterdam house but a pleasant and modern building on the quiet Westerdok with its boathouses. About 15 minutes from main station and 5 minutes from the quiet Jordaan district, so a very good location on the whole.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had selected this place fter reading the other comments on Trip Advisor and were very disappointed in the location and in the accommodations. Although it was only a 20 min walk from Central Station, it took us through a tunnel that was underpass for a highway…. Dark and dismal… and this was the only way to walk out of that area to any of the sights. This b&b has only 2 rooms and we had selected the smaller which was barely big enough for the bed and a small table/chair. Although it was clean, I would certainly not recommend it. Perhaps the larger room would have left a better impression on us.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBBatavia, Owner at Bed & Breakfast Batavia, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
This 'guest' actually did not stay at our property at all. Although she had a reservation for four nights she effectively cancelled without having to pay us one dime because she thought the room was too small. We advertise the size of our room explicitly on our website and cannot help it if guests feel that the room that is called small, actually is about the size of a small double room. That is why we are cheaper than any normal hotel in the city center. We are happy that so many of the other people we receive are more pleased with our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,296 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotelboot Angeline
Hotelboot Angeline
#49 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Centrum
Kuwadro B&B Amsterdam Jordaan
Kuwadro B&B Amsterdam Jordaan
#148 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Teun
Hotel Teun
#120 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Batavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Batavia

Property: Bed & Breakfast Batavia
Address: Westerdok 742, 1013 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Batavia offers quiet and privacy right around the corner of one of the busiest shopping and dining areas in Amsterdam. You can walk in 5 minutes to the cosy Jordaan district. The Central Station, the Anne Frank House, Dam Square, the red-light district and China town are all within walking distance. After a day of sightseeing you can unwind in the comfort of your room. Your stay will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing